[X]
Feedburner count

9
Helpful
Votes

Weeping Willow Garage Complaint - My unfortunate experience with Weeping Willow Garage

Review by Washingtonian on 2006-12-04
WASHINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- I just read an "informative" review of Weeping Willow Garage here on my3cents.com, and I'd just like to let everyone know that this repair shop has developed a very bad reputation in Warren County, NJ as a place that employs incompetent and dishonest mechanics.

About 2 years ago, before I knew any better, I brought my car into Chuck at Weeping Willow Garage in order to have my front brake rotors resurfaced and to have the engine oil changed. I brought my car in at 8:00 AM on a Monday morning, and I was told that my car would be ready at the end of the day. I left my cell phone number and told Chuck to call me if there were going to be any delays which would prevent my car from being ready as promised.

I showed up at the garage at 5:00 PM, and after waiting around for almost an hour, I noticed that they were closing up the shop. I asked what was going on, and they said that my car wasn't ready because they had a "hard time" finding new brake rotors for my car (How hard could it be to find brake rotors for a four year old Toyota Camry?). I became upset as, first of all, nobody called me up to tell me of this delay, and secondly, I only wanted my brake rotors resurfaced not replaced. I was told that there was nothing that could be done, as they had to wait for the brake rotors to come in.

I asked one of the mechanics to drop me off at home, and he said that he couldn't, as he was traveling in the opposite direction of my home. Instead, I called a neighbor, and he picked me up.

The next day I called Chuck and asked him what had happened. He said that he left the shop early as he had to go pick up his son from school. He reiterated what his mechanics told me the day before, and promised me that the car would be ready that afternoon. Again, I asked for the courtesy of a phone call if there were going to be any delays.

I showed up at the garage at 5:00 PM, and again I was kept waiting around. I saw Chuck, and I asked him if my car was going to be ready, and he said yes. At around 6:00 PM, Chuck told me that my car was ready, and wrote up the receipt.

I noticed that I was being charged for a complete brake job when I only asked for new brake pads and a resurfacing of my front brake rotors. I was not charged for an oil change, as I found out that it was never done. I asked Chuck about this, and he simply said, "You needed new brakes" (It would have been nice if he had asked me first before doing the work). I paid for the repairs and left, feeling like I had been taken advantage of.

On the way home, I noticed that my brakes were grinding. At first I thought that this was normal, but when the grinding persisted, I brought the car back to the garage the next day. Chuck at first told me that this grinding was normal, but when I insisted that he take a look at it, he told me to leave the car, and he would take a look at it later in the day.

I called him up at closing, and it said that he had been very busy that day, and he wasn't able to get around to my car. He promised me that the car would be ready the next day, and I told him that I would be in to pick up the car in the afternoon whether it was ready or not.

As promised, I came in at 5:00PM the next day to pick up my car. Chuck said that he had checked out the brakes, and that nothing was wrong with them. I picked up the keys and took the car, and on the way home, I noticed that the brakes were making the exact same noise as they had been making before!

This time, I brought my car into another mechanic down the road (Tony's Auto Service), and after examining my car, they said that the wrong size rotors had been installed! They asked me who had done my brakes, and when I told them that Chuck at Weeping Willow Garage had done my brakes, they rolled their eyes.

They told me that Chuck and the other mechanics at Weeping Willow are incompetent, and a lot of people have had problems with them. Tony's Auto Service agreed to fix my brakes at cost, and suggested that I try to get my money back from Chuck. Since I didn't want to bother with Chuck again, I just wrote off the money I had wasted having my brakes done at Weeping Willow Garage.

I never brought my car back to Weeping Willow Garage, and since I started bringing my car to Tony's Auto Service, I have never had a problem!

ATTENTION ALL RESDENTS OF WASHINGTON AND WARREN COUNTY: AVOID WEEPING WILLOW GARAGE UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET RIPPED OFF AND LIED TO!
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-02-07
Posted by *Brenda* on 2006-12-04:
Geez, you should have tried to get your money back! That sounded like a nightmare.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-12-04:
Wow...I did read the other complaint that was on here before...I do hope you at least told Chuck what the problem was, otherwise they will never learn, people need to know their mistakes...I don't see a business like that lasting very long. Once the customers start going to other repair shops, they will be forced out of business. I'm glad you did find someone who you feel comfortable taking your car to.
Posted by Slimjim on 2006-12-04:
Sounds like Chuck can turn a wrench (barely) but can't run a business.
Posted by Washingtonian on 2006-12-05:
DebtorBasher: After my brakes were fixed by Tony's Auto Service, I made a phone call to Chuck in order to tell him that he screwed up my brakes and that I had to go to another repair shop to fix his error. He told me that Tony didn't know what he was talking about, and he claimed that he had used the right size brake rotors. The brake rotors that Chuck used on my car were made for a 2000 Toyota Solara, not a 2000 Toyota Camry. These rotors were slightly oversized, and they rubbed against the brake calipers. I kept the wrong size brake rotors that Chuck installed, and I still have them in my garage! I believe that finally (after much heartache) people are waking up and discovering that Weeping Willow Garage does inferior work and their mechanics are a bunch of meatballs!!!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-12-06:
It's one thing not knowing you made a mistake, but to still deny it after proof is another story...
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-08:
I'm starting to hate that Chuck fellow. Lemme at him!
Posted by Bababooey on 2006-12-09:
Yeah, I feel the same way, Sheriff. First there was the complaint about Chuck lying to that guy and keeping his car for 7 months, and now this complaint about how deceitful and incompetent Chuck is! The people in that New Jersey town must either be gullible, ignorant, or just plain brain-dead to keep a schmuck like Chuck in business! Chuck sounds like Goober and Washington, NJ sounds like Mayberry, NC! Who's the Police Chief there... Andy Taylor? LOL!
Posted by Drop Dead Red on 2008-08-10:
In response to the complaint by the individual who had a "bad experience" at Weeping Willow Garage, you seem to be an extremely "whiney" person who has nothing better to do than bad mouth anything that doesn't go exactly as you planned. Sorry buddy, but almost nothing in life ever goes as planned and it is about time you took a reality check. I was lucky enough to have Weeping Willow Garage recommended to me by many people whom I know and trust. My car continues to run great because of the knowledgeable mechanics who work their butts off to ensure quality service, along with honest, personable professionalism. I shall continue to keep my car and myself happy by referring people to the most reliable automobile mechanics located at Weeping Willow. Oh, and by the way, my car is 12 yrs. old and thanks to those great guys, it runs like it is brand new. My advice to you is - junk the toyota and your "whiney" attitude.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-10:
Hmmmmm, seems we have a difference of opinion, I'm not sure who to side with.
Posted by DellCanGoToHell on 2008-12-12:
I have it on good counsel that "Drop Dead Red", who joined My3cents on 8/10/08 and has made only one comment, is actually Chuck M., who is the owner of Weeping Willow Garage and the subject of the OP's complaint!
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-12-12:
That's very possible.
Posted by Weeping Willow on 2009-01-21:
This con-artist dumped his camaro on our property because he needed a place to store it for a while as it was not even worthy of attempted repair. He abandoned the vehicle. He has multiple addresses in states of NY, FL, NJ and others according to police officials.
[snip - no personal info please]
He has made a career out of harassing various companies on line under many different names and profiles. All negative posts are this SAME mentally challenged multiple personalitied man.
We have been in business many years and hope this one sick person gets the treatment he needs and his posts get only the attention they deserve.
He has also brought a colleague, Tony's Auto Repair, into his comments. Tony's has verified this guy is a fraud as well and continues to send us customers.
LETS STICK TO THE FACTS PLEASE. THANK YOU TO ALL OUR HONEST CUSTOMERS!!!
Posted by MRM on 2009-01-21:
At least this guy used to live in NJ, so theres a little bit of truth here. Joseph, you better run buddy!
Posted by CaptainSpaulding on 2009-02-07:
Chuck, you are full of it, and you know it! I brought my car to you IN GOOD FAITH and you made no attempt to repair it as you promised to. If you couldn't repair my car, you should have called me up (or at least returned my calls) within the first week or two and told me to take my car back!

The way I see it, I only made 2 mistakes in dealing with you. Mistake #1 was to trust the recommendation of a mutual acquaintence who told me that you were a speacialist in the repair of Camaros. Mistake #2 was that I didn't take back my car after you lied to me about the Hurst shifter not fitting in the console. You were just too lazy to install the shifter for me as you promised, and I should have realized right then and there that you were jerking my chain!

Tell me, how am I a "con man"? What did I do to con you? You are the one who lied to me and damaged my car! You cost me money while I never cost you a dime! It is YOU who is the con man!

By the information contained in your post, I see that, for some strange reason, you had your relative in the Washington Township Police Department conduct an illegal investigation of me. The information which you posted about my residences is misleading! For your information, I lived in New York back in April 2006 when I brought my car to you but I moved to Florida in the beginning of 2007. My father (who has the same name as me) lived in New Jersey.

You have slandered me by calling me "mentally unstable". Am I "mentally unstable" because I was upset that you lied to me and ruined my car after I brought it to you for repairs? By the way, I never "abandoned" my car at your garage. The reason why I never picked it up was because you damaged it and it would not start! I wanted you to repair the damage you caused to my car before I would go get it. If I abandoned my car at your garage as you claim, then why did I send those guys from East Harlem to pick it up?

WHY DON'T YOU JUST ADMIT THE FACT THAT YOU ARE A LIAR AND AN INCOMPETENT MECHANIC INSTEAD OF SLANDERING AND INSULTING ME?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.