[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Walmarts - Macedonia Ohio Informative - Shopping While Black

Review by chrisy on 2007-04-11
MECEDONIA, OHIO -- I was shopping at the Walmarts stores in Mecedonia, Ohio when I attempted to leave the store I was asked by the door greeter to show my receipt, while all the other customers were allowed to leave. The head cashier came to the front of the store to assist the store greeter with looking at my store receipt and comparing it to the merchandise in my shopping bags. I don't understand why I was stop. I could see if the store sensor had gone off but, it did not. This experience was pretty embarassing. I hope no other black customer will ever have to experience this.
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-02-09
Posted by Paks on 2007-04-11:
Welllll could it be that the door greeter was merely doing their job ? Could you have had one or more large items that required no bag ? If so that is the main reason you were asked for your receipt. I very seriously doubt that the color of your skin had any bearing on the decision to have a look-see. So please take the race card and shove it along with using all caps to write a complaint.

Complaint Busted.
Posted by MRM on 2007-04-11:
When a greeter asks a customer for a receipt, the customer has the right to say NO! They will not arrest you if you refuse to show your receipt.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-04-11:
They usually ask for a receipt when you have an item that isn't in a bag - color has no bearing on it.
Posted by MRM on 2007-04-11:
"Hugh" are absolutely right!
Posted by Jop on 2007-04-11:
All caps?
Posted by heaven17 on 2007-04-11:
"Shopping while black?"
Unless you can change color at will, this blurb sounds kinda lame.

That aside, I'm white and have been asked to show my receipt many times. I go through the motions and am on my way within seconds. Not a big deal.
Posted by Mad Eye Moody on 2007-04-11:
I think that maybe you're over sensitive. From what you've related I see nothing overtly racist about their actions. I and everyone other person who has been in a Wal-Mart a few times has probably been asked for their receipt...especially if they've got items that aren't bagged. My advice would be to save the racism-card for a situation where racism is...well..actually a factor.
Posted by DORCAS on 2007-04-11:
Good Grief! I had two carts full of groceries and various other items. A receipt two feet long and was asked to show my receipt. Do you know how long it takes to go through 30 bags of groceries just to find a $5.00 dvd? Well I guess I could complain and charge them with racisim because it was more of a hispanic community and I was white But...I think it was because the sensor beeped and the cashier hadn't taken off the little sticker from the video. Yes I was frustrated but the guy was just doing his job and he told me sorry and thanks. I smiled and said to have a nice day. What else can you do?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-11:
At the Wal-Mart in lily white Moore Oklahoma if you happen on to a certain few greeters and your skin is brown you'll more than likely be asked for a receipt. I've seen it time and time again. It's so blatant that it can't be an accident. But hey you all know better than the OP cause each of you were there, right?
Posted by Noneill on 2007-04-11:
This comes up too frequently. I thought it was a given that people understand this is standard operating procedures for WM. Maybe WM needs to put up a big sign at the entrance stating that you may be asked to show a receipt upon exiting based on your unbagged purchase or randomly.

I am sure if someone refused it would not make much difference, but I think these greeters may get upset and they are usually elderly or disabled. I have been asked for my receipt and I am prepared with it in hand. I politely smile and say sure. Politeness doesn't cost a dime. I hate to be the cause of someone getting upset unnecessarily - especially old folks.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-11:
Chrisy, if it happens the next time that you go then maybe you have a "beef" with that Walmart in MACEDONIA, OHIO. Hopefully you just had a large or big ticket item that got the greeter's attention or maybe it was done at random. Did you ask?
Btw, Stewart when you go back to work tonight will you check with this greeter?
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-04-11:
Hey-
I got stopped the other day. I had a bag of charcoal, and four 12packs of drinks. Two were Coke, the others were two different things. I had only put one of the Coke 12packs on the counter, and asked the cashier to ring it twice. (I'm eccentric about my Cokes, they are handled like a 2lb preemie. I can't see how they were shelved or shipped, but once I get my hands on them, they're treated delicately. I even drive slower with them in the truck, I swear it, and I arrange things around them so they can't move.) Always the ones that I don't let the cashier handle are mine; the others are for my less picky family.

I said, "Ring the Cokes twice. I have two." And I handed them to her right then, so it would get done. She said, "These?" Thinking, 'What other Cokes would you ring twice, the ones back on the shelf?' I said, "Yes, I have two." "Okay" she says. I then turn to sitting my 1yo back down so she doesn't climb out of the cart.

So, as I said, on the way out, I'm stopped. The greeter goes through all my bags checking each item against the receipt. Finally she explains why she is doing this to me. I've got two 12packs of Coke, and according to my receipt, I only paid for one.

She then proceeds to pick up my 'safe' Cokes, nearly drop them, flip them over, and hand them to me to take back to the register, where I can stand in line AGAIN and pay for them.

Hey, I'm white. And I used to work there (forgive me I was young and didn't know better) WITH that same greeter! Surely she knows I'm not a thief!!
Posted by chrisy on 2007-04-13:
FOR ALL OF YOU THAT POSTED I COMMENT IN RESPECT, TO MY POSTING OF SHOPPING WHILE BEING BLACK. I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THAT WHETHER YOU ARE RED/WHITE OR BLUE I HOPE THAT YOU DO NOT EXPERIENCE WHAT I WENT THOUGH AT WALMARTS/MECEDONIA,OH I YES, THE DOOR GREETER DOES HAVE A JOB TO DO, IN RESTROPECT OF THE SITUATION IT, WAS THE HEAD CASHIER WHO CAUSE ALL THE CONFUSION. MAYBE IF SHE WOULD NOT HAVE PUSH A CART OF RETURN ITEMS THAT WERE OUT OF THE BAG OVER TO THE ELDERLY DOOR GREETER,SHE WOULD HAVE NEVER TOLD THE STORE MGR. THAT SHE SAW MY DAUGHTER'S WITH THE RETURN CART. I KNOW FOR FACT THAT WAS IMPOSSIBLE BECAUSE THEY HAD ALREADY LEFT THE STORE,BEFORE THE HEAD CASHIER PUSH THE CART OF RETURN ITEMS TO THE STORE GREETER. IN HIND SITE MAYBE IT'S NOT OF CASE OF SHOPPING WHILE BLACK BUT,MAYBE THE HEAD CASHIER NEEDS TO LET THE STORE GREETER DO HER JOB,WHILE SHE DOES HERS.....
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-21:
Right when things don't go your way cry racism.
Posted by Deli on 2007-07-06:
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-14:
They stop everyone reguardless of skin colour end of story good-bye. Next complaint.
Posted by VeryWiseOldGuy on 2007-08-24:
The Race card???? My friend, I travel all through the West and shop Walmart because I know what they sell and it feels a little like home no matter where you are. I have been asked hundreds of times for my receipt. "It isn't what happens to us that is important, it is how we react to what happens"! I hand it to them with a smile and say Thank you, have a nice day! They always smile back. Be more loving dear.
Posted by bugaboo on 2007-08-28:
I have to show my receipt everytime I leave Walmart. That seems to be store policy now.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-08-28:
OK aside from the racism thing. I am not a lawyer, but this has worked for me in the past. I refuse to stop for inspection. Unless you have something that is not in a sack or bag, keep walking..when/if security approaches you keep walking. If they persist, tell them to stop or tell them to call a cop, if they lay a hand on you or block you in anyway, don't fight, but, tell them expect to be in deep trouble for unlawful detainment.
I have seen signs at wally world that say they have a right to inspect packages and require them to be checked, but nothing about exiting with a purchase.
Please correct me if I am wrong.
As soon as you pay for and have the receipt (a "legal" piece of paper, the property is yours.
Posted by Enigma on 2008-01-17:
I would recommend keeping your receipt in hand. Walmart greeters in most stores are told to check them regardless if items are bagged or not. You'd be surprised how many times they caught someone with a bag of products and a receipt from 3 days ago.

Meanwhile, when you have electronic items, its usually a good idea to pay for them in the electronic department, or have the front cashier scan them first/last and bag separately, just in case. 90% of the sensor - deactivation things in any given walmart won't work, and the alarm will go off.
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2008-02-09:
If you go to the exit with paid-for merchandise, and there are anti-shoplifting security devices inside the package (for example, many DVD movie packages would have stickers saying "Security Device Enclosed")...and the cashier doesn't properly deactivate the item (the device would "beep" once the security device is deactivated at the register), the security message would come up once you pass the device at the exit, requiring a Wal-Mart supervisor or cashier to deactivate the device once more. Don't take it personally-this kind of stuff happens all the time at a Wal-Mart. Whenever I go to Wal-Mart (or any discounter or big-box electronics store), I make it a habit to leave the receipt out until you clear the store's exit-this way, if the paid-for merchandise has a security device that wasn't properly deactivated, I have the receipt handy to prove that I paid for it. It happens more often at Wal-Mart than at any other store...Wal-Mart cashiers check out thousands of items a day, and more than a few security-deviced items fall through the cracks. Again, don't take it personally-Wal-Mart personnel are just doing their job to make sure that all security devices are deactivated on paid-for merchandise.
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2008-02-09:
Security-deviced merchandise not being properly scanned at the registers is a common Wal-Mart problem. I have been to the Macedonia Wal-Mart, as well as other Cleveland area Wal-Marts, including Brookpark Rd, Strongsville, Parmatown, North Olmsted, and Steelyard Commons, as well as a few Columbus-area Wal-Marts, and have observed the same thing happening. I don't see it a problem to leave your receipt out, just in case a security-deviced item isn't properly scanned. Security devices not being scanned properly has happened at K mart, Target, Giant Eagle, Marc's, Best Buy, and Circuit City as well, but not as often as at Wal-Mart. Whenever you shop at any big-box store it is a good idea to leave the receipt in your hand until you leave the store.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.