4
Helpful
Votes

High Impact Windows and Doors Complaint - Defrauded by company, High Impact Windows and Doors, Hurricane Accordion Shutters

Review by raguila on 2006-09-08
CORAL GABLES, FLORIDA -- On April 21st, 2006 we contracted High Impact Windows and Doors for Hurrican Accordion Shutters. The sales representative, **name removed** told us they'd be delivered and installed within 8 weeks. We noted that fact on the contract and we both signed it each having their own copy. After 8 weeks had passed we called to inquire as to the status of our order. The secretary told us the manufacturer was backed up and that she'd have to call to find out the status. She never called back. We called a week later asking the status, same thing. We cann for 9 weeks, every week, and every week a different excuse. After almost 5 months of run arounds we looked up the owners address and visited him personall at his home. This was on Wednesday September 6th, 2006. He answered the door and gave us another excuse why the shutters were not ready. However, he promised to have someone come to our house at 10AM the next day and remeasure the windows (Even though 4 months previous he hired an architect to do the same exact thing, he came, took down the measurements, and left 4 months ago. 10am came and went, 11am came and went, it was 2PM when we called the office and no answer. We called repeatedly for 15 minutes until somone answered the phone, the secretary. She said she'd contact the engineer and find out why he hadn't shown up and they she'd call back. An hour passed, no callback. We called again asking where the engineer was. She said he'd be calling in the next few minutes to get directions. We waited another hour and no calls from the secretary or the engineer. We called the office, no answer. Finally fed up with the whole ordeal, we went to the office which is located at 4210 Laguna Street, Coral Gables, FL (with newspaper on the windows so no one can see in). We knocked and no one answered. We waited a few minutes and knocked much harder and could hear someone approach the door but not open it. We opened the mailbox slot and asked if they'd open the door, the secretary did. We asked for a refund of our deposit since the contract clearly states that the services were over 2 months past due. She said she couldn't and wasn't authorized. So we asked that she contact the owner. Make a long story short, after 4 hours the owner showed up and promised to have the shutters installed by next week. We gave them ample opportunity to fulfill their obligations and decided enough was enough and that we wanted the deposit back. After an hour he wrote a postdated check for the refund and we both signed a letter confirming the order was cancelled and the deposit was refunded. We walked away with the letter and check in hand assuming he would make good considering all he put us through. We went to deposit the check and were told there was STOP payment placed on the check just minutes after we left the office. This company already has one complaint with the BBB and this one should count as 4-5 complaints considering the lengths this company has gone to take our money. If you have any questions regarding this complaint, feel free to contact us.
Comments:4 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-02
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-09-08:
How terrible! Sounds like you were ripped off, big-time. I certainly won't use this company, ever. Good luck!
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-09-09:
Newspaper covered windows, phones that go unanswered, a stop payment on a check he just wrote....sounds like an ideal case for a TV consumer reporter if you have one in your area that takes on these cases. There are too many folks taking advantage of Florida's hurricane victims, someone needs to warn the public of these type of folks. Good luck with your case!
Posted by Sparticus on 2006-09-09:
Try contacting the following: lfscollin@wfla.com (8 on your side - WFLA TV in Florida) Perhaps they can help!
Posted by Hedge777 on 2010-03-02:
TRY TO BUY FROM A BIG SUPPLIER LIKE LOWES OR HOME DEPOT OR A WELL KNOW WINDOW MAKER..LIKE PELLA WINDOWS ECT...FLORIDA IS FULL OF SCAMMERS ANYWAY...

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.