[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Coca Cola Bottling Tempe, AZ Complaint - Coke Driver Blocking Handicap Parking

Review by Starlord on 2007-05-22
COOLIDGE, ARIZONA -- My wife pulled into the lot at the Safeway store in Coolidge, AZ this morning, to find a Coca Cola delivery truck blocking the one handicap space where we can extend our ramp to load and unload our scooters. My wife asked the driver not to block handicap parking in the future. He replied in a very snotty tone, "There are other handicap spaces.: She told him we had a ramp to extend, and he just shrugged his shoulders as he walked away.

He spent at least an hour filling two Coke vending machines, with his truck blocking one traffic lane, as well as the handicap parking space in question.
We took photos of the truck, showing it blocking the handicap parking, and it will be posted to caughtya.com, which is where we can post drivers violating handicap parking all over the world.

The doors of the truck said Cocal Cola Bottling Co. Tempe, AZ, and the truck number was 99L515842. Unfortunately, the coolidge Police Dept. is useless when it comes to enforcing handicap parking, while the Casa Grande Police Dept. is so eager beaver that they will ticket a taxicab with the engine running and in gear, while dropping off a passenger, and nowhere near handicap parking. The citation was dismissed because the officer did not show up in court. But he did make the driver sweat for three weeks whether she would have to pay $200.
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-06-14
Posted by MRM on 2007-05-22:
Caughtya.com does not exist...
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-05-22:
It's caughtya.org
Posted by Starlord on 2007-05-22:
Thank you, Brenda. I often mistakenly put .com when it is really .org. Mrm, thank you also, but it would be nicer if you were a bit less curt. I do appreciate the help.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-22:
Why didn't you call his boss?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-22:
starlord, why didn't you block him in? He needed to be blocked in and he had no right to do that, there was no "loading sign" there right?
Posted by sabletaz on 2007-05-22:
Some people are just plain rude and inconsiderate....
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-22:
Seems a lot of truck drivers are pretty thoughtless about the needs of others. Yes, I know their large trucks might have more specific needs than some of us, and that without them the store we're trying to get into might not have what we were looking for but....
Ugh. Being a truck driver does NOT give a person the right to cut someone off, block two lanes of traffic while they back in, pull out, back in again, (repeat four more times) trying to get just the right position. I've had this happen to me twice in different locations. It doesn't give the right to park behind a row of cars, blocking them all in while you go into the store and buy a drink and bag of chips!?!?!?!?! ESPECIALLY when there is plenty of room to park even your big truck elsewhere in the parking lot....

Okay, enough, but I'm just saying, a lot of truck drivers can be really inconsiderate. I hope that your problem is in some way resolved.
Posted by Starlord on 2007-05-23:
Lidman, your response gave me a smile. There is no way in the world that a Ford Windstar can block what appeared to be a truck built on a frame similar to a Ford 650. If I parked in front of him, he'd just back up, if I parked behind, he'd pull forward, and with his attitude, he's have probably just driven over us, and no, it is definitely not a loading zone. zzrokk, the wife got a phone number and email address for Coke in Tempe, but so far, no response. Tonight, we went into Wal-Mart to pick up some things we needed. and there was a Harley sitting in the crosshatch section by one handicap space. I got ready to take a pic of the bike, for caughtya.org, when the rider showed up and began putting stuff in the saddlebags. he tried to stand between me and the license plate, but I already had recorded it. Speaking to my wife a bit louder than normal, that someone should know better, as he was either a prison guard or jail officer, due to the class c uniform and duty belt. I tend to think prison guard, because the SO issues the Baretta, and this was definitely a Glock pistol.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-05-23:
imjustasteph, a lot of car drivers are pretty thoughtless about the needs of others too, so what's your point?

starlord, I should start carrying my camera with me so I can post some pics!
Posted by poppapia on 2007-05-23:
Did you file a complaint with the store management?
Posted by Starlord on 2007-05-23:
Brenda, we carry a digital camera with us at all times now. It not only helps with violators, but also gives us ammo for a Writ of Mandamus to be filed shortly on the Coolidge PD. pop, complaining to the store does not do a lot of good, but this Wal-Mart will announce on the PA for the owner to move the offending vehicle, but the store cannot enforce the parking laws, that is entirely in the purview of the police agency with jurisdiction.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-05-24:
Starlord...when you post a review on here, we now have to option to post a picture with it. I wish you would have posted it with this review because a picture really is worth a thousand words...you can still post in on your blog if you'd like to get the message out.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-26:
Brenda, truck drivers are expected to be better drivers. That's why they have an extra, separate test. And part of being a good driver is being aware of your surroundings- their affect on you, and yours on them.

Plus, a thoughtless guy in a huge truck can cause a lot more damage/trouble/annoyance than a thoughtless guy in a small car.
Posted by Starlord on 2007-06-14:
Just to let everyone know, the better half got a letter from a supervisor at Coca-Cola in Tempe, AZ. He identified himself as the supervisor of the driver in question, and assured her that the driver had been counselled about his actions and attitude.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.