4
Helpful
Votes

ebay...again Complaint - Ebay Suspends another legitimate business

Review by SOOOOOCONFUSED on 2006-07-12
COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- After months of ebay research I finally decided to open my own ebay store. Well last month was the month. I listed and listed and listed and at the end of the month ebay received $293 from me for my store and listing fees. This month they decided that they wanted to suspend my account and have not told me why other than I am listing so much that they now need to see the invoices proving that I purchased the items I have listed??
Yeah, that stumped me to....I explained to them that I paid them $5.OO when I signed up with them so that I could be "verified" as they put it. In other words, they verified my address, who I was and my bank account information. I have sent six emails so safe harbor to find out why they feel the need to suspend my account, I have engaged with live chat twice and still do not know what live chat is there for, I have (against my better judement) sent the ebay appeals dept. the information they requested and they still have not unfrozen my account. All of my feedbacks are positive and even the dropshipper I use (doba.com) sent them a letter to let them know that I was legite and that I use them as my dropshipper. Still frozen!! Last month I spent hundreds of dollars on jewelry to sell on ebay and now can not move any of it due to my account being frozen. WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! WHAT EVERY HAPPENED TO 800 NUMBERS TO ALLOW YOUR CUSTOMER BASE TO CONTACT A LIVE PERSON!! For those that would like to visit my store and my feedbacks I can be found at : http://stores.ebay.com/CARMENS-JEWERLY-BOUTIQUE-AND-MORE .....If anyone has any suggestions on how to get my account unfrozen please let me know
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-07-23
Posted by SOOOOOCONFUSED on 2006-07-12:
Here is the latest from ebay on my account:

Selling Activity Limit Reached
We regret to inform you that your eBay account is prohibited from listing additional items at this time. In order to maintain a safe trading environment, selling limits are occasionally placed on accounts. This selling limit is in no way meant to question your record with eBay or standing within the eBay community. To resolve this situation, please contact eBay's SafeHarbor Department using the Webform on the following Help page.

We sincerely value you as a member of our trading community and look forward to a continued successful relationship. We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter as quickly as possible.
{e11443-141474-6169}


Well, I have contacted Safe Harbor and still their valued customer is frozen
Posted by Sparticus on 2006-07-12:
So what did they say after you contacted "SafeHarbor"?
Posted by nanomarket on 2006-07-12:
I expcect that you were caught in the crossfire as EBAY attempts to remove the criminals from its web site and thereby improve its competetive edge over Google. Google recently launched a payment service, Checkout, that competes with EBAY's paypal. Ebay, however, does not allow its members to use Checkout because (according to EBAY) it doesn't have a "substantial historical track record" of transactions that are not prone to error, fraud and other types of abuse. In my opinion, no online shopping service has a more miserable track record than EBAY (see the reviews here and elsewhere). SOOOOOCONFUSED, I trust that you are an honest seller, but many of your EBAY companions are criminals who operate without fear of reprisal. My advice to you is to stay away from EBAY and sell your jewelry on Froogle, Craig's list, or your own web site.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-12:
I think this is reasonable because it prevent's you the seller from biting off more than you can chew. Also I don't like paypal - so sorry - to say, I'd keep walking until I found a seller with a more liberal payment option. Hence they could be your problem, not enough payment options - only one input. I do say you do have a good start in feedback. Good luck
Posted by tander on 2006-07-12:
You would probaly have better luck selling at a different auction site. Ebay has gotten terrible for sellers!
Posted by myangels7 on 2006-07-13:
Hi SoConfused; I just visited your auction page (very nice) using the hyperlink you provided and it looks like you are now doing business as usual. Have you been exonerated? I have spoken with a few other Ebay sellers in the past and some informed me that they keep two separate bank accounts; one for Ebay and another for their personal use. They transfer 'excess' funds from the Ebay bank account to their other bank account on a regular basis. That should protect most of your profits while Ebay investigates (historically shoots then asks questions later) while flexing its Corporate muscle. Keep us updated.
Posted by SOOOOOCONFUSED on 2006-07-13:
Well, my store is still up by I can not list anything as of yet. I do keep a seperate bank account for my ebay transactions though. I still have not heard a word from safe harbor. I did learn through reading complaints that ebay usually shuts you down within 30 days of filing a complaint on a non-paying bidder as they at that point have to refund the listing and selling fees, at least that is what I have read. I do have have my own (non-ebay) site up and running but am still trying to figure out how to get traffic to it other than the adwords I have purchased. I will probably give ebay until Monday to respond to me and then shutdown the store there. Other than Froggle can you send me more auction site links to list at, I really need to move some inventory.
Posted by myangels7 on 2006-07-13:
I just googled “auction websites” and the following links are the first three came up though you will have to do the investigating because I do not know anything about them. I’m sure there are more and I intend to look for another (good) auction site myself, later. I work 2nd shift and am leaving shortly so I have no time right now. Good luck SoooooConfused.
http://www.bidstar.net
http://www.ubid.com/auctions
http://www.bidz.com
Posted by SOOOOOCONFUSED on 2006-07-18:
Still no response from ebay so I will be shutting down
Posted by digipro on 2006-07-23:
ebay sucks. They put all the accountability and responsibility on their customers (buyers and sellers) but when there is a glaring problem that points to ebay, they will do what is necessary to squelch the guy on the milk carton telling people how it really is. Want a story?

The eBay community is supposed to report listing violations, something ebay should be doing themselves in the first place. I sell on ebay and have to report sellers that are making the categories i sell in very cr@ppy. i.e. I report the listings that contain Misleading titles, overcharging shipping, etc. As you all know, eBay does not police their own site. They "rely" on the ebay community to police itself. Their official reason they make their reps tell us? "We do not have the resources to check every listing out there. We would have to hire alot of people just to check listings everyday if we were to do that." Gee whiz, they bought Skype for 2 Billion US last time I checked. Anyways - So what do they do to people that report these listings? They strip me of my Titanium Powerseller status and suspend my account. Can you believe that? Trust me, I'm not bending the truth here or omitting some shadey things. That's the whole story, cut and dry. Moral of the story? You cause ebay pain or more work? They'll get you back and do whatever is necessary to SHUT YOU UP!

There's my story...stay away from eBay.
Posted by digipro on 2006-07-23:
btw, why doesn't ebay have a feedback profile?? Don't you think they should take their own medicine??


Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.