Serramonte Ridge Apartments Complaint - Serramonte Ridge Apartments- Another Infuriation

Review by MollyDolly on 2006-10-23
DALY CITY, CALIFORNIA -- I'm here to write another Serramonte Ridge Apartments complaint, but Im not sure if this is something that would make most pelple mad. It definitely infuriated me though! Feel free to tell me if Im being unreasonable and give me any KIND suggestions you may have :)

A few days ago I received a notice on my apartment door telling me they were gonna do some fire alarm tests. I thought, okay thats fine. Its the time they did it that reallly made me mad! Last night, I went to bed at 9:30 because I have to work today and I do have problems with insomnia. Around 10:30 they did the fire alarm test for approximately an hour. Dont they realize people work early the next morning and dont want to be disturbed during their sleep by some annoying and extremely loud fire alarm?! I wasnt able to fall back a sleep and I believe it was due to that alarm disturbance. I got up, went on the computer for like half an hour, and then I tried to go to bed but I could not.
Comments:19 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-10-26
Posted by Skye on 2006-10-23:
I think what time they did it, was really an inconvience to everyone. You will have to tell management how this interupted your sleep. Coming here and posting it, only informs us. You need to tell them, and send them a copy of this post. Is this the first time they ever did such a test??? Such a weird time to do it. Gotta go, work is waiting for me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-23:
Of course we're part of the overall community - so we appreciate you telling us. Tell them we'e discussing this here.
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-23:
thank you guys for understanding. Im gonna try and talk to them about it before I go to work.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-23:
You were informed ahead of time about the tests. I agree that it was an unusual time to perform them. You also stated that you already have problems with insomnia. If you can, you might want to try earplugs for sleeping. It takes a little getting used to. The only way I can use this method is by using a watch alarm (that I was wearing), so I could still hear it.

Also, there are many reasons some people can't sleep. I would understand if the fire alarm testing was on a weekly basis, but, if it's every once in a while, it is worth it.

You couldn't go to work the next day if your apartment(with your clothes and other belongings) burned down, could you?
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2006-10-23:
C'mon people...I live in CHgo and not ONE of my many apt complexes did tests that I was aware of. Take this as a positive thing and get over the fact it was done at 10:30 pm. Ask what made them pick that time then move on.
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-23:
emt C and rhondam718792 I dont like you acting your dismissiveness. How would you like it if you had to work the next day and youre trying to go to sleep with this obnoxiously loud fire alarm for freaking 45 minutes?! I hate earplugs. I dont like things in my ears and Im not gonna wear a watch to bed. I dont wear those kind of watches either. I wear the analog watches with a second hand. emt c no I couldnt go to work if my clothes were burning but I already knew it wasnt a real fire; duh! You could understand if its weekly! That should NEVER happen when someone has to wake up early the next morning for work, school, taking care of a newborn baby, etc. rhondam718123 Daly City/San Francisco are not the same as Chicago. No way in h*** am I gonna get over the fact that it was done at 10:30. It shouldve been at like noon or 3pm or something reasonable. Its very inconsiderate to do it that late in the evening. I shouldnt even be put in a situation where I should have to ask them why they picked that time; they should already know thats an inappropriate time to do it!
Posted by bigbangerik on 2006-10-24:
mollydolly, it just seems that everything seems to happen to you! simple solution, complain to someone who cares. give your management a hollar! i dont see why there testing the fire alarms anyways, only real new buildings have interconnected fire alarm systems here in cincy. oh well, i guess its just another misserable day for molly dolly.
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-24:
Would you shut up? This is very informative also
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-24:
Yeah a lot of my reviews are complaining but a lot of other reviews are also very positive
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-24:
MollyDolly, do you always have problems taking innocent and possibly helpful suggestions? People who are 'dismissive' don't offer suggestions to you.
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-24:
No but I do appreciate you giving me feedback unlike some jerks on this site
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-24:
Thank you MollyDolly, reviews are always appreciated.
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-25:
No not for me. In fact, most of the time certain people dont like my reviews.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-10-25:
Molly...it does seem a bit late at night for them to do the test. They should have given an exact time in their notice if they knew it was going to be that late. At first thought the only reasonable explanation I can think of for them to do it at this time would be that they would want to do it when most people are at home...in case there really was a fire and people claimed they didn't know what to do...but then I read the review over again and realized it is just a test to make sure the alarms worked and was not an "evacuation" test where they would want everyone to leave the building as in a fire drill....therefore, I see no reason for them to wait until that time of the night...just checking the alarms could have been done during the day while most people are up or at work.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-10-25:
I can't say that I'd agree with wearing earplugs to bed...what if there was a real emergency and someone was trying to alert you by knocking at your door and you couldn't hear them? If someone broke into my place, I'd want to hear them before they get to me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-10-25:
DB, that's when you make sure you never sleep alone ;)!
Posted by bigbangerik on 2006-10-26:
maybe this wasnt the test at all, someone set off the alarm on accident and they decided to just play it off as test.
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-26:
I was thinking about that. Yesterday they fixed the problem so Im happy about that :)
Posted by MollyDolly on 2006-10-26:
I was thinking. If someone did put the alarm, dont you think they wouldve called the fire department to turn it off instead of having it go off for fourty five minutes?!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.