2
Helpful
Votes

Beagle Compliment - Beagle - Best Pet for a Kid

Review by ducati900ss on 2006-10-22
My son wanted a Beagle puppy since he could talk. I never had a Beagle and always thought I knew of a better dog for the family. Finally at age 16 my wife and I surprised him with a Beagle. She was a cute little thing and I started to like her from the start. After 2 years I have found that I denied my son from having a loyal friend as a boy. She is a great dog. Will not bite even if you are ruff housing with her. When one of the other dogs playingly bites on your hand the Beagle gets all upset. She is emotional if my son is gon and get over excited when he comes home. This may cause some clean up on the floor but as she is getting older this problem of excitement peeing is getting better. She is a barker and is always on patrol. The nose on this thing is a miracle. We hide things from her 8 feet on a shelf and her and the nose will locate it in minutes. She doesn't look like much of a protector and if someone broke into my house I do not feel she would keep them out. Some people stopped by our house to sell us something tho and our Beagle was not going to let them on our property. She stood ground on the edge of our yard and barked and looked vicious, as vicious as a little Beagle could look, and the guy got back inhis car and left. I was amazed that she would risk her own well being to protect us in the house.
Highly recomend to any kid but parents must tolerate barking. Hound dog barking. Must also have attention or dog will get depressed. Loves to be loved.
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-10-24
Posted by Nohandle on 2006-10-22:
Good review. Sometimes getting a dog at the puppy stage also makes a difference. When one aquires an older dog they are many times pretty well set in their ways. Some don't like children, because they might have been mistreated in the past.

Had a Dachshund for a lot of years. That breed also couldn't protect your property, but at least one knew if something was amiss. I think a Beagle is the same, loud bark no bite, at least my dog was that way. I have a Rat Terrier now..same difference no protection but that barking alerts you.

I know your son was excited with the new dog, but it sounds as if you're more proud that he. Tell the truth..lol
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-22:
I'm not sure we address concerns or compliments of the animal kingdom here.
Posted by Nohandle on 2006-10-22:
Pirate: try to be nice, it so becomes you. ducati900ss is apparently delighted with the new dog and is sharing for those who waited so long for a pet and boasting on the merits of the Beagle breed.
Posted by bigbangerik on 2006-10-22:
my grandmother bought a beagle puppy, and the first thing it did was take a big chunk out of her leg. point is, no breed of dog is fullproof. i prefer my mut of a dog with so many dogs its impossible to say what her breed is. i think shes part coyotee
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-22:
Why not Pirate?? This is a very good review, and I appreciate a good animal owner. I think this complaint is so much better then complaints about slow drive-thru's and soggy fries. JMO~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-22:
I just can't think of a fix for animal reviews.
Posted by tander on 2006-10-22:
I have a boxer and that is a .wonderful breed, once you bring a boxer into your family, you'll always have boxers.
Posted by ducati900ss on 2006-10-23:
Say you where bitten by a Beagle? Hmmmm, since Beagles are the most unlikely dog to bite or nip you that is pretty sad.
I wrote this on the Beagle because I get tired of Doom & Gloom news. I know we need the bad news to accomplish improvement but sometimes I like a time out of something a little more fun.
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-23:
Some animal reviews do not need fixes, well as far as I can see. This one was very informative, and this owner is so pleased and happy with this dog, that he was nice enough to share it. Now as for the ones who complain about pet stores and puppy mills, well that is a whole different story. I won't even comment on those anymore, since it just gets me attacked. Again, all JMO :}
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-23:
Yes, well I'm a consumer advocate, but I don't specialize in pets.
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-23:
Pirate, why are you starting with me??? You seem very sarcastic regarding everything I am posting.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-23:
To the contrary - I'm merely posting, regarding animal reviews. I'm not even talking to you.
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-23:
You were in the Beagle post. I thought we got along. Well, whatever, I have to get back to my work. I have a cranky cat that needs fluids. They get so mean and become a ball of barbwire.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-23:
Lol, okay, good luck with that, friend.
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-23:
Just to let you know, the cat I had to give fluids to today, tried to kill me. It wouldn't be the first time. This cat is 22 years old, nothing much to it, just skin and bones. The owner just cannot part with it yet. I understand that. I just hate the day it comes in, because I seem to always be working that day. :{
Posted by Nohandle on 2006-10-23:
I feel for you Skye, sometimes we pet owners refuse to acknowledge what we are advised by our veterinarian. Perhaps that might be best on your blog.
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-24:
Your right No Handle. Sorry, I always forget about my blog. I didn't mean to upset anyone. I am not implying anything regarding that poor kitty :{
Posted by bigbangerik on 2006-10-24:
i personaly love beagles, and have had one for about 13 years. my grandma got one because of how awsome mine was. but, like i said, not all dogs are full proof. and as i also said, you could always give a mutt a shot.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.