[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Accureviews.com (Amazon.com?) Informative - WARNING: Product reviews may not be real

Review by tnchuck100 on 2007-02-07
Copy of email sent to them on 2/3/07:

I was checking out your website. Initially was impressesed. Then I discovered there was no method to do a review. If there is, it is very well hidden. That left me with the impression these reviews are most likely not truly from real people as indicated.

It appears that you are probably just advertising medium for Amazon.com or, more likely, ARE Amazon.com. Which I do see has many customer service complaints on the web.

Depending on the response I receive to this (prior to 2/7/07) I will publish a warning to others to be wary of the information found on this site.

Thank you,
Chuck

They did not respond. Does anyone else have any knowledge or experience about this website?
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-05-17
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-07:
Looks to me that they gather reviews from Amazon. On a search of related domains I found a few also connected to Amazon.

The reviewers are not identified by any means. Again leading me to think the reviews are gathered from elsewhere.
Posted by Bababooey on 2007-02-07:

Amazon.com used to be a great place to buy books and DVDs, but now it seems that they are more interested in self-promotion.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-07:
Chuck it looks to me to be phony reviews used to advertise their products; I could not find one reviewer either.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-07:
Examples taken from Accureviews then linking to same item at Amazon.

1. Netgear Wireless Router WPN824 (featured on middle of the first page): The first 3 reviews were written Nov 2005.

2. Polar Heart Monitor (recent reviews): March 2006

3. Verizon RAZR phone (recent reviews): June 2006

All reviews taken direct from Amazon product reviews. However the reviewers are 'identified' and they do appear to be real people not script writers.

The obvious link at the bottom of each product page at Accureviews is a clue that it's directly related to Amazon.
Posted by Shakra on 2007-02-07:
I don't know about Accuview, but I have left reviews on different items at Amazon.com.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2007-05-17:
They finally responded. Today, 3 months late. They claim to be legitimate. But, they missed the deadline by a few days.


Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.