[X]
Feedburner count

6
Helpful
Votes

Juliet Homes Complaint - Recent Investigations

Review by buildinghouston on 2006-03-19
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I was forwarded this e-mail regarding a state agency investigating Juliet Homes (Texas Residential Construction Commision). Juliet Homes and Tremont Homes are currently under investigation (as of March 2, 2006). Hope this helps.
Dear Sirs:

I wanted to take this opportunity to update you on our efforts regarding your constituents' complaints about Tremont Homes and their related companies. The commission filed a notice of violation on February 16, 2006, against Juliet Homes, a related entity, for numerous issues. Since this matter is in the contested case process, we cannot comment further on the matter at this time.

Also, I have forwarded the complaints regarding the sale and possible disclosure violations to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Additionally, I have made a referral to the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending for possible action on mortgage fraud issues.

We are optimistic that these actions will send a strong message to this company, its affiliated businesses and the entire building industry that the commission is taking consumer complaints quite seriously and is pursuing action to the fullest extent possible.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me or Patrick Fortner, Director of Communications and Legislative Affairs, at (877) 651-TRCC (8722).

Sincerely,

A. Duane Waddill
Executive Director
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-07-12
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-03-20:
Gee, that really tells us......well, nothing. Someone complained and someone is looking into it......I hope the builder's attorney doesn't decide to look into what constitutes slander in Texas.
Posted by torment towers on 2006-03-23:
FACT: Juliet Homes shares a common interest with Tremont Homes. Tremont was named by People Magazine as a "Contractor from Hell."
FACT: Juliet Homes is currently being investigated by Texas Residential Construction Commission, State Homebuilder Regulatory Agency. The investigation Remains OPEN.

FACT: Juliet Homes did NOT file to be a state registered builder until AFTER they built homes.

FACT: Juliet Homes has an UNSATISFACTORY rating at the Better Business Bureau after ignoring complaints filed by their own customers!

FACT: Juliet Homes shares ownership with First Texas Residential Mortgage, which was recently issued a VIOLATION notice by the Texas Savings and Loan Dpt.

"Truth is the best defense" regarding any slander case they may file.
Posted by HeatherJean on 2006-10-06:
After much scruntiny, Juliet Homes remains under state investigation. After being fined at least $5,000 per home per violation, Juliet appealed their violations by Texas Residential Construction Commmision. Their mortgage company, First Texas Residential Mortgage, Doug Brown and Bernie Kane, remains "at large".
Who will win? The people or the corporations? Homeowners, by the dozens, lost homes due to shoddy construction and repairs that were ignored in the Houston area.
Will these guys wake up and fix their mistakes? Or continue their "unsatisfact" rating with the BBB? We'll let them decide...
Posted by HeatherJean on 2006-10-06:
Blast Juliet Homes. They deserve to be punished!
Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
I purchased my home in September 2006 from Juliet Homes. Had I known what kind of a company they were I would have never bought a Juliet Home. For starters I was pressured in to closing on my home before it was complete. As a result there are still items in my home that are not finished. Although they have made an attempt to repair some of the items; 75% of what they have tried to repair has either made the original issue worse or incomplete. Also, Juliet is in financial trouble and has stopped paying their contractors, as a result I have received liens on my home totaling over $10,000. I have lived in the community for over eight months that the gate for the community is still not complete. When I contact anyone from Juliet regarding the issues on my home they do not answer or return my calls. Another problem I have been faced with while living in my home was an open electrical permit. Lastly, due to Juliet’s incompetence my community has not gotten to fully utilize services of the warranty company or homeowners association. Also, there are at least six other homes in my community that have similar issues. Had I known what I was going to incur all of the problems with my home as a result of Juliet’s incompetence I would have NEVER purchased a home from Juliet Homes.
I warn anyone willing to buy a home from Juliet Homes. Many of the homes that are currently under construction have been sitting idle for over six months and have been exposed to every element of the weather, and with Juliet’s history I would not trust them to do the proper remediation of these home before they finish construction, if in fact they ever plan to finish construction.
Natalie Nichols

Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
TRCC CANCELLED BUILDER: TREMONT HOMES, FINES JULIET HOMES.

Juliet Homes has recently been fined by TRCC:
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Bill Childs
DATE: June 14, 2007 (877) 651-8722

Commission Fines Builders More than $14,000

(AUSTIN) — At its June 13, 2007, meeting, the Texas Residential Construction Commission levied penalties against 10 builders/remodelers. Fines averaged $1,415, with the highest fine awared to Juliet Homes, LP..

The commission fined Juliet Homes, LP, of Houston, $3,500 for failing to register homes as required by law and Dwight Hayes Construction, of Spring Branch, $1,000 for filing a false builder affidavit.

The commission fined eight other builders for failing to timely renew with the commission. The fine amount is in parenthesis: Invest Smart Homes, of Austin ($2,700); Thermal Construction, Inc., of Bridge City ($150); Montvale Investments, Inc., of Copperas Cove ($150); Calvert Heath Homes, of Addison ($750); Webster Custom Homes, of Dallas ($2,500); Shawn P. Flynn, of Fort Worth ($150); Morrays Design, of Houston ($2,500); and Talasek Construction, of Wadsworth ($750). Fine amounts vary based upon a number of factors, including length of time the builder/remodeler operated illegally.

Commission Executive Director Duane Waddill said the commission’s action is consistent with its continued attention to enforcement. Juliet Homes still has 80 ongoing investigations.

“The message to Texans and the building industry is that the commission is serious in its efforts to help ensure quality construction for Texans. One of the ways the commission does this is through enforcement of its rules,” Waddill said.

“In addition, the commission makes the information about the builder or remodeler’s failings public. A builder or remodeler who accrues fines puts themselves in an unflattering public light. The commission encourages Texas consumers to thoroughly research builders and remodelers before they sign a contract for any work,” Waddill said.

Texas consumers can research whether or not a builder or remodeler is registered and if the state has found a defect as a result of a consumer complaint and how many projects a builder or remodeler has registered by utilizing the public record search on the commission’s Web site at www.texasrcc.org.

For other information about a builder, remodeler, the commission or its operations, Texans can call the agency toll-free help line at 877-651-TRCC (8722).

--##--

Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
Don't you just love how builders try to lie thru their teeth to the public? I am glad you posted this info about them! I have lots of friends in TX a couple of them are about to be on the market for a new home as soon as their divorces are final. I will be sure to tell them to avoid Juliet Homes.
Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
FOR THE RECORD-- I SAW MY SISTER FILE FOR BANKRUPTCY AND FORECLOSED ON HER TREMONT, JULIET HOMES CONDO....TREMONT/ JULIET HOMES/ WHATEVER YOUR NAME IS THIS WEEK." YOU SEEM TO OPEN AND CLOSE BUSINESSES LEFT AND RIGHT.
SHE COULDN'T LIVE IN HER BRAND NEW- (AND FIRST TIME HOMEBUYER)- $279,000 CONDO, BECAUSE WATER WAS LEAKING, MOLD HAD GROWN (WHICH SHE GOT SICK FROM) AND IT WAS COMPLETELY UNFINISHED. MY POOR SISTER WASTED SOOO SOO MUCH OF HER TIME TRYING TO GET IT FIXED. NOTHING WAS DONE. SHE JUST SPENT HER ALL SAVINGS ON A HOME THAT WAS UNLIVEABLE.
SHE LATER LEARNED YOUR LAWYERS WROTE A CONTRACT THAT SAID "YOUR SCREWED IF OUR PRODUCT SUCKS." MY SISTER HAD TO MOVE OUT BECAUSE SHE GOT SICK FROM MOLD (I HAVE THE LAB REPORTS), TRIED TO FIGHT IT... BUT EVENTUALLY SHE JUST WASHED HER HANDS ON THIS $279,000 LOSS.

YOU ARE FULL OF SH** AND I'M TIRED OF SEEING THIS LARGE, MAFIA RUN, BIG BUILDER & THEIR PR AGENCY TRY TO WALK OVER MY INNOCENT 29 YEAR OLD SINGLE FEMALE SISTER. WHO, FOR AWHILE, LIVED ON MY COUCH WHILE SHE WAS HOPING AND PRAYING YOU WOULD FIX -AND- FINISH HER CONDO.

I HOPE YOU ARE ABLE TO BUY YOURSELF ANOTHER BATCH OF NEW MERCEDEZ BENZ CARS TO RAFFLE OFF AS YOUR MARKETING STUNT-- FROM HER $279,000 LOSS AND JORDAN'S LOSS.

FOR THE RECORD-- SHE HAS NOT SEEN A DIME FROM YOU, AND YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO SLANDER HER OR JORDAN."

Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
I purchased my home in September 2006 from Juliet Homes. Had I known what kind of a company they were I would have never bought a Juliet Home. For starters I was pressured in to closing on my home before it was complete. As a result there are still items in my home that are not finished. Although they have made an attempt to repair some of the items; 75% of what they have tried to repair has either made the original issue worse or incomplete. Also, Juliet is in financial trouble and has stopped paying their contractors, as a result I have received liens on my home totaling over $10,000. I have lived in the community for over eight months that the gate for the community is still not complete. When I contact anyone from Juliet regarding the issues on my home they do not answer or return my calls. Another problem I have been faced with while living in my home was an open electrical permit. Lastly, due to Juliet’s incompetence my community has not gotten to fully utilize services of the warranty company or homeowners association. Also, there are at least six other homes in my community that have similar issues. Had I known what I was going to incur all of the problems with my home as a result of Juliet’s incompetence I would have NEVER purchased a home from Juliet Homes.
I warn anyone willing to buy a home from Juliet Homes. Many of the homes that are currently under construction have been sitting idle for over six months and have been exposed to every element of the weather, and with Juliet’s history I would not trust them to do the proper remediation of these home before they finish construction, if in fact they ever plan to finish construction.
Natalie Nichols



Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
Juliet Homes marketed and sold Tremont Towers, located 3311 Yupon St Houston, TX 77006. The home was a lemon because Juliet Homes failed to warranty their craftmanship.
I purchased, brand new, unit #410 in the mid-rise condominium. Juliet Homes assisted in my contract, mortgage, and closing. When I discovered the flashing was left out of my balconies, water was intruding, and strong musty odor throughout, contacted Juliet Homes to request repairs. No one called me back. At the time, Juliet was not a registered builder in Texas, but was deceptively marketing as one.

Certified Lab Mold Testing reported four molds present at unusual levels, I was getting sick from toxic mold, including bloody noses and sleeping 18 hours a day. I moved out immediately to slowly regain my health. Juliet Homes still ignored my requests. An arbitration clause prevented me from sueing them in the courts.

Juliet Homes continues to ignore my requests for repairs and hold a "UNSATISFACTORY" status with the Better Business Bureau. Texas Residential Construction Commission is currently investigating Juliet Homes, with a public hearing scheduled in Austin Jan 4, 2007.

The 76-unit condo complex appears vacant, with one of the lowest occupancy rates in the neighborhood. I was unable to resell, fix, or live in my condo without taking a large loss or getting sick. To-date, Juliet Homes has done nothing to make repairs or remedy the situation.





Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
Juliet Homes is going bankrupt. I just filed against them in Shanadoah to get my earnest money back and still haven't gotten it back! The development they started out their hasn't even broken ground, the construction trailers are gone. Where has Juliet Homes gone to? I don't believe they are still in business as a friend of mine told me they were in trouble and were closing their offices...?
Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
To the readers: I am just the messenger. Those complaints against Juliet Homes came from clients, but not myself. I say that to prevent the possiblity of Juliet Homes sueing me. To my clients: BUYER BEWARE!
Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
I cannot say "do not buy a home from Juliet Homes" to my clients, or I will be sued.

I can shrug, wink, wave my arms in mid air, give them a pen that doesnt write, should a client be signing on the dotted line with Juliet Homes.

As a Realtor, I look out for my clients! I sell only the best quality! (Juliet Homes not one of them!)
Posted by Galea on 2007-07-12:
Juliet Homes marketed and sold Tremont Towers, located 3311 Yupon St Houston, TX 77006, in the heart of Montrose. The worst investment of my life (home was a lemon), Juliet failed to warranty their work.
I purchased, brand new, unit #410 in the mid-rise condominium. Juliet Homes assisted in my contract, mortgage, and closing. When I discovered the flashing was left out of my balconies, water was intruding, and strong musty odor throughout, contacted Juliet Homes to request repairs. No one called me back. At the time, Juliet was not a registered builder in Texas, but was deceptively marketing as one.

Certified Lab Mold Testing reported four molds present at unusual levels, I was getting sick from toxic mold, including bloody noses and sleeping 18 hours a day. I moved out immediately to slowly regain my health. Juliet Homes still ignored my requests. An arbitration clause prevented me from sueing them in the courts.

Juliet Homes continues to ignore my requests for repairs and hold a "UNSATISFACTORY" status with the Better Business Bureau. Texas Residential Construction Commission is currently investigating Juliet Homes, with a public hearing scheduled in Austin Jan 4, 2007.

The 76-unit condo complex appears vacant, with one of the lowest occupancy rates in the neighborhood. I was unable to resell, fix, or live in my condo without taking a large loss or getting sick. To-date, Juliet Homes has done nothing to make repairs or remedy the situation.



Juliet Homes has just been sent an e-mail message letting them know that you have seen this page. Thanks very much for your support.
Heather Mickelson





Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.