6
Helpful
Votes

Stonefish Grille Informative - Poor Sevice

Review by sing2me on 2006-10-02
LARGO, MARYLAND -- On September 29, 2006 at approximately 11:30pm, I was sitting in the Stonefish Grill located at 880 Capital Centre Blvd. Largo, MD 20774. All of a sudden, a glass falls down, just missing my head, into the seat. The glass was filled with red wine. The red wine got all over my cream colored Guess purse, which cost me, eighty dollars. It also got onto my shirt, my jacket, and my friends jacket.

By-standers reported that the glass was sitting on the ledge along with someone’s coat. When the young lady went to remove her coat, while being intoxicated, she also pushed the glass. We were able to salvage all of the items that the wine spilled on except for my purse. A waitress came by (not the one who originally waited on us) and wiped up the seat. After seeing my purse, she gave me some club soda to try and remove the stain; however, it was already ruined.

I had asked to speak to a manager to ask why the glasses were sitting on the ledge since that is not an appropriate place to have them since people sit right below the ledge. It took several minutes for a manager to appear. After I showed her the purse and explained what happened, she said she would be right back. I called out for her after I waited yet another fifteen minutes. She replied once again, that she would be right back. I did not understand why this manager could not address my issue, but instead kept going around talking to other guests without addressing my issue. After all, I was the one still cleaning myself up from the accident. Finally, we asked the waitress that had wiped our seats to please get another manager. She did so and advised that he would be right with us.

After waiting another fifteen to twenty minutes, another manager, along with the original manger that I spoke with returned. After showing him my purse, he replied, “Dannngggg!!!!” speaking of my purse. He then told me that there was nothing they could do. At this time, I asked to speak to the owner. The manager replied that the owner would not come over!!! I could not believe this. One of his customers wanted to speak to him and he refused. After I had just spent over sixty dollars on a meal.

I took the business card that the manager gave me and then walked up to the owner. He told me that he didn’t have to come over to me because that is what he paid his managers to do. I explained what happen and he said, “What would you have done if you were on the metro?” I could not believe that he spoke to a paying customer in such an insulting manner. I replied to him that it is against the law to have drinks on the metro, just as he should set ground rules to NOT have drinks sitting on a ledge where they could spill on people who are having dinner. He responded that I should have requested to sit somewhere else, which was out of my control since it was a busy night and we had already been waiting 30 minutes for a table. Furthermore, I was sitting where his staff directed me to sit.

At this point, I was extremely frustrated and felt enormously disrespected. I explained to him that I would no longer be a customer of his and would make it a point to send this information to everyone that I could. He did not realize that as an owner, he should make sure that his customers are satisfied. I didn’t expect for him to say that he would buy me a new purse, but to show his concern and make an appearance to me. However, he stated that he did not have to apologize since his staff was not involved in the accident.

This is truly the worst service I have ever received from anyone. I will keep writing about this issue to anyone that will listen and will make sure that this incident is posted on any restaurant reviews that I can find. I will also send out a mass email for others to forward.
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-10-03
Posted by bill on 2006-10-02:
It's an unfortunate situation, but I don't believe the resturaunt is at fault because it was another customer who spilt the drink on you.
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2006-10-02:
This is open and shut for me... customer service is DEAD and it's sad. The managers should have offered to have your purse cleaned and/or a gift certificate. And I do happen to think the owner is responsible. If he has a kedge that glasses can fit on that are above where customers are sitting---that's dangerous. What if someone placed a bottle of wine there or a heavier drink glass and it hit someone's head?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-02:
I agree with bill. In no way is this the restaurant's fault.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-02:
I disagree... the restaurant allowed the situation to exist. A restaurant or bar is totally responsible for all alcohol served on the premises, and even if it were a coke, I think they have to take the blame for allowing drinks in a precarious spot.

I would send a registered letter demanding reimbursement for your loss. If they don't respond, file a small claims... go for triple damages, which you get for unfair business practices.
Posted by glc on 2006-10-02:
The owner certainly acted like an ass. He could have at least showed some concern for your property. I agree with KenPC, that if there is a place for drinks to be placed, and the placement of those glasses may injure a patron, then the owner would be partially liable for any accident that occured.
Posted by bill on 2006-10-02:
The resturaunt can't watch were every customer places thier drinks. How can you blame the resturaunt if I order a drink and place it somewere dangerous and 2 seconds later it spills.
The person at fault here is the girl who grabbed her coat and spilled the wine.
Posted by glc on 2006-10-02:
Bill: Of course the restaurant cannot watch every customer, but it was the restaurant that placed the ledge there, NOT the customer. There is a certain amount of limited liability placed on the owner of the restaurant.
Posted by Ponie on 2006-10-03:
Well, look at it this way. If the ledge hadn't been there, the 'intoxicated' 'young lady' would have ended up in your lap. That's the price you pay when you hang out with lushes. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-03:
Hey who is Bill? I must agree with glc,KP and rhondam718732 the owner not only should be responsible for the purse but also the intoxicated young lady who may have gone on to drive and kill someone. Sorry for your experience
Posted by bill on 2006-10-03:
It's a huge assumption that the women was driving home. She could have walked or be going home with someone who is driving and wasn't drinking.
I guess we would have to see this ledge to really determine responsibility. I don't imagine the ledge was very high because someone placed a drink and a coat on it.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-10-03:
I agree more with Bill. The person who grabbed the coat spilled the drink, which probably was hers to start with considering the proximity to the said coat. The patron spilled the drink and that is who should have been responsible for the purse damage. The drink was not put on the ledge by any of the employees nor was it knocked off by any employees.
Posted by sing2me on 2006-10-03:
I am actually am not concerned with who is at fault. I was more concerned with the way the owner disregarded my issue as if it did not happen. If he would have just said that he was sorry for any troubles, I would have been okay. But, to refuse to come over to me or to argue the fact that he did not have to do anything is my main reason for this review. Any issue that involves a customer should be addressed if the customer wants to speak about it. Just because a customer wants to talk about it does not mean they want a free meal. The just want to respected after taking their time to eat at their place of business and after spending their money.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-03:
Who is Bill?????

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.