[X]
Feedburner count

Red Hoagland Pontiac GMC Complaint - Appalling

Review by cosmic2 on 2007-01-10
BRADENTON, FLORIDA -- I have a complaint concerning Red Hoagland Pontiac, 5325 14th St. W., Bradenton, Florida 34207

I purchased a used car from Red Hoagland on Nov 25, 2006. On Jan 8'th 2007, as I was sitting in my car I noticed a small amount of black tape applied to the glass in the MPH/odometer area. Upon peeling off the tape, I was appalled to find that beneath the black tape was the "service engine" light which was LIT. I then took my car into Red Hoagland and confronted a sales manager with my finding who then explained to me that "sometimes when people trade in a car, they put tape over service lights in order to get a better deal on a trade in." The manager also insulted my integrity when I first talked to him about this problem by responding with comments about my honestly and the validity of my claim. If I am to believe his story about "people trading in cars with tape over sensor lights," that would mean this car passed their "full inspection" with tape still intact over the engine light, and was then sold to me. I find it unbelievable that a dealer who admittedly knows that these tactics exist, would not look for tape over service lights BEFORE they buy a trade-in and BEFORE they resell it. It was clear to me that either they were dishonest about the condition of the vehicle when I purchased it and literally covered up the truth, or their full inspection was not a full inspection. They offered to service the car at 50% of cost, yet they were 100% at fault. I declined, I do not trust them to service my car in an honest manner.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-08-13
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-10:
You can report them to the state high way patrol because with the light on they could have NOT passed the full inspection because when you hook it up to the machine it will fail with this light on. Good luck
Posted by Mad Eye Moody on 2007-01-10:
You have a good point - I'd be mad, too. The dealer makes a not-unbelievable claim, though, in that sometimes people probably do that to get a better deal on their trade-in. However, you make an even more valid point regarding the questionable nature of the integrity of their 'extensive' inspection of used vehicles before offering them for sale on their lot. Unless you can find more of their customers with the same problem, you have to kind of chalk it up to an honest mistake. However, were I he...I'd offer to fix your car for free in the spirit of good customer service.
Posted by bho55 on 2007-01-10:
Contact the BBB.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-01-10:
The dealer should at least be willing to hook the car up to their diagnostic computer and see what's wrong - the check engine lite could be something a simple as a bad gas cap.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-10:
Not enough info here. Some vehicles have BOTH a check engine light and a service engine light both having completely different meanings. Depending on the make, model, and year the service engine light may mean as little as it is time for an oil change which after 2 months of ownership would sound about right. Good luck
Posted by Ponie on 2007-01-10:
Right, Hugh. My check engine light came on intermittently for a short period of time. A mechanic buddy of mine checked a few things--couldn't find anything wrong. However he said he noted my gas cap was not securely tightened. I told him I don't really tighten it completely because I find it awkward to remove when gassing up. He said to try doing it *right* for a while to see what happens. Result? No more check engine light coming on.
Posted by cosmic2 on 2007-01-10:
Thank you for all of your feedback. They did hook up the car to a diagnostic machine,and found that one of the oxygen sensors are out. Until this is fixed the light will remain permanently on. This make of car only has one light regarding servicing the engine. My cost at 50% would be $150.00 to fix this. My point, this should have been fixed by the seller before I bought it, however, it seems to me they did not want to invest the money or time in this car to make it suitable for selling. Had they advised me to the fact that the oxygen sensor would need replacing and had not sold the car with tape over the light, I would have probably bought the car and had it replaced. No problem. However, I find it disturbing that this car was not inspected fully and sold "as-is" without full disclosure that the sensor would need replacing. They claim that they had done a "Full Inspection" and reassured us upon buying it that there was absolutely nothing wrong with this car. Apparently, that wasn't the case.
Posted by BigFrank on 2007-01-11:
Seems like they're at it again at that dealership. I too had a bad time with the same dealer and would never do business with again!

They seem to delight in treating their clients very badly and their management clearly doesn't care once they've sold you a car

You experience sounds shocking that a dealer would treat any customer that way and covering up a warning indicator is highly dangerous and totally irresponsible

Go elsewhere to buy another vehicle - there is plenty of other delears to choose from

The most unprofessional and uncaring company I have ever had the displeasure to deal with in my entire life

Posted by BarbOhio on 2007-08-13:
Posted by BarbOhio on 2007-08-13:
I vacation in Bradenton and have purchased 2 vehicles from them and never had a problem. Both times I purchased from the wholesale lot where inspections are made by the customers as the cars are sold as is. I got one car 99 Grand Am with a blown engine for $800. It needed a battery and a good cleaning ;)
The other I got for 1500 since the a/c didnt work 99 Lumina, it need MAJOR cleaning, 2 tires, and I spent about $300 on getting the a/c operating and feel I stole this one as well.
Did you purchase from the wholesale lot? My salesman (think it was Craig) told me the wholesale lot sells itself and let me take the car to a mechanic and I thought I got a fantastic deal.
Barb in Ohio

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.