[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Sunrise Palms Complaint - Management Stealing part of Deposit promised

Review by Suave on 2007-05-19
ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA -- I move in to Sunrise Palms Apartment on 10/01/04- Laurie the manager did a walk through inspection. She decline to do a walk through inspection,when I ask to. I move out on 4/17/07 - I give my 30 days notice and patch the little hole from picture frames, decoration and clean-up the place. Laurie charge me for cleaning the place and things that management has to normally do for new tenants. They remodel the apartments when tenants move out, Placing new carpets, new flooring tiles, new bath tubs, painting, etc. I've seen this since I put there 2.5 years. This remodeling shouldn't come out of tenants expense. They are Ripping me off and other people in the Apartment complex. Charging for cleaning the carpet, when in fact they replace the apartment with new carpets and rise the rent anyway.
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-05-21
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-05-19:
Well, $163 isn't that much. What did they charge you for? They have to itemize it and send you a letter.
Posted by Sparticus on 2007-05-19:
$163 isn't too bad for being there 2 1/2 years... Though it is tough to say what is normal wear and tear versus something you should be responsible for. Does your lease say any where that you are required to pay for the cleaning?

Related story... When my wife and I were moving out of our last apartment, she stood on a small burn mark in the carpeting during the entire inspection while chatting with the person... They never noticed. It was almost unnoticeable anyway, but I'm sure they would have charged us to replace all the carpeting if they noticed it. Though they did end up charging us $25 for not cleaning out the inside of the microwave... =)
Posted by bill on 2007-05-19:
You don't know for sure they are replacing your carpet. You were only there 2 1/2 years. I doubt every apartment gets a new bathtub and flooring every 2 1/2 years.
Posted by dfields on 2007-05-20:
contact your State Attorney. they will be able to advise of what is considered normal wear and tear and demand from management they provide a list of expensives they held you responsible for. also, if they owe you part of or all of your depoist, they will be ordered to pay interest (code of ordiances). i had trouble a few years ago in Baltimore and contacted my State Attorney and they did all the work for me! the landlord had to refund ALL of my deposit and pay me 4% interest for every day he was late issuing payment (he owed several months). deposits MUST be settled after 45 days in Baltimore. it is worth the call!
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-05-21:
By law you should get an itemized list of the charges within 30 days or your entire deposit has to be returned. Remind them of this.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.