[X]
Feedburner count

Peter's Auto Center Informative - Charged for Warranty Repair

Review by KenB on 2006-07-10
NASHUA, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- This is an excerpt from a registered letter I sent the dealer who choose to ignore it. Our whole experience with this dealer has been bad. I am not writing this as a rant, I want to warn others about a dealership that just dosen't care.

On March 18, 2006, I purchased a 2004 Jeep Cherokee from your dealership. Although we are happy with the vehicle we had service work performed recently that should have been covered under our extended warranty plan or picked up by the dealership.
Unfortunately, when we purchased the vehicle we did not know the Air Conditioning did not work as the weather was cold. Once the warmer weather came and we tried the AC we found a problem. As part of a 60K service we asked the AC problem be attended to.
The AC problem ended up to be an expansion valve with a service cost for parts and labor of $87.44. The documentation on our extended Warranty (PUA6188952 Plan F) states Air Conditioning is covered. When we were told by Scott Wheeler that the AC service was not covered under the extended warranty contract we informed him we felt the service change should be waived because the AC did not work when we purchased the vehicle. Scott informed me I can’t prove the AC did not work when we purchased the vehicle and to prove a point he was going to show us in your system where the Tech performed a pre-sales inspection of the AC that would state what the AC temperature was. The only problem is the Tech never entered this information in the system.
I should have requested Scott escalate this issue to a higher authority at the time of the service and I am doing so now.
To resolve the problem, I would appreciate your waiving the service charge and refunding it to me.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-07-11
Posted by Doc J on 2006-07-10:
Great post. Either the tech didn't check the A/C or forgot to enter the value for the test. Seems you have a valid complaint, with the dealer. Hope it works out for you. A smart dealer would refund the money.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-07-10:
If the documentation specifies the a/c covered under the extended plan, what argument do they have to refuse waiving the charges?
Posted by Nohandle on 2006-07-10:
A little off topic with this particular poster's problem with his dealer, but for those who purchase used vehicles, how are they to determine in the dead of winter if the air conditioner properly works or in the summer if the heating system works?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-10:
File a BBB complaint http://search.bbb.org Peter's Auto Center has one resolved complaint. So you should too file a BBB complaint. "Scott informed me I can’t prove the AC did not work..." With auto service save all reciepts and work documentation. Since Scott is calling you a liar and misrepresenting the condition of your auto file a complaint with the Attorney General of your state. See "My Consmer Tools" at the top of the page then select "Contact the Attorney General" follow the prompts. Good luck
Posted by Frenchie on 2006-07-11:
What I would do is immediately file a claim in small claims court (about $20.00 to file) fill out the form, usually the clerk will help. Attach copies of your letter, etc. be specific. The dealer will have to answer and appear in court -- usually best for them to settle - however if they offer a decent settlement, take it rather than go ahead with the bench trial for sometimes they will have a sharp lawyer and he will confuse you, naturally debending upon the judges viewing of the matter. Good Luck, always fight back, but fight back with knowledge.
Posted by KenB on 2006-07-11:
I have filed a complaint with the BBB. I do plan on taking this to small claims court not because of the monetary value but the principal of it all.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.