Hearts of Maine Complaint - Hearts of Maine Rental Company...What Heart?

Review by kcuarisma on 2007-01-28
ADDISON, MAINE -- I was looking to rent a house on the ocean for my mother's surprise 50th birthday. My mother absolutely loves the ocean so I started to look at different rental companies in Maine. Upon looking through the Hearts of Maine website, I found the perfect house! I inquired about the availability of this house for the weekend of my mother's birthday. The response was the cost was 250 a night. On the website the occupancy states 10. That was perfect, we had 10 people who were going to be staying at the house. When I asked about the extra guest fees (on the website it has the 9th and 10th people are an extra $100), it took 5 days for them to get back to me. The response was that the 250/night was only for 6 people and that it would be an extra 100 dollars for the other four. This rental property rents for 1500/week at this time of year and they wanted me to pay 77% of this cost for just the weekend. My email back to the company stated "Hello Sue,After discussing the rental with my family, we are all in agreement that
the price is not what is listed on the website. The website does not specify that it only applies if it is rented for the week. We would be
paying 77% of the cost for one week for only 3 nights. Where this rental would be extremely OFF SEASON, we would assume that the price would go
down, not up. The information should be consistent between both the owner and Hearts of Maine. You may want to consider changing the information on your website, it is very misleading and in turn will lead to poor customer satisfaction.Thank you for your time." The response from the President of the company, Gregory Burr was "Shame on you for trying to get something for nothing. This caliber of house
is extremely reasonable at $100.00 per person for 10 people for the weekend. It is more expansive to run this house in the winter time that it is in the summer because of heating and plowing costs. We do not list nightly rates
on our web-site so this has nothing to do with being consistent with the web-site. It is up to the owner's discretion on what nightly rate they set for their rental's. We find you completely RUDE and SHAMELESS for trying to have your group stay at this house for next to nothing and therefore we are blacklisting you for our rentals in the future and we will be sending your
name out to the other rental companies as they do for us warning them about you. Please do not ever try to rent from us again as we find you have low moral character.

Gregory Burr
Owner/President - Hearts of Maine

I in no way was rude or shameless regarding this rental property. I was simply inquiring about the price and the reasoning behind the price that they gave me since on the website the information says the price is for 8 people. In the initial email from Sue Burr, she did not list a limit to the people when she gave me the price. The price suddenly jumped from 750 plus tax for the 3 nights to 1150 plus tax for the same time.

This company has poor customer service and relations as is demonstrated in their email to me. I would not recommend doing business with this company. Hearts of Maine...not an appropriate name for a company that acts like they do.
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-06-25
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-01-28:
Did you ever consider that if you rent it for 3 nights, it pretty much rules out them renting it for the remaining four days of that week?
Posted by kcuarisma on 2007-01-28:
This is a rental home that they live in. During the winter season, they just rent out the days that are requested. This rental is in Maine, therefore the winter months are off season.
Posted by Shakra on 2007-01-29:
Despite that, Ken, the own/president was too rude for words. There is no reason why somebody is being chastised like that. That is no way to run a business.
Posted by jwUPENN on 2011-01-28:
I have rented several properties through Hearts of Maine and have never had an issue. I usually deal with Sue and the company has always been very responsive and the properties we have rented have been some of our best vacations. I have recommended them to friends and family and will continue to do so. In fact we will be renting through them again this year.
Posted by Heather H on 2012-06-25:
Have rented "Hearts of Maine" homes for about 10 years now. Not to mention many other vacation homes in other states. They (Sue and her husband) have always been extremely accomodating. I'm thinking there is more to the story than what you posted.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.