[X]
Feedburner count

Fox Complaint - Poor Sound Quality - The hit TV show 24

Review by Coolcliftop on 2006-04-18
SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- I don't know if this was a cable problem or a Network problem. Frankly I don't care who is to blame. But in my area last night, the sound for the TV show was messed up. There was the most awful white noise in the background throughout the entire broadcast. WTF... is nobody at the network or at comcast watching what they are putting out there. At the very least we could have gotten a warning saying they are having network difficulties. It irks me to know end when I wait all week for a show to air, and this is what they give us.
Comments:48 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-04-21
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-18:
Gee, what a tragedy. Think you'll ever recover from this travesty?
Posted by KenPC on 2006-04-18:
And when you called their 800 service numebr and told them you were experiencing a problem, what did they say?
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-04-18:
I just figured it was subliminal advertising.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-18:
It was them! You know, Them! The aliens ***** I don’t know if they were illegal or knot.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-18:
You guys are showing your @sses. It's a legitimate complaint and most people don't know where to start. There are some good ways to troubleshoot this. I'll post some later. I know you guys can't wait.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-18:
Who asked you, sheriff? JayD, handled the rest of the problem.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-04-18:
Really sheriff! I thing Jay covered whatever a customer could do. You can close google now, and your whiny trap.
Posted by Coolcliftop on 2006-04-18:
Ok, this was my first post at this site, and I guess I should have studied protocol. I did none of the things that were recommended. I just wanted to turn on my boob tube after a long hard day at work and escape on a show that is one of my favorites. If this is not a serious complaint please accept my apology.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Coolcliftop, their idea of protocol is to try to belittle people. You did just fine. I bet it took JayD longer to make his post than to read this review, yet he claims his time was wasted. If your time is that valuable, you should have just moved on as soon as you decided that the review wasn't to your liking.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
ZZ, who asked me? Well, basically when someone posts a review on here, they are asking everyone for some sort of response. What was your input and who asked you? And by the way, JayD did NOT cover this problem. Turn the cable box on and off? c'mon! Slim, didn't you just ridicule me for telling someone something similar?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Coolcliftop, not sure what you did try even though you didn't try the things recommended so far. I'll give you guys one more chance... What is the very first thing he should have done? (Hint, it hasn't been mentioned here yet.)
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Slim and zz, if you think that Jay even came close to handling the problem, then you may want to stick to things you do know, whatever they may be.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Sheriff you are right and I apologize to you and Coolcliftop.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Lidman, your comment was very funny and not meant to be taken seriously. I wasn't talking to you. Keep up the good work! Klatu Verada Nikto
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-04-19:
I don't know if Jay covered everything sheriff, but you were going to come back with all the info poster needed. Five rants later, and you haven't even address it. People who claim here they are "Super Users" (yes folks, he really says that about his presence here) should really be able to help out rather than show they can whine like a girl, no?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Cliff, you're alright. Will someone please tell me what good this sheriff guy does on here? Lidman, your comedy act didn't get a single laugh until sheriff did his manic rant so you apoligize to him? Weak.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Slim, refer to your post today to Pirate on the range. Now, apply that to yourself. You obviously know nothing about troubleshooting a video/satellite/cable signal and I do. So stfu and you too zz, you non-helpful little slim butt sniffer.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Since you guys never answered, here goes...the first step was to turn to another station and check the audio. So simple, yet JayD had the poster unhooking the cable box and you id1ots couldn't offer this advice either.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
If the audio is OK on all other channels, then you've ruled out the TV and the cable box, although there are some extremely unlikely scenarios where it could still be one of those. So now we know the problem is just on this channel but still don't know if the problem is with the cable/satellite provider, with Fox, or somewhere in-between, in the 200-300 pieces of gear that the signal passes through before it gets to your provider.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
My next step would be to call someone that gets the same station via a different provider and see if their audio is clean. If it is, then it's probably your provider and not Fox. If it's bad for them then it's probably Fox. If you were watching a local Fox station you could also resort back to rabbit ears and check the broadcast signal vs your provider.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
And that my friends was an easy, effective and accurate troubleshooting solution with no googling needed. Of course, the bitter, whiney-@ssed zz and slim will criticize me in some way shape or form because that's what they do best. Occasionally, Slim provides some good advice on here, but I've yet to see any good advice from zz, only insults.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Now zz, you see some of what I do on here. I can actually contribute sometimes. What is it you do? And how can you speak for others when you say that Lidman's comment didn't get a single laugh? I laughed.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Slim, show me where I've called myself a Super User. liar
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Folks, prepare yourself for the storm where slim and zz talk about how I've ranted with multiple posts. They will say things off-topic to avoid addressing the troubleshooting issue, of which they had no clue.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Good job Sheriff. I happen to know just a little bit about modulators and cable, etc. Seems that you covered the bases pretty well. Too bad we have to put up with trolls, misfits and juveniles on this website.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-04-19:
LOL, yes great job of stating the obvious sheriff. By the time he did all that 24 would be over. Just like by the time anybody read all your posts, 24 hours would be over. Poster's venting because he got a bad signal on a show he wanted to watch. Is it too hard to figure out a book report after the fact isn't super helpful?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Slim, you're a real joke. It wasn't a book report. It was 2-3 quick, easy steps. And it was the correct steps. No unplugging of the cable box as you advocated. You are a jealous creep who can't stand to be wrong. If it was so obvious, why didn't you mention it? Why did you agree with the incorrect advice the Jay gave?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
I think I'll start handing you your lunch on the review side where it really bothers you to look bad. You may want to quit while you're behind.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
My method, along with being the correct one, is much quicker than Jay's method, unless you don't count being on hold with the cable company as "time" and you don't mind eventually getting a customer service rep that won't have any idea what you are talking about. You're a dope on this thread Slim.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
ZZ your turn. I was correct about Slim. He had to mention my numerous posts because he really couldn't fault my advice. I'm waiting for a typical response from you, but I'm not waiting on any pertinent advice relating to this review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
Obviously it's too late now for the TV show the reviewer speaks of, but he now has a simple formula that he can use many times in the future. Or, if he chooses, he can unplug his cable box and wonder why that didn't help. Good advice Slim, keep up the good work.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
All Hail Sheriff! I believe he deserves a STAR for his solution and for putting slim in his place! *oceans*
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-19:
I believe that anyone who reads these comments will realize who's REALLY here to help. Sheriff's helpful comments here have already eclipsed what Slim's been able to google for the past 4 years.
Posted by tander on 2006-04-19:
Good advice Sheriff, at least you put in alot of helpful advice instead of googling like Slim does, he's just jealous because your so knowledgeable and he's not smart enough to post anything real.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-04-20:
sheriff posts 19 times to basically say nothing, then his friend pirate with his alter handle tander come right behind to sing praises. Too pathetic! You know what really makes me jealous tanderhandle? That "your" so knowledgeable. BTW, the original poster has long since left here and probably got his Fox reception back without sheriff's "easy 2 step method". LOL.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
Basically say nothing? How about, not only gave great advice but handed you your rear at the same time. Are you living in the same world as the rest of us? So what if the Reviewer is gone. Anybody that reads this thread from now on has learned how to troubleshoot such a problem. You can't handle the fact that I posted something worthwhile. Admin should do away with negative people like yourself.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
Slim's method would yield no results for the Reviewer. My method would tell him exactly what he wanted to know: Was the problem with Fox or with his cable/sat provider? Slim's method is similar to waking up, turning on a light, and when it doesn't come on, checking the circuit breaker and then calling an electrician instead of checking to see if maybe your light bulb was simply burnt out.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
Give those petite little manicured fingers a rest sheriff, it's not that crucial. Bad reception on FOX! Sherlock.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
You and Slim both thought it was crucial enough to attempt to discredit my advice. Fortunately, it was your butts that were exposed as usual.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
Did I just count 16 posts from you loser?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
23 counting this one. 43 total on this review. Somewhere in my 23 is the correct advice that a lot of people can use to troubleshoot a host of TV problems. Nowhere in the other 20 posts, including yours, is there any good advice or positive responses. Why don't you go to a gym or something and hit a punching bag instead of taking your frustrations out on decent people on M3C.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-04-20:
Wow! hey Larry the Cable Guy, 23 posts to basically say "check another channel" after the fact? I would say you need a hobby, but apparently this thread is it. Maybe you need a job, or life.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
A wife? (that his state recognizes)
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-20:
Slim, I forgot, does your 48 I.Q. fall into the severly ret@rded or mor0n category?
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-04-20:
Gee ponch, you tell me. Think you can do it in 30 posts or less?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-21:
*tears*
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-21:
Slim, you tell me this: Can you or ZZ EVER post something that actually helps a consumer?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-04-21:
Yes we have and numerous times with ONE post, too!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.