2
Helpful
Votes

Discount Stores Informative - Customer Service

Review by truckin21 on 2007-01-27
I have read alot of reviews lately, and I understand that when things don't go the way we want them to, or think they should, we want to blame some one. If we buy a product from a store and that product does not meet our expectations then we blame the store. We blame them for selling an inferiour product. Well, depending upon the product we can do that. But, if that product is not made by the store, why blame the store?? The manufacturers name is on the product, BLAME the manufacturer, because, really, he is the only person that can correct it. A stores customer service center is where you would go if you had an ISSUE with the STORE. And, the way you are treated depends wholly on the way YOU ACT/TALK. If you have an issue with a product that you bought YOU MUST HAVE THE RECEIPT!!!! You come to my store, you have an item that is obviously new, and obviuosly broken, and you want your money back. This is a $400.00 item. You have no receipt. How do I know you bought it in my store?? Why should I pay for something from some one elses' store, even if it is the same brand that I sell?? You show me a receipt for that item, purchased in my store, and able to be returnable, I will gladly refund or money, or replace the item. Some stores have well marked notices about returnable items, and some are even stated on the receipts. If you are buying an expensive item (Computer, TV, Furniture, etc.) IT IS THE CUSTOMERS RESPONSIBLITY TO ENQUIRE ABOUT A RETURN POLICY. Most, but not all clerks will mention it, but if it is a new clerk, they may not know about it.
There are people that actually MAKE A DARN GOOD LIVING returning "stolen" items to stores. They find a store that is lax in their return policy, or a clerk that is "EASY". They go into the store, pick an item off the shelf, (Usually boxed,) put it in a cart, walk around the store for awhile (usually to find the "Easy" clerk) "turn the item in, get the refund slip, then split the money with the clerk. Elaborate??? Yes. Illegal? Deffinetly!!! Costly?
You Bet!! And you don't know why stores like Kmart, Wal-Mart, ALCO, Family Dollar, etc. are really no longer "discount" stores??? I have a SUPER Wal-Mart in my area. I buy my groceries from Safeway. Why? Because it is cheaper!! Why? Because the system they have, and the way they have the store set up, it is practically impossible to shoplift from this store. Not only that, the store manager personally handles all and any complaint/return. Example: I purchased $80.00 worth of groceries one day. Drove home (10 miles). Started checking off my list and found a $3.00 over-charge. It was late, and I didn't want to go back into town. The next time I went into town I took the receipt. I showed the manager (Not the Clerk) the receipt. I explained that the COMPUTER made the mistake, because when the clerk "swiped" the bar code the computer read it twice. He looked at the receipt, saw the "double charge" then counted the items on the receipt. Saw that the number of items priced was one less than the total cost, therefore he refunded my $3.00. He never questioned the fact that I had been home for 2 days, because I never gave him reason to. If I had of "stormed into the store" ranting & raving "You guys cheated me!!!" he would have looked at the date, saw it was 2 days previous, and accused me of trying to cheat the store. ATTITUDE is everything when you are trying to correct a wrong.
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-01-28
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-01-27:
I agree...and in fact tried several times to explain the difference between a product complaint and a store complaint...but...some people still don't get it...Good review...I look forward to more reviews from you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Part 1.
The store should be held accountable for what they sell. Why? Because they should check out the product before they sell it to the public. They should also be responsible enough to take care of the product, send it back to the manufacturers and not cost the customer a dime extra. But it is reviews like these that make a person think “it’s my fault”. What a lack of insight into customer service! It is that simple if you are going to sell “what ever” and make a profit then you are also responsible for that product!

This kind of thinking has always made me wonder how we as a people ever get anywhere. Why don’t we just give all our money to the stores and ask them to give us all there junk?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Part 2.
I don’t know what world you live in but I live in reality and the reality is customer service is a fleeting thing in today’s world. The way people are treated according to the way you assume is if you bend over far enough maybe you will get some. The reality is that is NOT true. I go to a store and I buy something in good faith and I accept it to be good. When it is not I have to drive back to the store, spending my time, my gas and I am the one put out here, not the employee at the service center. That person works there not me that person is there for me not the other way around. If my being a little put out bothers that person TUFF! It’s my money not there’s but if I go by what you say it’s my fault. How stupid is that? You also assume everyone is a criminal but if you check it out you will find the stores are me of the criminals then the 5-10% of the people that try to steal from the stors.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Part 3.
I don’t know what world you live in but I live in reality and the reality is customer service is a fleeting thing in today’s world. The way people are treated according to the way you assume is if you bend over far enough maybe you will get some. The reality is that is NOT true. I go to a store and I buy something in good faith and I accept it to be good. When it is not I have to drive back to the store, spending my time, my gas and I am the one put out here, not the employee at the service center. That person works there not me that person is there for me not the other way around. If my being a little put out bothers that person TUFF! It’s my money not there’s but if I go by what you say it’s my fault. How stupid is that?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Part 4.
You also assume everyone is a criminal but if you check it out you will find the stores are me of the criminals then the 5-10% of the people that try to steal from the stores.
The only thing I agree with is that it is the customer’s responsibility to keep the receipt. You say “IT IS THE CUSTOMERS RESPONSIBLITY TO ENQUIRE ABOUT A RETURN POLICY” and then you have to believe what they tell you or you must take the return policy to a lawyer to have it translated. I have never heard of a clerk mentioning anything about a return policy but I have asked and the clerk did not know and it was not a new clerk. All I can say to the rest of this review is BS!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Last part.
The customers responsibility is to goes to the store take a chance and buy something believing on faith that it is OK, keep the receipt and go home. After that it is the responsibility of the store that sold the product the back it up and make it good, not the customer!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Good Review Truckin! I've voting you VERY HELPFUL
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-01-27:
Lidman, I think his point about responsibility for items is that, yeah stores have to take them back, but don't get angry because an item was defective. THAT isn't the store's fault. They can't open and check every box.

I think this review is spot on.

Attitude IS everything. If someone comes at me with a horrible attitude, yelling at me, why should I help them out? I think that it is a consumer's responsibility to educate themself on the return policy of the store they are shopping it. It's always posted somewhere, usually a huge sign. If cashiers had to inform every customer of the return policy the lines would be horrible!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
That's so you can get ihs trust vote, sad, sad!
How low will you go?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
Brenda I would like to agree with you because I like you but I don't think that is his intent and I do think the store is the one that is responsible when they sell the items.

What I don't understand is why everyone on here or in real life does say one thing but when it happens to him or her, boy watch the ATTITUDES fly!

What I really don’t agree with is a gross generalization which is what this review is where one side is all there is. If we are really talking about attitude one must wonder how this attitude gets out of hand in the first place.

Its not as easy as 1, 2, 3 but if you read all of what I wrote and you see where I am coming from maybe you will see where my attitude comes from?
Hope I did not offend you Brenda that was not my intent.
Posted by truckin21 on 2007-01-27:
Lidman: You do make a few rewardable comments. But, for the most part you sound like a person that refuses to accept responsibility for his own actions. Remember the E-coli in the FRESH EXPRESS lettuce incident??? Who do you blame for that??? The stores (once the problem developed) did what they were supposed to do. They took the product off the shelves. It was defective, it was a product they were selling, was it their fault it was defective?? The way you talk, yes it was. Well, here is a news flash: It has been proven that it WAS NOT THE FAULT OF THE STORES. It was the fault of the growers in California!!!! That lettuce was contaminated well before it got to any store. It was contaminated in the field, it was picked and shipped to a processing plant in Illinois, (I might have even delivered it because that is what I used to do) it was packaged and shipped to various stores around the country. Who knew that it was contaminated? The shipper? No. The processor? No. The store that sold it? No. The person that ate it?? YES. Because he/she got sick and had senses enough to see a doctor, and the doctor had sense enough (Once they found out what it was) to contact the proper authorities. Stores cannot fix what they donot know is wrong. If you see something that you think is wrong what do you do? Do you report it so it can be fixed, or do you wait until it affects you and then rant and rave when it isn't fixed to your way of thinking.???
You want to see what I am getting at --- read my next review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-27:
This is what is called comparing “Apples and Oranges” but if we must we must.
The E-coli incident has very little to do with customer service in the context you were talking about. But so be it, you take the most drastic thing you can find and as with your review, try to make a gross generalization of the situation. First this lettuce is like all produce is supposed to be inspected by a health official. The stores had no choice weather they wanted to or not take it off the shelf’s they were ordered to. So really your example doesn’t even fit here.

I accept responsibility for my actions and also for the actions of my employees when they screw up so don’t assume you know me at all.

You come on this site like a pompous, know it all and attack me for no reason other then I agreed with you on your review. You then write a review that is so one sided it is ridicules while condemning all people who complain. Because they had to go back to a store, spend who knows how long in a line of other people that had to do the same thing because the store didn’t bother to check out what they were putting on there shelf’s. Then by the time they get to the head of the line the store employees are to the point of madness because they have to listen to all these people complain.

Now I guess you being perfect and always in a truck, have never had a problem like this because you are obviously such a nice understanding person and not to mention in the end you know it’s your fault in the first place.

“Stores cannot fix what they donot know is wrong”, but after they do know it is wrong why then do they put tape on the box and stick it back on the shelf’s?

There are two sides to every coin old timer just like the worst most inconsiderate drivers on the high ways today are truck drivers who don’t take responsibility for the other cars around them. They just drive as close as possible to the little car and the car better move because I’m a truck driver and I own the road.
Now that would be a gross generalization wouldn’t it? But it’s still true and I can guaranty you will never admit your responsibility with that one. Just like the people that complain are with in they’re right to do so and not be termed as irresponsible people that rant and rave and are always wrong.

I think if you weren’t such a one sided person and of course always right, you would see it’s about 60/40 the store being the 60% wrong and the people being the 40% and the only way they keep getting away with it is because people like yourself would rather blame everybody else as long as it’s not you, then realize people do have the right to complain and also get what they paid for.
Posted by Justusryan on 2007-01-28:
Well, when you buy at discount prices, you are going to get stuff that is cheaply made, and breaks easier. But that is the road the American buying public has choosen to follow. Good products/service ,comes from a store that charges more money, so you buy cheap, you get cheap.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.