3
Helpful
Votes

Texoma Ford/Mazda Denison TX Complaint - Dealership Sales Tactics

Review by rowdy on 2006-07-11
DENISON, TEXAS -- We went to Texoma Ford/Mazda Denison TX on July 1, 2006 to look at new trucks and we were interested in a 2006 Ford Ext cab STX 2WD and we were trading in a 2005 F150 King Ranch (Paid in full) we arrived at 6 PM and at 10 PM-- after 4 hours of high pressured sales tactics and saying we wanted to leave and think it over the Sales Manager said he would give us the 06 truck and $3,000 for our truck (06 listed for $29,900)we got that down to $22,300. But, everytime we said we were leaving , the Sales Manager and the salesman said they would be back and disappeared for 45 minutes and finally we agreed (just to get them off our backs and get out of there) But on the way home my wife said the seat made her lower back hurt and we discovered that it DID NOT have a Lumbar Control knob on the passenger seat. This was Saturday nite at 10 PM and they were closed on Sunday and Monday we called to take the truck back but the Salesman would not return our calls and Tuesday was the 4th and they were closed again! Wednesday we called and said we DID NOT want the new truck and we were bringing it back and the salesman and the sales manager both told us it was "a done deal" and we still have not recieved our $3,000!! This is the 11th of July!! We notified them of our wanting to bring the truck back within 72 hours and they still refuse to talk to us about our dissatisfaction with the truck AND the bad deal that we got! We will notify Ford of this SUBSTANDARD dealership and their high pressured sales tactics!! Ford will send us a survey and they will answer to Ford Motor for their very poor customer relations and their refusal to return our truck! There was NO loan involved and they owe us $3,000 but we want the deal CANCELLED!!! They also claim that they don't recognize the 72 hour return law!! We will see about that!!!It is too bad that Ford Motor has SUBSTANDARD dealerships when they are hurting for sales of new trucks!!! No wonder Toyota is soooo far ahead of them!!! YES - we hired an attorney and they WILL pay his fees!! The crooks NEVER paid us the money owed--therefore they broke the contract!! Thank You Very Much!!
Comments:25 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-04-23
Posted by Sparticus on 2006-07-11:
There is definitely something illegal in there somewhere. I do believe you had every right to return the vehicle, some states vary on this, but I think all have some sort of return window. Do you have a lawyer?
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-07-11:
The 72 hour right of return law is very misunderstood. Last I knew, only California applied it to automobiles and then only with payment of a "restocking fee" to be determined by the dealer. Face it, they used high pressure tactics, you caved and now you have buyers remorse. Enjoy your new truck.
Posted by Doc J on 2006-07-11:
Thanks for adding the details rowdy. I fear Hugh is right. If the lumbar support is crucial, perhaps you can have it retro-fitted. I'm sorry you feel that the "bad deal" also justifies returning the truck. It does not. I wish it did, I still bristle over getting burned on a car in 1976. Hugh said it, "...you caved..." and now you have buyer's remorse. Enjoy the truck or sell it for what you really wanted. Again, thanks for adding details.
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-11:
The crooks at Texoma Ford/mazda NEVER completed the contract!! They NEVER paid us the money, so therefore WE are right!! Thank You Very Much!!
Posted by Doc J on 2006-07-11:
Of course you are. You're welcome. Good luck.
Posted by Doc J on 2006-07-11:
rowdy-I thought my sarcasm was self-evident and unmistakeable. You added me to your trust list a bit hastily. I greatly fear that your haste likewise led to your unhappy truck purchase. All sarcasm and kidding aside...I pray you'll have better fortune in the future.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-07-11:
Then you might have an action to sue them for the $3000 if they don't pay it, but I don't see a court letting you completely out of this deal. You went in with your eyes wide open and you weren't forced to sign anything against your will. And you can call it whatever you want, but the tactics used on you (shady as they are) are standard for the car industry - because they generally work.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-11:
You said, “They also claim that they don't recognize the 72 hour return law!!” then you got them with just that one thing. They don’t make the law and I don’t think a judge will care whether they recognize it or not. The law is three business (working) days. This does not include weekends or holidays.
GO GET EM! And good luck..
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-07-11:
Lidman - that's the point - there is no 72 hour return law for cars in Texas. That's why they don't recognize it. It's an urban legend. Mrs. M's favorite consumer advocate, Clark Howard, gets these calls all the time - there simply isn't a 72 hour "change your mind" law out there. In the few cases where there is one, it's usually very specific items (i.e. time shares) and specific locations (i.e. sales made in your home).
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-11:
The fact of the matter is--they (Texoma Ford/Mazda Denison TX)have NOT completed the contract and we want to cancel the INCOMPLETED contract! This is 12 days after the fact and still NO PAYMENT bye them!
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-11:
I recieved an e-mail from Ford Motor and they are very interested in the back-dating of the contract--to recieve extra bonuses from Ford Motor.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-07-11:
All I'm saying is don't throw another couple of thousand of dollars at this in attorney's fees. Chances are a court would find that the contract was substantially completed when the trucks changed hands. Like I said, you can sue for the $3000 if they refuse to pay that - but I imagine if you went in there today and asked for the money they would cut you a check on the spot - and that's what they would tell the judge - "we tried to pay them, but they wouldn't take the check and kept talking about suing us and un-doing the contract and some '72 hour' law." Just enjoy your new truck - at least you bought a good one.
Posted by Doc J on 2006-07-11:
Hugh-You are absolutely correct. rowdy-Sue on principle if you like...be prepared to be handed your hat by the presiding judge. What Hugh is referring to is called material self-interference with the contract...fifty dollar talk for "We wanted to give 'rowdy' a check for $3000, he refused it in order to interfere with his contract with us." You got kicked in the rump. Spend another $3000 on an attorney if you enjoyed the experience.
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-11:
Sounds to me like I will end up putting a huge sign on the tailgate and doing ALL the advertising I can for these crooks!!
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-11:
Of course-- It will all be "In My Opinion" !!
Posted by glc on 2006-07-11:
Rowdy, if I remember my Business Law I, a contract has 4 basic requirements: 1)Mutual Assent 2)Consideration 3)Legality of Object and 4)Capacity. And if I remember Consideration correctly, each party must exchange a legal benefit (or incur a legal detriment). Don't quote me here, but it sounds like you might have something to stand on regarding "consideration". Good Luck!!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-11:
Hugh_Jorgen thanks for the info I didn't know that. Maybe that is why they call Texas a whole nother country?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-12:
Ok...when you buy and auto if your a member of a credit union they have may have car brokerage services with the caveat that you finance through the credit union. You're the b o s s when you buy the car -- n o t the s a l e s m a n. Don't ever be afraid to walk out of a 'sales inquisition.' According to their BBB record you should vent your displesure to Mr. Dennis Edwards, Sales Manager - (903) 465-5671. If he doesn't come to your terms start a BBB complaint, see above these message's "My Consumer Tools" menu. Tell 'em your going to file a complaint about their business tactics with the "Attorney General" also in the above pulldown. Here's the BBB link http://search.bbb.org
Good luck
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-12:
Mrs Manischewitz Thank You for your input and info. We contacted a Texas attorney and he wrote them a letter and they have 30 days to answer. We still have not been paid what they agreed to pay us in the contract and it is now 13 days later. I have also put my complaint in SqueakyWheels.com where they are sent a notice everytime it takes a hit and we are at 36 right now.
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-12:
Also-- Mr Dennis Edwaards is the Sales Manager involved--who refuses to talk to us about it and told us it is a "Done Deal".
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-12:
I also checked with the BBB and we can't file thru them as long as it is in litigation (attorney involved) BUT-we are writting a letter to the Texas Retail Merchants Association.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-12:
Here's a bomb dropper call Clark Howard and put the scam over the air. Fill out the form, I take it you are serious about your complaint. You may as well "go all the way."
http://clarkhoward.com/inside/ask_team_clark.html
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-13:
Mrs M-- Thank You Very Much once again!
Posted by rowdy on 2006-07-27:
All of our comments are "In Our Opinion" !!
Posted by Traci_Johnson on 2007-04-23:
Nevermind...just read your other post. Any new details?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Texoma Ford/Mazda Denison TX: