[X]

4
Helpful
Votes

Varsity Club Palm Harbor Fl Informative - Owner says @!%$#* - OFF

Review by DanL on 2006-08-21
PALM HARBOR, FLORIDA -- Last Saturday I returned from an out-of-town trip. I was tired and wanted to watch pre-season football. My wife graciously offered to pick up a pizza for me at one place and food for herself at Varsity Club in Palm Harbor Florida. When she returned she found that the "Rare sourdough melt" that she had ordered for herself was a "well done burger on marbled rye", a far cry from what she ordered. Our dinner together was messed up and she called the manager. The manager offered to credit her back the money or she could come back to the restaurant to pick up what she had ordered in the first place. I got on the phone and vehemently objected to the inadequate offer. The proper remedy would be for the restaurant to deliver the food, especially as we are 5 minutes away. The person who identified herself first as the manager and then as the owner flatly refused and then had the audacity to rescind the offer of a credit or replacement dish. We could take that burger and do with it as we pleased. In checking with the state of Florida it appears that, in fact, her husband is the registered owner of the restaurant.
My warning here is this: if the owner of an establishment has so little regard for customers who have visited once or twice a week for years, there is little hope that those underneath her will have much concern either. I will never give my business to Varsity Club again and caution all potential victims to try some other place.
Comments:26 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-11-17
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-21:
If voting could really change things,
it would be illegal.
Revolution Books
New York , New York .
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-21:
I think the manager was reasonable. This is why you check your order BEFORE you leave the establishment to make sure they got your order right!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-21:
5 minutes away!? You should have gone back and took the managers offer. It was not unreasonable, you were!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-08-21:
I don't see any valid complaint. The manager gave you a choice of a refund or to make good on the original order...And so what if her husband is the owner? For the time it took you to look up the owner of the resturant, you could have walked down there yourself and got the order. Not all resturants run a delivery service, and if they don't they are not going to have any of their employees leave their job to drive to your house and deliver a meal, if they were to get into an accident on their way and they are on the clock, their insurance would not even cover them. I'm sure no employee was willing to go off the clock to cater to you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-21:
I didn't know that people ate such things while watching football. "Rare Sourdough Melt?" Marbled Rye? Dan, next time get a large meat lovers pizza and an order of wings. I promise that it will be less stress on you and the wife. P.S. Get the "mild sauce" for the wings. Wouldn't want you to "blow your top" due to the hot sauce. Good luck this season.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-21:
Wach NASCAR
Posted by Nohandle on 2006-08-21:

DenL, I'm unfamiliar with the Varsity Club. Is it a private establishment for members only or open to the public? The reason I'm asking is in my area if one dines at the country club or takes the meal home, if for any reason the meal is unsatisfactory, the cost of the meal is deducted from the bill on the account..no questions asked except what the problem was so it could be corrected in the future. If on a take out, no one would one expect a replacement meal to be delivered to the home.

Is there a possibility when you vehemently objected to the inadequate offer of having the money credited back or returning to the restaurant for a replacement that that's when the fireworks started? Being unfamiliar with the Varsity Club I don't know what their policy is. Do they normally deliver a replacement to the home if the customer received the incorrect order?

Many people are frequent visitors to a particular restaurant. Were you perhaps demanding a little too much that night?
Posted by *Brenda* on 2006-08-21:
Oh my god he offered you a credit! THAT HORRIBLE PERSON!
Posted by DORCAS on 2006-08-21:
My, how gracious of Cynth to go out of her way to get Biff his pizza before going a whole 5 minutes away to get her special sandwich. Now I'll bet Biff would really pitch a big one if one of the restaurant staff had not been able to be there to wait on his gracious trophy wife because they had to go deliver a meal to another unfortunate customer. Good grief, this is laughable.To think that a mere human would make a mistake on a stupid sandwich and not go to the ends of the earth to make it up to them. Sheesh!!! some peoples kids
Posted by Skye on 2006-08-22:
Some people just feel so entitled to everything. My god, what more did you want them to do??? Next time, how about firing up your grill and cooking for you and your wife.
Posted by Tracy M on 2006-08-22:
Entited much?

I guess next time I visit Wendy's and DON'T CHECK MY FOOD before I leave, only to arrive home to it being WRONG, what should I do? Oh, I know! I'll call them and 'vehemently' complain and refuse any offer of compensation. I will then demand they deliver the sandwich, since, after all, I'm only 5 minutes away. After they laugh at me and tell me where to stick it, I'll go write a complaint letter for all the world to see.

Yep, that seems reasonable.

Posted by Tracy M on 2006-08-22:
Entited = Entitled. LOL - I always mis-spell when I'm giving someone grief about something. Karma, I guess. :)
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2006-08-22:
VERY reasonable offers. Teach your wife to check her order. I would never leave some place without doing so - - I know that if it's wrong I suffer...so I CHECK. She should too.
Posted by Nohandle on 2006-08-22:
I originally thought I'd ask DanL if he thought he was dealing with "Meals on Wheels", then decided to cater to his far superior social standing looking forward to a really entertaining, outrageous response. Well, afraid that didn't work. The hook with a nice juicy worm was tossed in and he didn't even take a nibble. I fear we have heard the last from Sir DanL. Such a shame.

Would have been amusing, don't you think? Ah, to be a member of the aristocracy as he perceives himself to be.

Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-22:
Hopefully he will be back after his next "sales convention" and tell us how he set that stewardess straight for not letting him have "business class" food will flying "coach". Stay tuned.
Posted by DORCAS on 2006-08-22:
Maybe,ZZ. I'm betting we'll see him complaining that they didn't give him valet parking at Wal-Mart after he got an oil change on his Yugo.
Posted by SHELLBY on 2006-08-22:
A rare sourdough melt? Am I the only one who is wondering what that is?
Posted by SHELLBY on 2006-08-23:
sounds exotic
Posted by DORCAS on 2006-08-23:
SHELLBY:The reason you havn't heard of it is because it's a "rare" type of sandwich....eeeeeewww, sorry just had to say it.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-08-23:
Shellby, I'm not asking...when you use "rare" and "Sour" to discribe a sandwich, I don't want to know anymore!
Posted by SHELLBY on 2006-08-23:
I don't think its legal to order a raw burger these days.:/
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-08-24:
This was some years back when my Dad used to order them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-08-24:
Aren't "runny egg yokes" illegal as well?
Posted by SHELLBY on 2006-08-27:
I think so zz.
Posted by NTN Ron on 2006-08-29:
Dan L is way out of line! The remedy offered by the owner was more than fair, and no one has the right to treat people with disdain or just plain rudeness. She had every right to revoke her offer. As a former restaurant manager (Big JRs Steakhouse in Oldsmar), I would not have tolerated such abuse, nor would I have offered any remedy. Furthermore, the person would not have been welcomed back without a sincere apology, one posted on this website for all to see. Checking ones orders offers protection for both parties, and provides an opportunity to remedy such situations immediately. If I were Dan L, I would be feeling rather foolish at the moment since all the reviews I read were 100% in favor of the Varsity Club and the actions of the manager. He should be ashamed of himself for the way he treated a lady, and for trying to besmirch the good name of the Varsity Club. AND what's with this 5 minute drive? Dan apparently spent more time acting like an idiot on the phone than he would have by simply returning to the restaurant. Hey Dan, did you forget how to get back to the Varsity Club? Hey Dan, would you talk to your mother that way? Hey Dan, I would tell you to close your Pie Hole, but you would probably close the wrong hole and I certainly don't want to add any other stress to your obviously troubled life. My condolences to your poor wife!
Posted by sheltender on 2009-11-17:
Wow...3 years later and I still remember this complaint because I work at the Varsity Club.To everyone who responded please come on in and try us out for yourselves. We truly try to make everyone happy but there are always the few you can't please. I have worked there for almost 7 years because of all the wonderful people you will meet there if you come in. Hope to see you soon!!!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.