[X]

Eastside Chrysler Jeep Complaint - Dealership practices bait and switch tactic

Review by shigatsu on 2007-05-14
BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- Went to this dealership requesting a specific Jeep Wrangler Sport 2006. Salesman promised us this Jeep but said it had to come from a dealer 3 hours away. Had to sign a form to receive this Jeep. Was told if not the vehicle we wanted they would work with us. The next day our Jeep arrived late in the evening (found out later Jeep arrived from a dealership located about 30 minutes away). Did not have all the features we requested. Was told by the salesman this is what we purchased and too bad. The dealership would not work with us. Also they financed our loan with a lender at a higher interest rate than originally intended out of retaliation to our complaint of the sale. I suggest to anyone interested in purchasing a Jeep not to buy from this dealership.
No phony lures my rear end.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-07-31
Posted by MRM on 2007-05-14:
I love Jeeps. I currently own a 1988 Jeep Cherokee and it runs EXCELLENT due to my rigorous maintanance schedule. I look forward to buy a Jeep Commander or Patriot in the near future.
Posted by GWbiker on 2007-05-14:
Did YOU sign the sales purchase contract before the vehicle arrived for your inspection?
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-05-14:
You should have walked away without the Jeep. If they wanted to try to enforce their contract, let them try it in front of a judge.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-05-14:
Why did you sign the paperwork in the first place?Especially the finance contract! All you would had to do was politely or furiously got up and left the establishment....end of story.
Posted by runaway on 2007-05-15:
If you HAD to sign a purchase contract, at least make sure it has an excape clause that allows you to void the contract after inspecting the vehicle, if it is not satisfactory/meet contract specifications. The contract should also specify EXACTLY what options the vehicle must have, and if it doesn't, then that should void it ("this contract is for a vehicle with x,y, and z, which the delivered vehicle doesn't contain" you see?). The contract should also be contingent upon financing at no higher than XXX%. It can be done, that's how I've bought plenty of "ordered" vehicles, and I have walked away from a few that didn't come in as ordered (also got a few TREMEMDOUS discounts, when I agreed to take the "wrong" vehicle)
Posted by shigatsu on 2007-05-15:
Hi. Thank you for your responses. I love Jeep vehicles and this was not my first Chrysler Jeep purchase. I've had good experiences at other dealerships.

Before the vehicle showed up I signed a paper listing the vehicle's features and vin#. The day the vehicle showed up I was suppose to finish the financial paperwork but since the vehicle did not have all of the desired features (it did not even come with floor mats) I did not provide the rest of the information. The loan was originally suppose to be with a credit union but was placed under a bank loan at a higher interest rate than stated on the contract. I still have not received my copy of the service agreement. Yes I should not have . I learned a valuable lesson.
Posted by getitdone on 2007-06-25:
when i have good experiences with a dealer i go back there. not somewhere else.
Posted by shigatsu on 2007-06-26:
Don't assume anything. You think for one second I would do business a second time with this dealership? Those other dealerships I mentioned have nothing to do with this. Furthermore they are located in another state. Had they been local I would have returned to them.
Posted by shigatsu on 2008-07-31:
Just found out this dealership went out of business. There were a lot of complaints made about this dealership which had a poor reputation for conducting business.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.