Fehr Foods Informative - Health issue-Fehr foods

Review by madmomma on 2006-11-29
ABILENE, TEXAS -- I worked for a company called Fehr Foods. It is locally owned and opperated but dirtributed their products to lots of store, mostly Dollar stores. DO NOT eat their cookies. The little plastic containers that hold the cookies have probably been on the floor. While I worked there on the assembly line (putting the cookies in the plastic holders)several times the holders fall on the floor. when I tried to throw them in the trash, I was told I could not and that I had to use them anyway because they weren't damaged. No, but as far as I was concerned they were CONTAMINATED!!! Who knows what is on the workers shoes. The cookie factory is also very hot and the employees do not I repeat DO NOT wear gloves while handling these cookies. (Ginger snaps are ok noone handles them)TO me this is just gross. Who knows if someone wiped the sweat off of their brow, or picked their nose or butt and then kept packing cookies.Should I call me local heath inspector??
Comments:27 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-12-01
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
Just took their virtual field trip. I saw hairnets but no gloves! Obviously they are abiding by state health code standards or they wouldn't be so open with their business. The cookies were good enough for your Governor to see and eat. Why did they fire you by the way?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
I fail to see the humor in trivializing a new user's complaint.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
I didn't and stop trolling on every thread that I post on, Truman!
Posted by spiderman2 on 2006-11-29:
I don't think he is trivializing this at all. ZZorkk brings up some valid points. Also, did you read this poster's McDonald's post? A little odd IMHO
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
Thank you, Spider.
Posted by spiderman2 on 2006-11-29:
You are very welcome.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
Well, usually Zz posts, "why don't you cook at home" or "when did you get fired" or other such trite remarks to ruin the integrity of the thread. Thought you'd have realized that by now spidey.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
Your nose is growing again, Mr. pirate. At times I may use those phrases when it pertains to that person. Anyway you are the only one whining about my comments. Again this is M3C not PWP3C. Thank g*d!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
Seems like I was spot-on with my commentary. BTW, who has the trust of more site members? Lol! Not you!
Posted by madmomma on 2006-11-29:
I worked there when the govenor came and I am sure he didn't know. I think all food handler should wear gloves. Also it is very easy to pass an inspection when you know they are coming. And for the nosy guy, I actually did get fired for being "under the influence of non prescribe medication" after I was taken to the hospital BY THE MANAGER because I took my husbands Geodon instead of my cortisone for my slipped disc and it made me sick. I was not suspended or told I couldn't come back to work. I just thought people would want to know.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
Thanks mad, sorry about your troubles, and thanks for blowing the whistle. BTW, we're all sick of the "nosey guy," Zzrock. Email the admin about his behavior - admin@my3cents.com
Posted by madmomma on 2006-11-29:
thanks, I had someone call me a bad parent on my mcdonalds post. That is harsh.
Posted by spiderman2 on 2006-11-29:
that gets old PWP......zzork is calling it like he sees it and I bet this OP didn't quit because of the deplorable conditions.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-29:
what is old? I too, call them like I see them.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-11-29:
You begging for people to trust you while constantly battling with other members here. That's what he's telling you is old pirate, -you!
Posted by spiderman2 on 2006-11-30:
Bingo -- you win Slim!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-30:
MomWithTheTude, welcome to M3C and just so you know I will be strolling down to the corner dollar store to purchase some of those yummy cookies by Fehr Foods and plan on encouraging my "govenor" to try some as well. Thanks for the tip. : )
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-30:
My opinion on gloves is that they are no better than your hands if you use the gloves on contaminated objects and don't change to a new pair. Watch your Subway sandwich maker next time and see what all they touch in-between making sandwiches.
Posted by madmomma on 2006-11-30:
Actually, I always make them put on new gloves before making my sandwiches at Subway. I don't eat out very often, it is actually rare. I KNOW what goes on in restaraunts behind the scenes. I have worked in many. And I snitch on them all. And as for zzrokk, I dont post information for people to trivialize and be sarcastic. There is nothing wrong with calling how you see it, because I am known as the biggest "B" in my town because I am too blunt, upfront and honest with my opinions, but there is such thing as tact. I would be kicked off if I posted my actual opinions in here. so you have fun eating those cookies dude.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-30:
Trolling behind me trying to start trouble slim? Don't worry, addy's getting an earful about your behavior.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-30:
Slim, ol' pirate is back to his old self, huh? MadMom, everyone that worked in a restaurant has horror stories but we all still dine out don't we? I tend to dine at a tad more upscale joints besides SUBWAY. I am not trivializing your gripe nor being sarcastic. I am giving my very trustworty opinion unlike some that stick their nose in everyone's "bizness". You sound like a chronic whistleblower/lawsuit happy fry cook. Good luck in the future.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-11-30:
I agree with the poster on this one...anyone handling foods should wear hairnets AND gloves. Hopefully, they don't blow their nose or scratch anything with the gloves on...you never know...as for Subway, The subways I go to doesn't handle anything other than the food when wearing the gloves...MadMomma, pay no mind to the others, they just battle between themselves but they are harmless.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-11-30:
DB, she called me "nosy guy first!" :(....
Posted by ~o/~ on 2006-11-30:
Hmmm..."Law Suit Happy Cook"...would that be a neurotic gester?
Posted by madmomma on 2006-11-30:
There you go being insulting again zzrokk. I was NEVER a fry cook. Eww. and I have never filed a lawsuit, lord know I could have. There is also NOTHING wrong with whistle blowing when it is legitimate. And you were nosy, saying I got fired. So, get your facts straight or get the heck off my thread. You sound like the jerk in a chat room that everyone eventually boots from the room. If you have nothing benificial to say and keeping being rude I guess you'll find out how much of a whistle blower I really am. You should start a thread where you can just argue all day. Call it zzrokk's rebuttles of the world.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-01:
Are you threatening me? I wasn't being nosy but the way that you composed your complaint even Ray Charles could see that you got "canned". As I stated before, welcome and good luck in the future in whatever job you choose.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-01:
ZZROKK'S REBUTTLES of the WORLD - Heh Heh Heh Heh LOL ROTF

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.