[X]

Topps Company Informative - Made my baby cry, are they fixing it?

Review by imjustasteph on 2007-04-30
Yeah, Topps. The same one you used to buy baseball cards with bubblegum from, I believe.

They make Juicy Drop Pops. One end is a sucker, the other contains a (sour) flavored liquid candy to drip onto the sucker.

So one day I let both my boys buy one (98 cent apiece) when they asked while waiting in the WalMart line.

We get in the truck and pull out of the parking lot. The boys immediately (of course) start clamoring for their candy to be opened. The rule in these cases is that I do it when we hit a stoplight, not while in traffic, and they waited rather patiently. We were probably a mile from WM before we hit a red light, and I tore the shrink wrap on the packages and handed the suckers back. The light turns green, we go. Then my 3yo shouts in disbelief "My sucker broke!" Like me, you are probably hearing 'broke' as a verb, as in, the action performed by the sucker. I glance in the mirror and see that indeed he has less than half of the sucker part of the candy. I tell him to eat what he has and we'll get the other part when we get home. (I'm assuming the other piece is in the floor, since he also says 'it gone'.) But the thing is, my 3yo doesn't always pronounce the letter 's'. So what I heard as 'my sucker broke' was actually 'my sucker's broke'.

Which I realized when at home, I searched the backseat and found no piece of sucker. Further questioning of him revealed that the remainder of the candy was gone when he opened it.

To put it plainly, the sucker was broken, then shrink-wrapped with half MISSING. And my baby paid for it with his own money, all grown-up, and got nothing.

The other side of this is, the person who answered the 800 number was very understanding about it, and says that rather than replacing the single pop, she will be sending 'an assortment' of items to replace the broken candy and apologize for our trouble.

When I recieve it I'll update and let you know what 'several' means.
Comments:24 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-01-13
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-01:
I would never let a child eat hard candy in a moving car, especially a three year old. If you suddenly had to step on the breaks or something the candy could easily become lodged in the child's mouth and they could choke. I'd advice you to let them eat the candy at home. As for getting several items do keep us posted on that if she follows through.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-05-01:
Not all them can be a winner! Geez...instead of giving your kids candy, put some carrot and celery sticks back there for them. Far as eating the car...I don't think so! Wait till you get home.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-01:
Wow, you gotta love the people on this site for totally selecting their own topic and finding a way to attack every reveiw, regardless of what it's for.
Posted by TNT8385 on 2007-05-01:
Wow, a complaint about a sucker. I thought I heard it all.

Did you notice the sucker was broken when you unwrapped it? Also, I find it funny you made your baby pay 98 cents for a sucker. Why didn't YOU pay for it? LOL
Posted by Ponie on 2007-05-01:
I agree with TNT. You didn't notice the sucker was broken when you unwrapped it? If your 3-yr. old paid for this himself, does he have a trust fund?

As far as your post that some people attack every review, we take into consideration the validity of the review. How many coupons are you waiting for? Find any places lately to pull the 'my baby needs a bathroom' on? And you call your BF computer illiterate! Take away one of the nouns in this last sentence and look into a mirror. Valid complaints get suggestions on how to possibly rectify them.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-01:
TNT, these suckers have an opaque plastic cover, then shrink wrap. I only tore the shrink wrap off for my son.

I let my child pay for the sucker himself because I believe in teaching my children responsibility. They also clear their own plates from the table and put their own clothes in the hamper, but then you guys probably consider that abusive or not being a mom to my kid.

Ponie, I'm not sure why you have a problem with me stating that my bf is computer illiterate; if he was dumb enough (as I am obviously) to respond to a person like you, he'd tell it to you himself.

Maybe no one noticed; this is not a complaint. It is listed as informative. The purpose was to come back and share how helpful Topps' customer service had been.

I'm very sorry that you people feel the need to project your hate.
Posted by heaven17 on 2007-05-01:
"When I recieve it I'll update and let you know what 'several' means."
Well, this doesn't sound demanding at all.

As I mentioned in your later post...PLEASE...when you get your compensatory items from Topps, don't come back and say that they didn't send enough.
At best, all they need to replace is the original item.
Don't get greedy.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-01:
Heaven I have responded to your comment on my later post, explaining.
Posted by TNT8385 on 2007-05-01:
Actually I think it's great your showing your children responsibility. No I don't consider that being abusive or not being a mom to your kid. All I was asking you were questions and you answered them for me. Thank you. :)

Oh and I know what those suckers are thanks to google images :D
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-05-01:
I wouldn't let my kid eat anything in the car for fear of choking (and contrary to what you believe, that isn't "bashing" you). Anyway, I really think you should have waited until they either sent or didn't send the items.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-01:
No not Topps,the same people that brought us baseball cards and stale gum!
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-01:
Brenda- at that point I did not know that the 'missing' portion of the sucker was LITERALLY missing, I thought it had been dropped. As I have mentioned, it wasn't until I got home and searched for it, then questioned further, that I understood. As you can tell my son's communication skills are still developing.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-05-01:
Huh? What does that have to do with what I said? I just said you should have waited to write the review until you see if they send anything out. No sense in writing 2 reviews or updating one that no one will dig for.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-01:
TNT - Kids feel big and responsible when they earn their candy. They feel big and respobsible when they spend their own money. Besides, making the 3 year old spend his own money at an early age can teach him how to spend his money wisely and make decisions on what he wants. He is still too young to calculate what how much he can spend, but mommy or daddy can tell him that he does not have enough money for several items and he has to only pick one two.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-01:
ejack053824 - A little treat every now and then is not bad for you, now if she were giving the kids a sucker everyday than that would be a problem.
Posted by TNT8385 on 2007-05-01:
I completely understand that Mafia. I wasn't being negative about it was I? Sorry if it seemed that way. Basically when I read she had her 3 year old buy the sucker I didn't think she was teaching her kid responsibility. That's good though.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-01:
Sorry Brenda, I misunderstood- thought you were saying I should've waited to let him have the sucker (the Juicy Drop part was still there, only the Pop lacking) until I found out if they were going to send the rest.

As for posting an update- I for one click the 'updated reveiws' tab everytime I come here. I'm sure not everyone does, but I'm also sure I'm not the only one.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-05-01:
Mr. Mafia I agree...but...there is healthier alternatives.
Posted by beanbagbritches on 2007-05-02:
I daresay you're probably more upset about this than your child. The thing is, these things happen. Sometimes you just have to let it go. Teach your children to fight for the important things, not broken candy.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-05:
Beanbag, maybe you didn't read the whole post. Broken candy is one thing. Paid-for-but-not-received candy, or anything, whether I pay a penny or several hundred dollars for it, is another thing altogether.
Posted by TNT8385 on 2007-05-08:
Wait so if you paid a penny for candy, theoretically speaking, you would still go up all in arms about it if the candy was missing? Is that what you are saying here?
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-08:
TNT, it depends less on price than circumstance. If it was packaged and sealed but the candy wasn't there, then I'd know it wasn't a matter of in-store theft, or a bubblegum machine slightly off-level so that the next piece didn't fall down...it was a matter of having LEFT THE FACTORY without the candy.

If penny candy fell under circumstances where I knew the factory was at fault...I'd probably give 'em a call.


And I really don't consider myself to be 'up in arms' about it. I just expect that my child should have gotten what he paid for. And yeah, it breaks my heart to see him hurt, cheated, or in anyway made sad- and yeah, I do know I better brace msyelf because I'm going to see a lot more of it...

But yeah, at any cost, not getting what you pay for is wrong.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-11:
Imjustassteph - They did not "cheat" your child, it was a simple error. THey had no intend to hurt or "cheat" your child.
Posted by leopard on 2008-01-13:
hey steph, you're one of those ultra-liberal "peace moms" aren't you? I bet you even drive a volvo and will vote for Hillary Clinton of the Communist party!!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.