Pro-Lab Complaint - Charged my account $4500 instead of $45

Review by stkswinner on 2006-12-28
WESTON`, FLORIDA -- This poorly run company debited my account $4500 instead of the correct charge of $45 on Friday December 22. They did not have the common sense to contact me that I might have a money problem going into the Christmas weekend. I went shopping on Saturday and my card was declined and checked my account online and saw the error. I called and got voice mail but they did call back later and told me they had already caught it and had it reversed. I tried to dispute the charge with my bank but as it was still a pending transaction they said there was nothing they could do. No money for gifts or food or gas. They totaly destroyed my Christmas and my work as it took 6 days before the money returned and wouldn't return my emails or voice mails. Error prone and poor customer service would make me leary of their services and I definitely won't be a return customer.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-01-02
Posted by bho55 on 2006-12-28:
Send them a bill for your christmas gifts and time, see what happens!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-28:
Debit cards should be declared illegal. You wouldn't have had that crisis with a credit card.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-28:
I love debit cards - heck I'd be lost without one. This review is scary... That would absolutely suck. I have two checking accounts and debit cards in order to avoid ATM fees but I guess it maybe a good idea anymore as protection against errant authorizations. If we as consumers made this blunder with a business no doubt we would be popped with some silly fee.. too bad it doesn't seem to work in reverse. Stkswinner – Thanks for taking the time to post your review…very good!
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-28:
Thanks for posting your review…very good! I agree with SloMo and I think you should get rid of that debit card!

Posted by Slimjim on 2006-12-28:
Obviously an individual inputting the data made a decimal error which can happen to anyone, and I don't see how that specifically reflects the company as a whole. They have to wait to assure the charge cleared before they can issue a credit, especially with a sum that high. I know you were inconvenienced and I don't want to sound negative, but if you had $4500 in your account, which you had to have or it just would have been returned NSF with no money withdrawn, didn't you have ANY extra for gifts, food etc. or any credit cards that had room on them? I would be focused if you wrote checks against that withdrawn money and they bounced, causing embarrassment and returned item charges, that's where my beef would be.
Posted by Bababooey on 2006-12-28:

I recently switched banks, and when my new bank tried to get me to sign up for an debit card, I said "Thanks, but no thanks". I told them to issue me an ATM only card instead.

I use credit cards (or cash) when making purchases. This way, I won't have to worry about mysterious amounts of money being withdrawn from my checking account because of a fradulent debit card purchase.

Don't believe the lies of the banking industry about debit cards and how "safe" they are. Look at what happened to "stkswinner"! As "SloMo" said, if he had used a credit card instead of a debit card, this problem wouldn't have happened. Before approving the $4500 charge, they most likely would have contacted him first for authorization.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2006-12-28:
I have an emergency credit card just in case something like this happens. I never use it but if I need it, it's there.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-28:
I think Slim got it right. It was just an error. I am sure we have all done as bad, or worse. The poster noted that they had already reversed it when he called, so it doesn't look like they acted in bad faith. I might be reluctant to deal with them again, but they shouldn't be getting slammed here.
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-01-02:
People...yes it was a mistake but sheeshhhh $4,500 instead of $45! That's a big dumb kind of mistake/error for someone to make. Human error yes but BIG one at that.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.