[X]
Feedburner count

BetterBusinessBreau Complaint - Underwhelming response to a complaint

Review by boodlebub on 2007-03-19
NEW YORK -- My State BBB was notified with a complaint about a company that was committing fraud, and manipulating seniors. Since the the company was not in my state the complaint had to be forwarded to their state. After a few tries at communication and a complaint to my stste BBB representative I was finally put in touch and assigned to Dispute Resolution Specialist Ms Madelyn Murray.
My first responce from her was a tirade about filing with my state and not hers. It did not matter to her that I had no idea waht she was fuming about. Her next input was that the company I was complaing about had it's very own complaint dept. and that that was good enough for her, and she will let them handle the complaint. She did not even assign me a case #.
I was never able to get her out of this mode or her negative attitude. Eventually she forwarded a letter basically stating, "Though Luck" I handled it with my friends the company you're complaining about and there is not any thing you can do about. I hereby pass the buck again.
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-04-15
Posted by Skye on 2007-03-19:
Who was the company commiting fraud???
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-03-19:
There are two sides to every story and the BBB doesn't pick one. You complain to the proper venue, which is the charter where the business is located. The business responds in the hopes to satisfy you, or tell their side. Some BBBs will offer mediation with certain business memberships. Other than that, they merely report a complaint was filed, if the business responded to the complaint and the outcome. They have no power or purpose to do anything else. If fraud was committed, you may wish to seek legal advice.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-03-20:
Well said Slim. I also have the same question as Skye Aubrey who and what was the fraud?
Posted by spiderman2 on 2007-03-20:
Contact your State Attorney Generals Office. http://www.oag.state.ny.us/seniors/helping.html They will probably be more interested in the issue than the BBB. And they also have a lot more power than the BBB.
Posted by MRM on 2007-03-20:
Boodlebub, who was the fraud here? Hopefully, you could log on back to this site and reply to all our questions.
Posted by boodlebub on 2007-03-20:
Thank you for your replys. Understand that, to put it simply, the BBB rep was in bed with the company I turned the complaint in on. The fraud mentioned was the Morgan Mint. Will turn that in later. Boodlebub
Posted by voiceoff on 2007-04-15:
Unfortunately the BBB is not really able to do what complainants expect.They try to close the case before they even get it! I have become aware of this. Don't expect much but still file. Maybe it will help other complainants.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.