[X]
Feedburner count

9
Helpful
Votes

Auto Cool Informative - Don't fall for their TV ads

Review by Sparticus on 2006-07-29
I felt obligated to share some research I recently did on the Auto Cool. I saw a commercial for this product and both my wife and I thought it was a great invention. It is basically a solar powered fan that attaches to your window and sucks hot air out of your car while it sits in a parking lot or where ever all day. In the commercial they demonstrate two cars, one with the Auto Cool fan, and one without. After a few hours they show the car without the fan is 107 degrees inside, while the car with the fan is a nice cool 75 degrees. We were amazed!

Not so fast. I did some research on the web, and came across a TV news report on the same product. You can read it here:

http://www.wgrz.com/news/news_article.aspx?storyid=39765

This news station decided to test the product themselves with the aid of the fire department to help analyze the results. Their first test, the car WITH the Auto Cool was actually HOTTER than the car with no fan! In their second test they decided to leave it in a black SUV all day long. At the end of the day the car was a boiling 108 degrees!

So buyer beware, if you see one of these commercials, steer clear. Not only does it not seem to work, but it also could be potentially misleading and dangerous if you were to use one and leave a child or pet in the car.
Comments:27 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-08-10
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-29:
Thanks, I was wondering if it worked.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-07-29:
Thanks! Your posting was just in time, I was thinking about ordering one for the past week...since I still didn't take my car in to get the AC working (no comments from the peanut gallery). I also thought this would have been a good idea for those who do leave their pets in the car and wondered if it was suitable for that purpose...your warning is one of the best I've seen on here because it can cause harm or worse to a pet or a child.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-07-29:
This is why you've been on my trusted list...BUT PLEASE change the pic on you blog! PLEASE!!!!
Posted by Sparticus on 2006-07-29:
Glad my post was helpful. I figured since I was nearly sold on them, that more folks may fall into the same trap. What's wrong with my blog picture... I like the king! =)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-07-29:
The King scares me! Big old plastic head looking into people's bedroom windows...AND under their blankets! At least the Geico creature is more friendly looking...
Posted by glc on 2006-07-29:
Great post, Sparticus...and your timing is awesome. Thanks!
Posted by *Brenda* on 2006-07-30:
Too bad it doesn't work. Sounded like a great idea.
Posted by Noneill on 2006-07-30:
I was so close to getting that gadget. Thanks for saving me the trouble.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-07-30:
Sparticus - Add me to the Kudos list.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-07-30:
I thought I just seen the other day, the option to vote how helpful the posting was...what happened to it? I wanted to vote this post as very helpful.
Posted by Timboss on 2006-07-31:
Just think about it - after you park, it can never be cooler inside the car than the outside air. What bothered me about the ads is, in one of them they show a pet in the back seat. It does give the impression it is an air conditioner when at the very, very best it moves a small amount of outside air into the car. No place for a child, pet, plants, etc.
Posted by Judy81350 on 2006-07-31:
OMG I bought some of these things last week. I haven't even gotten them yet. I wish I had have gotten this review last week. lol Well I will try them and if they don't work I will inform you all. I WILL send them back if they don't work. I'm hoping that maybe they have improved them somewhat before they remarketed them? Is this wishful thinking or is it a pipe dream? lol
Posted by DORCAS on 2006-07-31:
Good post. Where I live it's usually a boiling 118 "outside" the car. I can't imagine anything but leaving my car running with the air on that would keep it cool. If only it were just 107 inside :-} Bravo on your fine detective work.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-07-31:
Judy...if you do decided to send the product back, enclose a copy of this review with it!
Posted by yesfan on 2006-07-31:
I too was thinking about getting one. Thanks for the warning!
Posted by theshadowknows on 2006-07-31:
I bought 1 of these things several years ago - not the same brand, but very similar. It DOES work (to some degree, lol). Instead of the car being unbearably sweltering when you enter, it is just hot, but tolerable. The trick is to keep another window cracked (other side of the vehicle) to get air circulating. The only gripe I have is that with leaving the windows open, you will eventually forget and get water in the car with an unexpected storm. Sometimes you can't believe everything you read on the internet, expecially when someone doesn't even have first-hand experience with a product, but it reporting what someone else said.
Posted by AquaHarmony on 2006-07-31:
I must admit, I knew this was crap when I first saw the commercial! Apparently, patents are granted without so much as even testing the product. Aside from not even keeping the car cool, as it claims, that air fan contraption places your car at risk to be stolen, with little to no effort. Your window can't possibly go all the way up and those window guards they give you along with the fan, look like crap as well, and I bet they don't create a good enough seal, to keep out so much as one drop from the heaviest shower. I live in the South, so we get a heavy pop-up shower at any moment, during the summer months. I just as well keep paying for my expensive parking space in the parking garage monthly, which really keeps my car cool, than to pay for this junk!
Posted by pennypicher on 2006-07-31:
Funny I just saw that thing on tv the other day. Another useless item unless you are selling it.
Posted by Judy81350 on 2006-07-31:
DebtorBasher, I will do just that. I'm hoping I get lucky and maybe these will miraculously work for me. I didn't think of the theft factor of the car. Those seal thingies they give you to use along with the unit probly is made of cheap rubber or something. I have an 06 Mustang and I surely don't want some low life thief stealing it from me. I think I'll think twice about using them in a non protected area. My work is pretty safe but the mall would make it an open target. Arizona is in the top ten for stolen cars. YIKES!!!!
Posted by fifi on 2006-07-31:
a home shopping network was advertising this and they are a very rep. network. Thank you for the advice on another gimmick.
Posted by thi_avatar on 2006-07-31:
I purchased one of these and I am completely dissapointed in it's performance. It does not run unless it is in 100% full sunlight, and when it does run it moves a pitiful amount of air. The problem is the solar panel, they cheaped out and used an extreemly low quality one. I am attempting to purchase a better solar panel and modify mine so it will actually function.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-08-01:
I've also thought about the theft issue, which was why I put off ordering one until I found someone who actually got one...from the looks of the commercial, I'd say someone can slip a finger between the side of the product where it meets the rubber seal and pull the seal right off.
Posted by lotatravels on 2006-08-01:
Thanks for this timely review. I too thought it was a great idea and was going to order. Guess I'll just keep putting sunscreen in front window and park under shade trees when possible (although the birds do get a little messy!!).
Posted by ladylove on 2006-08-01:
thanks again, I was thinking of buying this for my vehicle. I'm glad to have received this E-mail.
Posted by Diva45 on 2006-08-01:
Thanks so much for your review - I KNEW this was a bogus piece of crap! One might as well hold up a finger, judge the wind gauge and park with driver and passenger windows cracked (if in the shade, even better). So much for seeing is believing...
Posted by Shale on 2006-08-03:
This product does not work! I was so excited to see it advertised because I take my 2 beagles everywhere I go and sometimes I wish there was something that would keep the van cool when I was running into a store or something. Well, thank goodness that I didn't have my pooches with me the one day recently that I tried it during the recent heatwave we had here in Illinois, because the inside of my van was hotter than if I didn't put anything in it, or if I would have just cracked a window. I can see how my dogs would have been on the verge of suffocation the way I felt after getting into the van! That night, I decided to go online and find out if other people found the same results, and was alarmed at all the complaints I've read on several different sites. This product needs to be taken off the market because it does not work, is a rip off, and I would expect that we may be hearing of some health issues because of its performance! Don't spend your money!
Posted by Judy81350 on 2006-08-10:
Check this out, I received my TWO autocools late last week and it says on the directions for use that they won't work with tinted windows. WHAT fool in Arizona doesn't tint their windows. Ok, at this point I'm not EVEN going to open the second one. My Mustang has the darkest tint legal in this state. My truck has factory tint. Yeah, I'm one of those fools in Arizona that didn't have ONE of their vehicles tinted. lol I have lots of trees, so there! lol I'm putting one of them in my truck, maybe even both of them. Not sure yet. If the one doesn't work, I'll try both. If two doesn't work then this really IS a poor pitiful product and SHOULD be taken off the market. Now that I said my 3 cents, I bid you all adieu. lol Peace!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.