Daytona Towing Complaint - Bought Used Car - 1989 Pontiac Lemans

Review by conemarra on 2007-02-24
MEDFORD, NEW YORK -- I Bought a car from Daytona Towing 1989 Pontiac Lemans that was advertised on Craigslist on 2/9/07. I am a senior citizen the car was $700 all the money I had. The day after I got the car I went to a Deli around the corner and it died. It has not worked since then, the guy I bought it from has had it in his place for a week now ( it is 2 weeks since I bought it). He is giving me the run around everytime I call him it is another reaon why it is not fixed. I live at least a mile and a half from stores I need a car. I am a woman if I was a man I really feel he would not be pulling this. And if I was not a senior citizen, I think you are doing a wonderful thing by having this web site thank you. I want to save other people from being cheated if I can.
Comments:35 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-03-03
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-24:
I understand you only had 700 bucks for a car, but you really should of had that car checked out by a mechanic before buying it. How many miles are on this car?? If it has over 100,000, I believe there aren't any laws to protect you. Sounds like it was an "as is" deal. You say you live about 1.5 miles away from the stores, can you take the bus or even a taxi? Are you near Horseblock road?? That shopping center where King Kullen is, or used to be shouldn't be that expensive to get to. Anyway, what has he said is wrong with the car?? It's pretty old, and I really wish you had someone look at it for you. Thanks for warning others about Daytona Towing. Are they located in Medford? I am trying to see if there are any other complaints about them.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-24:
connemarra, is Daytona Towing located on Route 112?
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-24:
It has 63,000 miles on it, Sure I can take the bus but I have to walk to the bus it is over a mile and it is cold out but thats not the point. Anyway I don't have the money to keep taking cabs nor did I have the money to have a mechanic check it out I gave him all the money I had. Besides I was without a car for months and walked for months and saved for that car. I just wanted to post and warn people about him. Yes he is in Medford he never does say what is wrong with it except when I called today he said he had orderded a Module and it would be there Monday. But he has had the car there for over a week, Thanks for answering like I said I just want people to be aware of him
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-24:
Skye yes he is on 112, that's Ok peop;e like Saturn don't bother me
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-24:
Sorry that happened to you, but I think you could have a small claims court case against him if he keeps on giving you the run around. Document every call to him, and keep track of what's going on. And as for Saturn, he is such a loser. Good luck.
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-24:
Thank You, I don't want him cheating anyone else I see him still advertising on craigslist.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-24:
I used to live in New York, St.James, and have relatives in Medford. Sipp avenue right off Horseblock road.I have relatives all over New York and Long Island. Let us know how things turn out.
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-24:
St James is a nice area I know were Sipp Avenue, is Yes I will let you know how it turns out. Just tell your relatives to stay away from Daytona Towing :)
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-02-24:
Did they give you a warranty? If so, what did that warranty cover? If he isn't fixing what is in your warranty then you'd have a case. You have to give them time to fix it though, some parts could take awhile to get in and could be backordered or delayed. Maybe parts for an 18 year old car are hard to find?

Ask them exactly what is wrong and exactly how they are fixing it. You have a right to know that.

I think your report is a little premauture, it's only been a week. Give them time to fix it and I really hope they AREN'T cheating you and your part will be there Monday. I'll cross my fingers for you!
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-25:
Brenda no he did not give me a warranty, when I first called he said "Oh it has been crazy here I have not had a chance to get to it I will call you this afternoon". Then this afternoon never came. I call him the next day it is another excuse, and he will call again. He never does now we are a week later and now he tells me it is the module and he will call me Monday. I do understand that it could take a while to get parts but it has been 2 weeks since I bought this car I have not been able to drive it he does not give me a staight answer just the run around. At first when the car died he was telling me it was my fault and was stalling even picking it up, all I did was drive it around the corner.Thanks for caring
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-25:
siffer, no I don't have anyone and I know if I were a man or did have someone he would not be doing this. That is what is so frustrating, but if this lets other become aware of him then I will feel better.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-02-25:
Well, if he didn't give you a warranty is he fixing it for free or charging you?

I found this online at the NY DMV site, "A dealer does not have to warrant a vehicle that sells for less than $1,500 or whose odometer reading is more than 100,000 miles."

If he's fixing it for free I'd just be patient because I guess according to the DMV he doesn't have to do anything.

How long could one really expect a nearly 20 year old car to run well for without repairs? Just because something broke doesn't mean they knew something was wrong. It's a really old car. I have spent enough money on the car repairs for our 8 year old car so I can imagine how many repairs a 20 year old one could end up needing.

I wish you had just waited, saved a little more money and had your mechanic check out the car. There's so much that could be wrong with a car of that age. Good luck.
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-25:
Brenda well I would expect the car to run more than a day, (no one is expecting it to run without repairs but more than a day would be nice). And on the ad it said car runs great. He said it only had 63,000 miles on it which is not a lot. I wish I could have waited to save more also and had a mechanic look at it, but it took me months to save that much, living on a very small fixed income it is not that easy to save more. He should not be selling a car on the internet and saying it runs great if there is even the slightest chance it will die the very next day. Apparently it did not run great, and he was well aware something was very wrong.
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-25:
That's a funny story, you think if I took my 5ft 3 inch, 110lb self down to his place and smacked him across the face that would do it? Probably get myself arressted with my luck.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-25:
Siffer, my young man is my husband, and I am in Colorado, so I cannot strong arm this Daytona guy. I feel bad for Conemarra, and know the area she is talking about quite well. I am just wondering how an 18 year old car could only have 63,000 miles on it. This guy sounds shady to me. Maybe it's just being from New York, I am always cynical. Moving to Colorado was the best thing I ever did for myself. That's how I met Mr.Skye :)
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-25:
Skye you made a wise move, I wondered about the 63,000 miles also but it says that on the registration. So I thought it was really legit but who knows I don't see how he could mess with that. I agree with you that this guy is not on the up and up I think I was had. You live and learn I hope he gets his.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-25:
Well good luck and let us know what he fixed on the car. He sold you a car, and you bought it because you needed a car. I just hope he does the right thing, and make sure you get what he did in writing regarding the repair/repairs.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-25:
One more thing, I hope he didn't turn that odemeter back. That's so illegal. His website doesn't even come up. Do you happen to have the link to his website?? Maybe on his business card?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-25:
Several things are wrong here and none of them are the fault of Daytona towing. 1. the car is 18 years old 2. It is a Pontiac Leman's, which were P.O.S.'s when they were brand new. 3. You paid $700.00 for it, for pete's sake the insurance and tag fee's alone are worth more than the car. 4. You are assuming that the seller knew their was a problem with the car. If he did wouldn't he have already told you what is wrong with the car after 1 week? 5. You live in N.Y. which I bet you guys are still recovering from last weeks winter storms. Skye and Sif suggesting to strong arm the guy is a little...no alot over the top! Congrats *Brenda*, your advice is the correct move. If this seller fixes this car for you, I wonder if you three will praise him with as much vigor as you three seem to persecute him?
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-25:
Dealer, relax, I was just kidding. No need to get so bent out of shape. You are so freakin up tight. Can't take a joke can ya??? And why is it so wrong to be sympathetic to someone's plight?? Oh wait, the car is 18 years old, so forget even expecting it to run.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-26:
Sif, you know an older car alot of things cannot be predicted. I don't believe the guy has malice in his heart, otherwise why would he even agree to look at it? Yes it is frustrating for this lady, but nobody can guarantee a 18 year old , $700.00 car to never have problems. Now remember, this car would have had to pass state inspection before it could have even been tagged. Also remember that this is a towing company, and with the recent winter storms that have hit N.Y. I bet he is pretty busy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-26:
Can't take a joke??? Sure I can, did you tell one???? You are ready to convict this guy for odometer fraud with no proof. I know you are trying to be helpful but I think you are steering Ms. Conemarra down the wrong path. Try this, go on Ebay and look at what kind of car you can buy for $700.00. Read *Brenda*'s comment, she is spot on!!!!
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-26:
No You are wrong I live on Long Island no snow storms here none. The Snow storms are in other parts of NY Wow sorry I even posted on here. He does not just have a towing company that is just the name of his business he deals in selling cars and he also has an inspections station and he also is a mechanic. I understand full well about the age of the car I am not a complete idiot, it is the way he has handled this whole thing. I have the car a 1/2 day it dies it takes him a week to ev en pick it up to look at it insinuating it is MY fault. Now he has had it a week and never gives me a straight answer as to what the problem is just dances around it. If the guy would give me an honest answer I could deal with that. But dealerdirect thank you very much for you caring input.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-26:
Conemarra: No one thinks you are an idiot, but there are certain factors about this that may or may not be at fault of the seller. I know it is frustrating but more important I would like to see what the seller is going to do about it. Just out of curiosity can you describe how the car died? i.e. did it happen while you were driving? did any lights come on? any noises? etc.
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-26:
Actually it started the very night I brought it home, I went out later to the store had a hard time starting the car it would not turn over. The next morning when I went to the store the same thing, so when I got it started I let it warm up for 15mins then went to stoe. When I came out of the store it would not turn over. When I got home I called him he gave me this song and dance about how it ran great for him and how I did something, I said all I did was drive it. Anyway finally he tells me because the car had been sitting now he says it needs a new gas filter and he will put one in. Takes him a week to get it to his shop, he has now had it a week (To put this gas filter in) apparently that is not it. Or I don't know if that is it I can't get a straight answer out of him. He advertised this car as running great and when I went to see it and spoke to him he said it was a great running car. And because it only had 63,000 miles on it and he was local, I did expect to get more than 1/2 day out of it. I am sorry if that makes me expect too much, there is nothing like an old fool I guess.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-26:
Oh Dealer, "yawn"........when someone says just kidding, it doesn't mean it's a joke. You are so spot off. Again, "yawn" at your comments to me.
Posted by Skye on 2007-02-26:
Good luck Cone with your situation. And remember, what you post here, some people will always automatically twist around and make things up. When you think you know everything, you usually know nothing. NO people skills. As MRM would say, Toodles.......
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-26:
Cone: Ok from what you said it is definatley not the fuel filter. I am leaning toward a battery or possible alternator. A simple fix that should be easy to spot. The whole process should take no longer than an hour. More importantly YOU did nothing wrong. Do you have a neighbor or relative that can install a battery for you? it is a simple procedure. If it turns out to be the battery, I would have to say the seller was aware of it, or at the very least should have. If it turns out to be the alternator (which by the way I doubt since you made no mention of any lights coming on), the seller may not have known. A battery should run in the $50.00 range with little or no labor charge. Keep us posted on the outcome. Good Luck P.S. You are NOT an old fool!
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-26:
Skye thank you, yes I see what you mean, like the snow storms, we have had no snow here, well today we have like maybe an inch. Amazing how people know exactly what is going on when they don't. As far the car passing inspection that is a no brainer since he has his own inspection station. Why some keep insinuating I would think an 18yr old car should never have problems is beyond me. What I DO have a Problem with is selling a car that Drops dead 1/2 day after I buy it there IS a big difference. Thanks skye.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-02-26:
Skye: Jumping to conclusions is how the whole Duke Lacrosse rape case started!
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-26:
dealerdirect, OK he has had the car for a week last time I spoke to him was Friday this is what he said to me. "I have ordered a module for it, it should be here Monday I will call you". "I will call" you are his famous last words. I have heard those words, when I called him last Monday after he had it from Friday supposidly putting in the gas filter. PS he never did call. I have since like I said gotten the run around when I called him again later in the week he said "Oh it has been busy here I have not gotten to it and again "I will call you". So when I called him Friday is when I got the bit about the module. I have no idea what is wrong with this car like I said all I want is an honest answer from this guy. Is that asking too much?
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-02-26:
Like I said before, if he's fixing it for free I'd let him take his time because he doesn't have to do anything. I don't think a week is that long. If you were paying, it would be but they're doing something they don't have to do. It's not a fun situation but they could be charging it for you instead which would be even less fun!
Posted by conemarra on 2007-02-28:
Well It is now almost 3 weeks since I bought that car he still has it in his shop almost 2 weeks and I still have no clue what is wrong with it. He has not called me, the place is closed for the day. I went back to craigslist today to read again what the ad said and it said "Do not pass this one up" what a joke....... Brenda I find your posts offensive, you continue to repeat have patience how he has only had it a week . No the car was dead for 2 weeks not 1 week, and you keep repeating how he is fixing it for free, well now it is almost 3 weeks and free or not I don't see him fixing anything. I do not have a car, I have not driven it one day since I bought it. To me "Do not pass this one up" would mean you can drive it at least more than 1/2 a day. Like I said your posts are offensive.
siffer hitting it with a hammer might be good but I wouldn't know he has it.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-03-02:
So, take it back and pay for the repairs somewhere else.

I don't know why you consider my posts to be offensive. I just feel that you are being unrealistic. Don't get mad at me; you're the one who bought a car that is nearly 20 years old without having it checked out. It seems that you are getting rude and defensive when somebody doesn't agree with you or feel bad for you.
Posted by conemarra on 2007-03-03:
Brenda in case you have forgotten this is a web site to voice complaints is it not? That is exactly what I was doing, If I found your posts offensive I have a right to that wether or not you understood that or not. I quite frankly don't care if you feel I am being unrealistic or not. Thank you once again for reminding me that I did not have the money to buy a newer car nor have the money to get a mechanic to look at it. Now did that make you feel better and superior?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.