[X]

7
Helpful
Votes

R.J. Reynolds Compliment - If you won't (or Can't) Quit

Review by Slimjim on 2007-01-03
As someone who quit smoking after 20 years, I'm not writing this to promote the habit, but to make smokers aware of an alternative cigarette available most people don't know about. Eclipse cigarettes made by RJ Reynolds look and smoke like any common brand. The unique exception is they don't burn the tobacco, they just heat it. There is a rod that glows red running throughout the cig that keeps the tobacco smoking.

The biggest advantage is since you're not directly burning the cigarette, it is far less a health hazard ( HOWEVER, NO CIGARETTE IS HEALTHY!!). It also never ashes, so not only is it cleaner, it doesn't make you smell like smoke either. Their only drawback is they are a tad hard to light in the wind and may take a couple to get use to since they take slightly more draw.

Considering the pluses: less health risk, no ash mess, no smoke smell all over you, and since no burning embers, less of any fire hazard. When they first cam out a couple years ago, I could find them locally. I don't believe enough people were aware of them and some stores didn't sell enough to keep ordering them.
If you are not ready to quit YET, see if you can find them and try a pack. They are about the same price as any label brand not on sale. If not, you can get a number to order them and more info at http://www.eclipse.rjrt.com.

I did finally quit, and if you're ready too, go to bravosmokes.com and get that system. I'll write about them later. If not, Eclipses are a great step down in tobacco hazards till you are. I smoked them for two years and ever missed my original brand, Newports, which happen to be one of the worse cigarettes for you.

I know more people would switch if they just knew about them, and in my opinion, is the next best thing to quitting.
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-05-20
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-01-03:
Only one problem Slim, they are like smoking a turd. Sorry folks, gotta be honest here. I found them hard to light, hard to keep going and with a strange off-flavor to them. Slim is right, they are better for you that the real thing, but I tried a few packs and just couldn't get them to work for me.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-01-03:
I guess that's it Hugh, Maybe not everyone adapts. I honestly took to them very easily and ended up preferring them to my old brand. I think smokers should definitely try them and to determined if a switch is possible.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-03:
slimjim, my quit date is this Friday. Thanks for the review, but, I think I'll go with the lozenges, lots of sunflower seeds, new knitting projects, etc, etc.

I never heard of this product! If I have problems succeeding, I'll give it a look!
Posted by spiderman2 on 2007-01-03:
Good luck to you emt c!~
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-03:
Slim I already quit but I wish I would have known about them back in the day. I started smoking Dunhill back then (very expensive) and at first they were like Hugh described. What I found out though was the cigarettes from England did not have anything in them but Tobacco. The American cigarettes have on average 600 different chemicals in them, some of which is used in the reactors I build. The thing is when you first start using this product you are talking about or the Dunhill (or almost any overseas brand) you will notice how bad it smells. It is because you censes are coming back to life. And I agree if you give it a chance it will help.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-03:
echo the good luck emt_c! Like I said before you are way, way too cool to be a smoker.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-01-03:
Makes me want to take up smoking! Good advice, Slim...that's why everyone loves Slim!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-03:
Good review Slim. Some people have to quit cold turkey. Others need products like this to ween themselves off cigs. I told my cousin about the Bravo cigs on Christmas. He's very interested.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-01-03:
Thanks guys. Sheriff, I'm going to make mention of them soon. New Years put me in all the most desirable smoking situations and I still didn't have a problem getting through it. After that test plus almost two months of smoking abstinence, I feel I can declare myself officially "quit". Believe me, I tried many times before and never got this far.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-03:
Makes me glad smoking was something I was too smart to start. However, this alternative seems like a gimmick. I've heard there's no alternative to willpower. Try lettuce cigs if you can find them.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-01-03:
LOL, gimmick? It's a cigarette pirate. Smoke yes, but no mirrors or tricks up its sleeve.
Posted by SilverWngs71 on 2007-01-03:
My quit date is this month. Maytag/Whirlpool offers those who want to quit a program that will pay for the patches, gum or pills to help you quit and also gives you a coach to help you through the process. Signed up yesterday. Plan to start once the patches (gonna give them another try..was allergic to glue last time) show up. What is also nice is they pay for the spouse as well.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-03:
congrats slim! that's really great!
Posted by tander on 2007-01-04:
This is just my opinion, if you are going to quit smoking, then quit, smoking the one that Slim mentioned, is not quitting smoking, but like he said if your not ready it's a good alternative, but it's better to just quit and not smoke anything. I chewed alot of gum, and did alot of walking, and listened to relaxation tapes, which I still listen too, to help me with other troubles I might have.
Posted by Shakra on 2007-01-04:
A g/f of mine says that she didn't quit smoking, but took a break from it...17 years ago. She said that way she didn't feel any pressure about abstaining. Maybe that will help those that quit. It's all about the psychological aspect of smoking that really gets to people.

What helped me, also was that the writing is on the wall re: smoking just about anywhere. Now they're trying to get a law passed where you cannot smoke in homes with foster children or in any car with children.

Good luck!
Posted by SilverWngs71 on 2007-01-05:
Should I put the Tiramisu some place. I could eat the whole chocolate and coffee liqueur soaked thing if I have to lol but I have to lose a good portion of weight at the same time I quit smoking.
Posted by Starlord on 2009-05-20:
The name Eclipse does not sound familiar, but many years ago, RJ Reynolds brought out a similar cigarette substitute, and I bought a pack. One pack. You had to use a butane lighter, as a Zippo-type lighter would not light the darn things, and they smelled like burning insulation, and the taste was indescribable, but suffice it to say it was worse than it smelled. Reynolds pulled it off the market very quickly, and in fact, it may never have gotten past the test market stage in Arizona. I wish those of you who are trying to quit the best of luck. I knnow how many times I tried to quit, and finally, on November 14, 2006, I quit for good, using hypnosis. I have not wanted a cigarette since then, and with smokes selling for $7 a pack here in Washington, I am doubly glad I quit.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.