[X]

Butts Top of the Rock Restaurant Complaint - Discrimination - Customer Service

Review by peper on 2007-05-09
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- The Butts Top of the Rock Restaurant has seated myself and my guest in a segregated location while others are seated in a more prominent location.

We are African American. Just to be sure I approached the caucasian couple seated in a more desirable location if they had a reservation. They were puzzled as to why I was asking but said no they did not have a reservation.

This happened on two different occasions. We made a reservation two weeks ahead the last visit which made no difference we were seated at the very same table again.
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-06-03
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
You may want to use a spell and grammar checker next time. I have been to the "Buttes Top of the Rock Restaurant" but am sorry to say I don't know where the "Butts Top of the Roc Restaurant" is. I don't know that I would eat someplace called Butts anyway. Why would you bother another guest with your feeling of discrimination? Shouldn't you have been in managements face about it? We have grabbed our menu's and moved ourselves when given a crappy table, what are they going to do about it? We have been the recipient of bad tables at places 50% full and either ask to move, move ourselves or leave. We are white so getting bad tables is not unique to your race, creed or religion. See: http://www.openlist.com/restaurants-view-top_of_the_rock2.htm One other point the "poor me I'm Black" whining will not get you very far around here. This board does not see color, it's an equal opportunity board to post to.
Posted by Sparticus on 2007-05-09:
I've felt this has happened to me and my wife on more than one occasion at various restaurants. Based on the type of patron they prefer... I think some restaurants do seat folks accordingly... particularly when it comes to regulars at the restaurant... Race aside... I think it happens with age... dress... general appearance... etc.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
I think you're blaming this incident on race - unnecessarily. Like super says, if you don't like where you're seated, ask for a different location or leave. I always choose where I sit and the server/hostess doesn't seem to mind.
Posted by Sparticus on 2007-05-09:
I do agree... We simply ask to be reseated in the cases where we are not happy where they seat us... just have to speak up to the person seating you...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Maybe they thought you'd appreciate the privacy??
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
One more story, then I will shut up. We were wine tasting in Napa and ended up at a five star restaurant for Sunday brunch. We were dressed less than we should have been for such a nice place. We walked in with no reservations, some guys were in tux's etc. Asked the host what our chances were for getting a table. Being a true gentleman he said he could seat us but because we were out of uniform he would have to give us the worst table in the house by the kitchen door, he made it very clear we were getting a bad table. We said we were grateful for his offer and took the table. It was one of the greatest meals we have ever had. We know he had to put us in the back, he had no choice. On our way out I gave him $20.00 and thanked him and let him know when we return to Napa they would be our first stop, with reservations and dressed properly. Were you dressed to casually for The Buttes? They do have a dress code of sorts.
Posted by jenjenn on 2007-05-09:
Well, PirateWithParrot, you say you ask to move frequently and the server/hostess doesn't mind. Having been a restaurant employee, I'm SURE they do mind! It's annoying when patrons ask to move. If there are several servers, seating runs on a rotation & you are put in the seating area of the next server up on the rotation. Maybe this incident was a racist incident, but perhaps you got stuck in a less than desirable location due to the serving rotation? Just a thought...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
DID YOU ASK TO BE RE-SEATED SOMEWHERE ELSE?

TOP OF THE ROCK RESTAURANT & BAR


ADDRESS:
2000 W Westcourt Way
Tempe, AZ
85282-1005
Phone: (602) 225-9000


EDITORIAL REVIEW FOR TOP OF THE ROCK RESTAURANT & BAR – BY NIKKI BUCHANAN
In Short
Perched atop a craggy peak, it features floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Valley. This dramatic-looking restaurant is the perfect spot for a birthday or anniversary celebration, as well as a romantic tryst. Southwestern roots emerge, but signature dishes remain constant, like the lobster Napoleon appetizer (Maine lobster mixed with boursin cheese and served on a crispy wonton with chervil beurre blanc).
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Sounds too ritzy for my tastes.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Regardless Jenjen, I'm the paying customer, so I'll sit where I want, or I won't come back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Sounds like racism to me. I'd stage a protest, a sit in or picket the place. We can not have a color blind society till we make dang sure the Euro-Americans consider 'color' when seating people, or handling complaints or any other issue concerning people of differing colors. I'd fight the fight myself but I don't see color. People tell me I'm chartreuse.. I don't know .. I have to take their word for it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Stew, make some sense will you!

It sounds racist to me as well but you don't know and that is just keeping the hate alive. Perhapts if the op would come back and give us a few more details we could help. It almost looks like they were just seated in a place for a large group or something like that.

Stop spreading the hate Stew.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
I would add something else but promised to shut up after my last post. Never break a promise.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-05-09:
I agree 100% with lidman. How many reviews will you be shouting racism this week stew?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
slim, as many as Stew can.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Sparticus: ".......it happens with age... dress... general appearance... etc".
That said it for me.
My ex-wife and I were once seated by the kitchen door at a trendy pizza joint at the time. We never went back and the place went out of business. Racism is bad for any business, so you can either ask to sit somewhere else, LEAVE or dine at a place where you feel slighted.
Besides my good friend that carries around the "bullhorn" has much bigger fish to fry......Peace.

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Super, Too Late!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-09:
Lol, Zzork, now in some restaurants the "trendiest" table is actually IN the kitchen!~
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-10:
Oh really, Puck?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-10:
They do ZZ, They reserve the tables for high octane people with no real life.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-10:
Why did you not ask your server for a different table, also maybe they always put you at the same table because you don't say anything or because you make a scene in front of other customers. It is not because of your skin colour, get over yourself.
Posted by firstrateconsumer on 2007-06-03:
Ah the ever beloved RACE CARD and here we go again. I'm a white 58 yr OLD female and have been put in MANY crappy locations - still trying to figure out why (can't be because it's just 'luck of the draw') now if only I was Black I'd finally understand WHY whenever I'm seated at in a less desirable location. Give me a break and get over it.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.