IL Poggio in Italy Informative - Broken Promises and Poor Service in Italy

Review by Jparker on 2006-04-16
CELLE SUL RIGO 53040 S. CASCIANO BAGNI, ITALY 0 -- My wife and I along with two of our friends spent a week at Il Poggio, Celle Sul Rigo, 53040 S. Casciano Bagni, Italy 057853748 from March 25th through March 31st. We had an exchange through RCI. Our paperwork from RCI advertised IL Poggio to accommodate four adults with two twin sofas in each room. The paperwork from RCI stated the following: "Resort offers 1 bed units for 4 with double bed and 2 single sofa beds." However, when we arrived we were told that there were no rooms with this available. We were later told that we could have an extra room at no cost for the duration of our stay due to the error. However, when we went to check out, we were told that we had to pay $50. a day for the room we used in additional to our room we had exchanged. While we feel the $50. was very affordable, this is not what we were told originally when we checked in and we feel we were mislead as to how the accommodations were set up.
Another issue that arose whle we were there was three days after we checked in we discovered a mass of ants in our room. Not only were they in the kitchen, bathroom and in our suitcases. When we told the front desk they responded as "it is that time of year." We feel that there was great disinterest, from the resort, in taking care of this matter. They never offered to spray the room or move us to another room while they could spray. Since this was advertised as a Gold Crown Resort, we felt we deserved a better response and that this would be taken care of immediately. However, it was not.

We ended up paying for the room we had to use for one of our guests and checked out a day earlier due to the disinterest in taking care of our situation. We would like a written apology from Il Poggio as to our needs not being made and a refund of the $300. Euros.

We have contacted RCI and we have received a response. RCI has offered us a free red week through RCI. However, we have yet to hear directly from IL Poggio about our complaint.

We have contacted other consumer and tourist agencies.

J. Parker
Comments:3 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-04-17
Posted by S. on 2006-04-16:
You got a free week. Why would you feel you're entitled to more? About the 'time of the year' regarding the ants, I can relate to that. My apartment is on the first floor of our building (no basement). In the fall, I am bombarded by those little pesky things. Nothing I can do about it except move to a second floor apartment. Otherwise, I hope you were able to enjoy your stay.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-16:
I had to go on a lot of trips with my aunt when I was little and we could never get rid of her either. She could climb steps so the 2nd-floor thing didn't work.
Posted by S. on 2006-04-17:

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.