7
Helpful
Votes

HardToFindFilms & Vendio Services Inc. Informative - Item ordered and paid for not received

Review by mlg0891glm on 2006-08-04
JERSEY CITY, NEW JERSEY -- Businesses involved in transaction:

Vendio Services Inc.
851 Traeger Ave. Ste. 100
San Bruno, CA. 94066
1 650 808 5800
Fax: 1 571 434 4620
http://shop.vendio.com/

Complaint:
Internet fraud:
On April 6, 2006 @ 06:52 hrs, I placed an order for a DVD movie through web site http://shop.vendio.com/HARDTOFINDFILMS/home.html . The purchase price was listed as $24.99, with a shipping charge of $5.00, which could be paid by PayPal, or a Money order from Western Union or USPS.

The order was for item FRANKENSTEIN THE TRUE STORY rare UNCUT 185 minute vers. http://shop.vendio.com/HARDTOFINDFILMS/item/852840366/index.html

I received order confirmation @ Thu, 6 Apr 2006 06:52:35 -0700 (PDT) from “Vendio Store Order Confirmation” @ email address StoreOrders@corp.vendio.com.

On 04/07/2006 I purchased a $30.00 money order, and Express Mail letter service to pay for the purchase. The Money Order # is 082903*****. The Express Mail # is ER2706*****US. The Post office receipt # is 48227*****.

On 04/08/2006 the post office delivered the Express Mail, containing the money order, and a copy of my order to the address provided by the selling web site:
J. R. Burgos
2978 Kennedy Blvd. # 157
Jersey City, New Jersey 07306

The web site indicates to allow for 3 – 6 weeks for shipments. The web site requests you do not contact them until 6 weeks has passed.

I made my 1st inquiry to the web site using their “Contact Us” web page http://shop.vendio.com/HARDTOFINDFILMS/contact.html & to the e-mail address provided tastyp57@yahoo.com on 06/02/2006.

I have continued to try to contact this seller approximately every other business day since then, using both contact options, and have received no response as of (this) date (06/17/2006).

On 06/12/2006 I also contacted the Vendio hosting service - service@corp.vendio.com - for the site selling the DVD’s, and informed them of the situation. Their response was to contact the vendor directly, which they knew had already been done as it was included in the information provided to them. I informed them this had already been done, and they made no further response.

On 06/15/2006 I again sent e-mails to the web site’s “Contact Us” page, the e-mail address - tastyp57@yahoo.com, and the Vendio customer service address - service@corp.vendio.com, informing them if I had not received an update from on the status of the order I would then file a complaint against them. Vendio responded by saying “we are bound by our Privacy Policy and cannot release information pertaining to the seller without a subpoena.”, which is essentially double talk for “we will not get involved, if you lost money to a vendor on our site too bad.” I never asked for seller information, but for them to check with their vendor to determine if they could resolve the status of my order through their service, on his site.

On 07/28/2006 the BBB of NEW JERSEY informed me that the company did not respond to their repeated attempts to contact them to resolve the issue. Thus the company would have "an unsatisfactory business performance" record with them. This is not the only complaint from the BBB of NEW JERSEY this company has ignored.

http://www.trenton.bbb.org/nis/newsearch2.asp?ID=1&ComID=0221000003000260

You can also see this business has shut down on "Buy.com", "sell.com", "obo.com" and has had similar complaints at each of these sites. The business was always called HARDTOFINDFILMS, and was located in New Jersey.
Comments:1 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-11-22
Posted by Saranac Jim on 2006-11-22:
I've had a very similar experience. I ordered a film in march 2006, paid with paypal. Never received the disk, and merchant has not replied to repeated emails and letters.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.