[X]
Feedburner count

My3cents Complaint - What are you doing with my complaints?

Review by Doe3001 on 2006-05-24
Although I like this site, I noticed that sometimes my3cents allows me to post a complaint but automatically remove it from the main page (where more customers can read it). Few minutes ago I put and informative review about EXPEDIA (and Hotels.com), but the complaint did not appear in the main page following the order in which we expect to appear.
Comments:26 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-05-26
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-05-24:
I had the same thing happen on a few reviews that I tried to post. It was only found by a search of the company...but never came up on the main page for all to view.
Posted by tawanda on 2006-05-24:
This has happened to me once or twice, too. One of the posts I just gave up and closed... Apparently this happens more often than I thought it did, and I didn't think it happened to those with stars at all... With some of the other VERY ugly comments that get posted here, I wonder why what I assume are "cleaner" posts get lost in the web of M3C.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-24:
I think that they are trying to get the message to you that your posts are repetitive and annoying, and that it is unfair that you highjack someone else's post, at every opportunity, to post, re-post and post again your petty complaint. Once was enough.
Posted by tander on 2006-05-24:
So where are my reviews going to? I post a review and I click on the link that says to view your review and it's a empty page with people commenting about a empty page..*LOL*
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-05-24:
tander - Check with uncle, but I'm thinking they decided to replace it with a review with more content and that more members would be interested in discussing.
Posted by tander on 2006-05-25:
I'll let you know Slim, as I type they are letting me know what the problem is, but I doubt it very much if what you think is the case. But thanks for the observation anyways.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-05-25:
Mine was the Wal-mart review...it had a link to a video...nothing nasty, but funny...I'm thinking maybe reviews with links are not making it onto the mainpage, but found in searches.
Posted by tander on 2006-05-25:
Let me do a search, hope I don't find it posted 5 times..*LOL*
Posted by tander on 2006-05-25:
Your right Debtor, I found it by going to my profile. at least it was only posted once.
Posted by tander on 2006-05-25:
DebtorBasher - I just wanted to see what this reply link did..*LOL*
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-25:
I once posted a most excellent thesis titled “The impending US theocracy and its impact on the sacrificial ram market” and the moderators here deleted it probably because they were so taken back by the business potential that they didn’t want anybody else to read it. It was brilliant and well sourced. Sure, it endorsed slavery, prostitution and ritualistic animal sacrifice while insulted the peoples of three countries but it was it an amazing analysis of a highly profitable speculative venture. The people of my3cents are all the poorer for not being able to read it. (Read this fast before the *MAN* deletes this comment)
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-25:
Stew: post "The impending US theocracy and its impact on the sacrificial ram market" to your blog space.
Posted by Administrator on 2006-05-25:
Sorry for the confusion around why some posts make the homepage and others don't. We try our best to be fair and allow everyone an equal voice on our site. However, content that has already been recently featured on the homepage will in many cases be bumped if reposted. Doing a search for the company will often pull up the review. In cases of obvious duplicate or spam postings, they will get removed. We hope you understand that our intention is to try and keep the forum as open as possible, but also be fair to both the consumers and the companies being critiqued. It is a challenging task, and we will continue to try and improve in this area. Thanks for all the feedback. We do appreciate it.
Posted by Administrator on 2006-05-25:
Just one more note. We also have automated programs that monitor the new posts for certain criteria. They work to help limit spam posts, but sometimes they can bump regular posts accidently. We apologize for this inconvenience. We are working to improve these processes as well. Thanks again for all the feedback.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-05-25:
Tander.... http://www.walmartworkersrights.org that was the link that never posted on the homepage...check it out...you'll like it.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-05-25:
tander - Thanks for the offer but it looks like they decided to let us know first. So you're pretty sure I was wrong on that huh.
Posted by Doc J on 2006-05-25:
Stew-LOL about the *MAN* reference. In reading the site Administrator's notes I stumbled across the phrase we "apologize for any inconvenience". ARRRRRGGGGHHHH! Tell me I didn't see that. The corporate abuse mantra. I have a Pavlovian anger response to it.
Must...get...air...must...get...air...
Posted by Sparticus on 2006-05-25:
I for one appreciate the effort to keep spam and dups to a minimum. Seeing the same review posted over and over gets old quick. Admin, perhaps you could add some sort of user monitoring system for the reviews. Kind of like Digg.com where visitors vote on which reviews are most deserving of making the homepage? Perhaps a latest reviews staging area. Just a thought.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-05-25:
Stew: You should be a regular host on "The Man Show" you would certainly fit right in with your way of thinking...or should I say, your way of NOT thinking...lol
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-25:
DebtorBasher - Only if I can have ALF as a co-host and of course you would have to be one of the ‘Juggies’. America could use more Irish Stew.. Okay, I'm not Irish but I’m also not a..hmm.. well.. I think it’s a great idea.
Posted by Doe3001 on 2006-05-25:
Hi guys. I know that my complaints about EXPEDIA annoyed some people. That is expected. There are always people that will defend the bad guys. But I would not be complaining if EXPEDIA didn't give a good reason. Although I put several complaints about ONE case, my reviews showed different aspects of EXPEDIA. I also avoid spamming since I only linked non commercial sites. I agree with the administrator and I think that my3cents is trying to be pretty fair with both consumers and customers.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-25:
Doe, we've heard your EXPEDIA complaint, nearly daily for a couple months now. Git IT and US a break from it! (tr)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-05-25:
Stew - I do happen to be Irish (and Italian) and I did have some hot Irish Stew yesterday...But, me being anywhere near Alf...will never happen...It's him or me baby but it won't be both.
Posted by tander on 2006-05-25:
Slim, as addy said"but sometimes they can bump regular posts accidently.", sorry that I pointed out that you were wrong, but you were, it's alright to be wrong sometimes, it takes a man to admit when he is.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-25:
"Give"
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-05-26:
Exactly tander, which is why you won't hear it from Slim.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.