Ipromote.com Complaint - Ripped Off - Online Music Promotion

Review by p_oh_d on 2006-12-20
SAN LUIS OBISPO, CALIFORNIA -- I joined ipromote.com, via an email I received. This site looked very promising and the Home Page shows a sample promotion showing a player where one would think you click 'play' to hear the Artist's promoted music. So, I filled out a registration, then tried to fill out the promotion page, there are no help files, NONE! stumbling thru the process and not finding where to upload my music anywhere in the process, I lost my promotion page while looking for help files, which there is NONE. When I finally got back to thepromotion building page,(had to sign in again)what I thought was my 'half built' promotion page was there in a list under "MY Promotions" page, but I could not reopen it to find how to upload my music, until I paid $20.00, I did so via paypal and still could not open my promotion to upload my song. Frustrated, I closed the page.
The next day, my money was gone! apparently I had
Clicked on something called Maximum Delivery! I had no idea what this meant, again, NO help files, no FAQ's page nothing! This Maximum Delivery apparently meant that my money would be spent very quickly on people cliking on my promotion page and going to my website, which, as I found out later is where the listener hears my music! But my site has no music on it! Again I didnt know this because of NO HELP FILES on ipromote.com website! Apparently, MY promotion received 41,584 ad views, and 203 clicks – 203 people were delivered to my music site,(Where there is no working music player) but NO WHERE was this explained to me during the promotion building process. Was my $20.00 well spent?? I think NOT but, YOU tell me.
After several complaint emails to the ipromote people with No satisfaction & no returned money & not understanding their website and how to navigate it because of NO HELP FILES, I am severely pi$$ed Thank goodness it was only $20 and not $200!!! I just wanted to inform other musicians, that unless there are help files on a website, be careful what you fill out or steer clear of this type of site and stay the heck away from www.ipromote.com(Division of 2KDirect, LLC)

Thanx for listening
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2006-12-20
Posted by S on 2006-12-20:
I checked out their "how it works" section. I must admit it does seem to mislead you into thinking their ads they run for you would be playing your music, or allow the visitor to click and play your music. The ad template even shows it playing a song apparently "real time". I would have been confused as well.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2006-12-20:
1st clue: ... via an email I received.
Posted by S on 2006-12-20:
Very true tnchuck! Unless the email was from a friend referring the service... I'd chaulk it up as spam!
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2006-12-20:
2nd clue: Terms and Conditions is 13 pages long when cut and paste into MS WORD.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2006-12-20:
3rd clue: No physical address on the website. Only a P.O. Box.
Posted by shawnp80 on 2006-12-20:
I bought some shares via an e-mail I received and it didnt go up. I bought some Viagra via an e-mail I received and it did go UP. A word to the wise, delete your spam. Dont buy into any of that crap. By the way I didnt buy anything.
Posted by N. on 2006-12-20:
Not sure if it will help or not but you used PayPal. Maybe they can get your money back? But I agree - if it came to you in an email just delete it.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.