5
Helpful
Votes

Unified Services Complaint - BEWARE: Unified Services is SCAM

Review by Bobbo on 2007-04-28
NEVADA -- This past week I had 3 calls from Unified Services from somewhere in "Nevada" with a phone number of 775-678-5678 (which you can not call in). They are trying to get me to accept a $1000 on-line shopping spree for free and a 3 -day trip to some place (I never let them finish their little scam speach deal). Well this morning was the last straw. I had "Jim" who spoke with an Indian accent from Unified Services doing his best to get me accepting his scam. I cut him off politely and told him that I wanted to speak to his Supervisor. Jim was puzzled and wanted to know why? I told him (a lie) that he was very nice and polite and wanted his Supervisor to know. So when "Jean Seaford" Jim's Supervisor got on the phone, my tone had changed. I told Jean that I was on the Do Not Call list, and that I had 3 CSR calling me this week, and I told them to take me off Unified Services phone list. Then I continued to go and stated that I had the name of her company, Her name, Jim's name the other Rep's name, the location of this call, and the number and I was reporting her to FCC and then they would investigate further. Jean kept apologizing and God Blessing Me and told me that Unified Services would never call again. We'll see about that. I went ahead and reported her and Unified Services to FCC.

I found out about this company that they want your checking account number (which you never do give over the phone) and they would bill you 1.99 for shipping of the $1000 free on-line coupons - well, they take out more than just 1.99 out of your account - I read that someone had 150.00 taken out of their account. So people BEWARE OF SCAMMERS! DO NOT GIVE YOUR PERSONAL INFO OUT OVER THE PHONE NO MATTER HOW GOOD THE SERVICES SOUND!
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-06-25
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-28:
There's a web page www.whocalled.us which lists the number. So far in the past 2 weeks they have logged 78 complaints. There's also a variation where they offer debt consolidation. The area code is for Nevada but the 678 prefix doesn't exist in that state. Obviously it's a spoofed number.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-04-28:
Absolutely nothing new in this post. We're repeatedly warned if something sounds too good to be true--it usually is and not to give out personal information. BTW, how can you determine an 'Indian' accent on the phone?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-28:
Ponie, think he meant Indian like all the CSR centers use now, the Country of India. If I ever get one on a call I ask for a U.S. based English speaking CSR, if they refuse I hang up and no longer do any business with that company. A large number of online scams are being run out of India and the Philippines now. The bad guys can run call centers (boiler rooms) for a fraction of what a U.S. phone room costs. PassingBy, your right www.whocalled.us is an excellent resource.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-04-29:
A phone number which you can not call into is a phone both.
Posted by jared on 2007-05-02:
"Bobbo,"

We discovered your complaint posted on 4/28/2007 regarding our services. We would appreciate the opportunity to respond to your complaint.

While indeed we do contact individuals via phone about our amazing package which includes a free Internet Shopping Spree and complimentary 2 day, 3 night vacation. Additionally, we offer three fantastic trial services including a very affordable calling card, inexpensive high-speed dial-up Internet service, and the amazing Ultra Thermo Boost 2000 dietary supplement.

The terms of our offer are clear and understandable and we take every precaution to ensure that the individuals we call understand the terms of our services. While these steps are taken, occasional mistakes do occur. We work diligently to correct these mistakes and ensure that our customers are happy. I believe you will find the same when you read our responses to customer complaints on this website.

While you won't be receiving calls from us any longer, we do believe that if you had tried our services, you would agree that, dollar for dollar, they are indeed a great deal.

Respectfully,

Jared (Badge #1096)
Quality Control,
Unified Services
Posted by Starlord on 2007-05-19:
jared, Elsewhere in M3C is a post concerning your firm. You called about a $1,000 shopping spree, and talked to a minor ( a real no-no). The young girl somehow gave you her mother's checking info, thinking it would be charged $39.95. They received a small package of your ThermoBoost pills, and her mother's checking account was hit by you for $150. I am sorry, but I hope you never call my home, as the phone lines between us will melt when I give you a piece of my mind. And before you get any ideas, all of our phone numbers are on the National Do Not Call List.
Posted by unified services on 2007-09-25:
Bobbo,

We found your complaint against our company posted on www.my3cents.com.

Our company offers a free 3 day 2 night hotel stay and a complimentary Internet shopping spree. Additionally, we offer 10-day trials for three other services; long distance, Internet and a weight loss supplement, which are also available to our customers.

Our trial offers are of exceptional quality and value. Our long distance program; Call USA is a calling card that can be used from any touchtone telephone. We offer unlimited calling anywhere in the United States and International calling to over 70 countries. Our service is a one-of-a-kind and is offered for only $23.97 a month.

The 2nd program we offer is for Internet service. Online Advantage offers unlimited high-speed dial-up Internet access to over 10,000 locations nationwide (great for traveling). We have one of the most competitive prices on the market at only $17.99 a month with no contract, so you can cancel when you like.

Our last program is for a dietary weight loss supplement called Ultra Thermo Boost 2000. Our product contains the safe natural weight loss ingredient, Hoodia. Our trial includes 20 pills which is a 10-day supply, absolutely free.

Each of our orders are recorded by a third-party verification company. We verify that each order is valid and that the customer did in fact agree to each trial. Additionally, when our customers agree to the trials, they are provided with each of the customer service numbers with which to cancel should they choose to do so before the end of their 10-day trial as not to be charged. The only reason why a customer would be debited is because they failed to cancel in the allotted trial time period

Our company prides itself in our excellent customer service. Our customer service center is open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm Eastern Standard Time. Over 90% of our calls are answered in less than 4 minutes.

If you have further questions or concerns feel free to e-mail me or contact customer service.

Sincerely,

Quality Control
Unified Services
Customer Service (866) 904-7796
Posted by goldenlab on 2008-02-28:
I propose that you put everything in writing. Mail it to the prospective consumer..this gives the consumer to view the entire contract. Then, if interested he/she will contact you with written agreement for your services.
Posted by Share on 2008-06-25:
This comment is for Bobbo from Unified Services. I'm not proud to say that I had been taken advantage of by your company, and in this post you sound more like your trying to convience people that what your company offers is a great deal and its not. The one thing I can say is that I was able to recover my money, which didn't happen by the means of your company who kept giving me the run-around. I did report the company, which I was a witness for the Federal Trade Commission on June 12, 2008 in Nevada. I decided to be a witness for this case, so that your company could not take advanatage of anyone else who may not know their rights or who to call in this situation. Unified Services does continues to call individuals homes about this offer and I hope that the Federal Trade Commission are able to shut the doors of Unified Service's for good.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.