4
Helpful
Votes

Evercom-Correctional Billing Services Complaint - Overcharged - Prepaid collect calls

Review by cita8200 on 2007-03-24
I am nine months pregnant, and my husband is in County Jail. I am due to have this child any day, and it is very important to us that he can call everyday and check on me and our other two children. This phone company has overcharged me by more than $200 and they acknowledged it, but have yet to refund my money. It has been 6 days, and they keep giving me the runaround. In the meantime, my phoneline has been blocked from recieving calls, which means I have not had contact with my husband all week! They also deny that I have made $200 in prepaid payments. They claim I only made $150, but my bank statement proves otherwise. I just reported this company to the Better Business Bureau, and I encourage anyone with a complaint to do the same.
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-04-30
Posted by spiderman2 on 2007-03-24:
Not to sound cold, but if it is so important that your husband be able to check on you and your children every day, why did he do something to get himself if jail? You can blame the overcharges on this company, but not the rest of your predicament.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-03-24:
spiderman, probably the usual--he was 'in the wrong place at the wrong time.' BTW, what good does it do for him to check on her and the other two kids if he's sitting in jail? Would he be able to get an emergency pass if she didn't answer the phone? I dunno---
Posted by romac on 2007-03-24:
Jail phone calls are crime in itself , however he should have not commited a crime .
Posted by DORCAS on 2007-03-24:
Cita8200,My heart goes out to you and your kids. And in all fairness, to your husband. For whatever he did to land in jail doesn't mean he doesn't care for you or your kids. Just because he can't be with you right now doesn't mean he shouldn't have the joy and blessing of knowing he has a new baby. I don't know how you can fix the phone problem but I hope you find a way to communicate with him. I'm sure he is just as concerned about you all as most other husbands/dads. I hope you have a easy delivery and healthy baby. Perhaps you can speak with the Watch Commander or LT. in charge to see if there is anyway to get messages through to your husband. I'm sure it depends on the crime in which he was charged with.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-03-25:
If he was that concerned about his family, he wouldn't have gotten himself locked up.
Posted by IMTreble on 2007-04-30:
1) News flash people, many individuals being held in county jail have NOT been convicted of any crime. They may have been charged with a crime but are awaiting their day in court in front of a jury of their peers. Many of them will be found to be innocent of the charges.

2) Why should a child be punished for the actions of a parent? If a parent is in jail do you honestly believe that their child should not at least get to talk to Daddy on the phone? Or are you of the belief that this innocent human being who has done nothing wrong should simply be abandoned completely by the parent who is in jail? What kind of effect will that have on this little memeber of our society? Or would it be more healthy for the little ones to be able to at least talk to Daddy, or Mommy for that matter, on the phone and know they are still connected and loved.

If you feel that those in jail should not be able to talk on the phone with loved ones, what if that person has been wrongly accused and is innocent? Do the children of these people deserve to be put through trama of abandonment?

It is very disapointing to see so many ignorant individuals exist in what is supposed to be a civilized society.
Posted by IMTreble on 2007-04-30:
Additionally, the original review is discussing questionable billing practices by a company. Are you saying that it is ok for a corporation to admittedly overcharge and then refuse to process a refund the the overcharge simply because of the type of service for which the charge was made? Really? Or do we expect honest business practices with regards to corporations or companies who bill to our credit cards? I personally expect all companies to do business in a honest fashion. Ironically, the actions of Evercom sound just like theft, in the least fraud, which makes this company guilty of a crime. Wonder if they will be able to call themselves for free or will they have to setup a prepaid account with themselves?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Evercom-Correctional Billing Services: