[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

ToyGlobe.com Informative - Horrible Customer Service, Refused Refund

Review by Grekrs on 2007-04-18
I purchased two toys for my son from ToyGlobe.com, a total value of $27.90. I waited and waited for delivery and finally receive a ceritified mail delivery notice in the mail indicating that I would need to sign for the item at my local post office, which is 2 hours away from where I am located during business hours.

This wouldn't work for me, so I called toyglobe's "customer service" line and spoke with Tony, the owner. Tony indicated that that he felt compelled to send all items to purchasers certified because of reports of items not being delivered (not to me, in general) when in fact they were received by the pruchaser. (I am sorry but isn't that just the cost of doing business sometimes, and isn't that written off at the end of the year OR trackable through the post office). I explained to him that (1) this was not mentioned on his web site and would have influenced my decision to pruchase from him, and (2) It is logisitcally impossible for me to pick the item up from the post office.

He became immediately argumentative. I asked him to resend it regular mail. He refused. I told him the item would be sent back to him. He heatedly told me that he was going to charge me the $10! for delivery and "insurance". (My first bad, I should never have paid that much, but it was a toy my child really wanted... you know the drill). I told him that if he insisted on charging me the $10 shipping/insurance I would contest the charge with my credit card company. He became incensed and told me I would be paying. I actually think he came close to threatening me.

Bottom line, sleazy company, incomplete info on their web site and HORRIBLE customer service.

BEWARE.
Comments:16 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-05-04
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-18:
I don't see a thing wrong with this company's position. It's a little hard to swallow that you are 2 hours away from your post office, but even if you were, can they reasonably be expected to know this?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-18:
If you pay 27.xx for both toys that man is cheating you in the return policy because you only have to pay 15 percent of the total shipping cost. 10 dollars is more than 15 percent. He is makeing you pay more than double the return policy so take it to court.
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-04-18:
You should have asked how the items were being shipped. I always do because you may assume it's regular mail but it's really UPS and someone needs to be home, or you want to be on the lookout for a package left outside your door, etc.
Posted by One-Eyed Willie on 2007-04-18:
Why don't you call the post office and arrange something? The company mailed the product now it's between you and the USPS. I wouldn't worry about the threat, I don't think he will want to drive out to the boonies to fulfill his threat.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-18:
He can't forfill his threat one-eyed Willie because he cheated her.
Posted by One-Eyed Willie on 2007-04-25:
Then I guess his plan worked
Posted by Grekrs on 2007-04-26:
Late breaking news. Just got me credit card statment and they even charged me an inflated amount. This company is unbelievable. I have done some reseearch. Many, many complaints of the same nature. What a sleazy company.
Posted by Grekrs on 2007-04-26:
Kenpopcorn- I don't expect them to anticipate why I am unable to pick up a certified package, but I think that a company that is going to require this type of delivery, especially for such a nominal amount, would make their delivery practices known. It makes a significant difference.
Posted by Grekrs on 2007-04-26:
KenPopcorn- 2 hours one way to work. It's the motor city, baby!
Posted by teezz on 2007-04-27:
This company did nothing wrong. Everything was done by the book. It is people like you who mislead the public with there actions to satisfy there own agenda. I never became
incensed or threatened anyone. This is a business and in business you try to accommodate every one as fair as possible (this one had no reasoning in her) and at the same time may a dollar, not lose money.

We have been in business for over five years and have NEVER cheated anyone we guarantee the sale or money back.

This does not sound like a sleazy company. I think that this person should take a GOOD look at the mirror and then judgment.
Posted by Grekrs on 2007-05-01:
Teez/aka ToyGlobe- I would only ask that potential customers research the many,many other complaints on this site and others (rip off report has 39 total complaints against you and counting in your 5 years of business) before making a decision whether to purchase from you. All the complaints are similar and your never think you are in the wrong. I would appeal to everyone to please be a more informed consumer than I was. I have learned my lesson and will make frequent use of my3cents and other sites.
Posted by teezz on 2007-05-02:
This is a business and in business you try to accommodate every one as fair as possible (this one had no reasoning in her).

We do over 50,000 sales a year and in 5 years we have 39 complaints against us, we are not proud about this but we try to accommodate everyone. This customer on the other hand got her item, was not home, and asked to go to the post office to pick it up, and she has a complaint about us. What is it? Yes we do have 39 complaints against us in 5 years, but most of them are people like you who are unreasonable and give web sites a bad name.

Unfortunately we can not control that, the only thing we can control is our company to give better service for the future, and this is our goal looking forward.
Posted by teezz on 2007-05-02:
This is a business and in business you try to accommodate every one as fair as possible (this one had no reasoning in her). We do over 50,000 sales a year and in 5 years we have 39 complaints against us, we are not proud about this but we try to accommodate everyone. This customer on the other hand got her item, was not home, and asked to go to the post office to pick it up, and she has a complaint about us. What is it? Yes we do have 39 complaints against us in 5 years, but most of them are people like you who are unreasonable and give web sites a bad name.

Unfortunately we can not control that, the only thing we can control is our company to give better service for the future, and this is our goal looking forward.
Posted by Grekrs on 2007-05-03:
Reminder: ToyGlobe also charged me an inflated amount, another common complaint from your "valued" customers.
Posted by teezz on 2007-05-04:
For whatever reason a customer gets charged a different amount on their account, (while the exchange rate varies day to day) their are better ways to handle this then posting nonsense on the internet. We have all our contact info on our site and would be more than happy to immediately refund their account and promo something for their inconvenience
Posted by Grekrs on 2007-05-04:
Cleary (as demonstrated by past behavior). Feel free to refund my account.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.