1
Helpful
Votes

Triple T Auto Repair Complaint - Owner try to cheat me on brake repair

Review by tomh99 on 2006-05-23
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- Triple T Auto Repair told me that they have free brake inspection and they also advertised that they can change the brake pads for $80. As the mechanic took my left (driver side) front tire out the owner walks over and barely looks at it and said the brake pad has worn out so much that the caliper collapsed and I would need new calipers and pads for about $360. I became suspicious because I check my brake pads annually and never let it wear out like that. After the mechanic took out the caliper he turned it over so I would not see the brake pads. I turned it over and looked at the brake pads and they were still about half an inch thick. I have done many auto repairs myself and have read auto repair manuals so I know that the brake pad does not need to be changed until it is worn down to about .25" thick. The calipers being bad were another big lie because the pad were never worn down to the point of metal to metal contact.

These guys are con artists. Beware.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-05-24
Posted by Doc J on 2006-05-23:
And you went there why? Clearly you can do the work yourself. Not critical, just curious. I understand. I usually do my own simple maintenance. But, if covered up with work, I'll go to a quick oil change shop. It's a risk. Most of them also offer "free inspections". The last one recommended almost $750 worth of unnecessary repairs. My independent mechanic later showed me why the repairs were not needed. "Just say, no." Thanks for the info.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-23:
It would help if you post the street address, city and state. Muchas gracias.
Posted by tomh99 on 2006-05-23:
Doc J - When I was a poor college student with an old car, I was forced to do almost all repairs myself using only a repair manual from the library. Now I don't have all the tools such as the cutting machine that smooth the brake disc. Also for safety reason because I am not a pro. It makes me mad to think some of the people who are already poor being ripped off by these guys.
Posted by Doc J on 2006-05-24:
Like I said, I understand. Me too. Glad you pointed out these folks. Worst of it, you know you're not a pro...these people are passing themselves off as pros. As a service, if you've not done so, you might want to drop a complaint to the local BBB and your state AG.
Posted by tomh99 on 2006-05-24:
Mrs Manischewitz - Triple T Auto Repair and Towing
5510 M. L. King Jr Way S.
Seattle, Washington 98118
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-24:
With any car in any repair shop, there is a risk the car may be damaged from "professional" work. Always see if you can do the work, or even see if you can buy tools or learn how to do a larger repair. After all, when fixing your own car, you know what quality of work will be done. There are plenty of cons out there, claiming to be professionals, who actually do a terrible job since this is not their car to care for.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.