[X]

11
Helpful
Votes

Riverdeep/Broderbund Complaint - Deep Do Due - Software, Compromise of Credit Card

Review by virginiasoreback on 2006-05-18
In April, 2006, using my Credit Card Account, I bought software (“PC Copy Center”) ‎from the Riverdeep/Broderbund Co.‎

‎ Soon after receiving the software I got e-mail from the WLI*RESERVATIONREWARDS ‎Co. The gist of the mail was an offer of a $20.00 discount coupon on my next purchase of ‎software from Broderbund. Although I don’t usually bite on “Rope-a-dope” – “get it free-get ‎it now” schemes – this one seemed legit. I got bit!‎

‎ When I reviewed my Card account - online – I found a $10.00 membership charge. That ‎charge would recur monthly. What? I determined that it is more likely than not that ‎Riverdeep/Broderbund “gave-up” my credit card account information and ‎WLI*RESERVATIONREWARDS fraudulently tapped my account without my knowledge ‎and authorization.‎

‎ Next, I got a “cold-call” from Crystal Vision Software Services. The caller revealed that ‎the Services had gotten my order and account information from Riverdeep/Broderbund.‎

Crystal Vision promises “deeply-discounted” prices on software, ink cartridges, computer ‎hardware, etc. There is a one time membership charge of $49.95 and $14.95 shipping and ‎handling charge for CD software ordered. “DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY! Example: some of the ‎stuff – priced at $100.00 – reduced to $49.95 – discounted to $29.95 with $20.00 off coupon – ‎soon will be or ought to be available at a “99 $enter,” “Dollar Tree,” in a Cracker Jack box or ‎in a “landfill.” ‎

In the future I will not, knowingly, purchase merchandise from Riverdeep/Broderbund ‎and have asked my mail server to block their incoming messages. This won’t affect their ‎‎“deep-bottom-line” but there is a tinge of revengeful satisfaction knowing they won’t get “My ‎‎2¢.”‎
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-01-09
Posted by tander on 2006-05-18:
I've bought software from them too and got the same phone call as you, your right, they do sell your account, it's best to not deal with them.
Posted by virginiasoreback on 2006-05-19:
tander~
Your confirmation is instructive!
It convinces me that my first impression was not just an angry knee-jerk reaction to feeling like "a jerk" - that I had allowed myself to be "played."
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-19:
Good Review, VA! Welcome back to the site! Don't be such a stranger!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-19:
Yeah, good job, soreback. Where have you been? Sailing by chance? Hopefully you and this tander person will be the last two to get "rope a doped".
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-19:
PirateWithParrot - (TIR)
Posted by tander on 2006-05-19:
VSB, Newbie zzrott doesn't understand about buying software online as he doesn't have a computer, for some people their jobs don't pay well so they can't afford such luxuries.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-05-21:
Well soreback, the year we haven't seen you certainly wasn't spent learning how to write I see.
Posted by virginiasoreback on 2006-05-21:
PirateWithParrot ~ I thank you for checking-out the review and for giving me the ‎benefit of your valued opinion. It is kind of you, too, to dust off the “Welcome Mat.” ‎Although I “haven’t posted for awhile I did login, occasionally to “eaves- ‎drop” on the spirited exchanges that characterize this forum – I'm “grateful to you.”‎

Posted by virginiasoreback on 2006-05-21:
zzrokk ~ ‎– I see that you still “rokk” steady. Too, it was good of you to spend a few moments ‎to cut through that thicket that I stumbled into and for your welcomed comments. I ‎would peek in from time to time for “updates” – but I haven’t been “ticked-off” ‎enough about “stuff” to jump-into the fray - "much obliged to you!"
Posted by virginiasoreback on 2006-05-21:
slimjimjohnson2000 ~ “well-well-well!” In Cincinnati we have our Bengal’s “Hanging-‎Chad” Johnson - just as My 3 cents.com” has its “ever-present” ‎‎“Slimjimjohnson2000” – spotlight-grabbers – both. It came as no surprise that you ‎would “rip” my tortured writing. Ever hear the old saw “you can’t teach old dogs ‎new tricks?” Sure you have! Well – this old cur will keep and suffer with the only ‎‎‘bark’ he knows – seems you are stuck with stripes you can’t change, too. That may ‎be a good thing – tiresome – but a good thing! Bye!
‎ ‎
Posted by 99cents on 2010-01-09:
DON'T do business with this company! I ordered a software download from them and got a ten year old version. I paid for the current version. Unless you set up an account with them there's no way to contact them. These people are con artists. BUYER BEWARE.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.