[X]
Feedburner count

Carlisle'S Gas Station Complaint - Gasoline Pumps

Review by Dianne 52 on 2007-05-25
PHENIX CITY, ALABAMA -- I purchased gas from this store and did not realize how much I had pumped. I paid for 5.00 Then went inside and was told I had pumped 7.08. I had no extra cash so I had to call my sister to bring me 2.08. Someone needs to check these pumps. If I can find the deliver I will file a formal complaint. Oh by the way i failed to mention the pumps are using the last 2 squares on the pumps (from rite to left) so it does appear the pump said .70 and it was running real slow, so before ya'll jump on me let me get the record straight.i never saw the .08 until i went back in to question what i had pumped. Had i been one of those people that just drive off, i have been told by Alabama Attorney General's office i couldve driven off. This station will be checked into.
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-05-29
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-05-25:
Well folks...it's Friday and the start of a long holiday weekend. There had to be a post that would set things off right...and this one was it. Dianne 52...are you being serious? I mean, you look at the pump and it tells you how many gallons and how much you pumped. If you over pumped then you owe...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
If you paid for $5.00 doesnt the pump just shut off at $5.00?I havent seen a pump that doenst shut off when you reach the purchase ammount.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-05-25:
DIANNE, PLEASE STOP YELLING AT ME! When you do so, I can't hear my own screaming over the $3.49/gal. price in my area.

I agree with you, rhondam. I keep looking at the $$$ mount up while the tears are streaming from my eyes. First time in my life I wished I had a bicycle. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Also, look on the side of the pump. There should be a label with month day and year punched out that indicates when the last time the pump was inspected and calibrated.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Dianne, here are a few tips for this long weekend:
1) WATCH THE PUMP WHILE GASSING UP. (they don't always shut off)
2) Unless you are on a SCOOTER that five dollars won't be taking you far.
Posted by MRM on 2007-05-25:
One time, I had prepaid a gas for 10.00 and when I was filling my gas, the pump did not shut off at 10.00... it kept going. It was a pump malfunction.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-05-25:
OK--I'll bite! How did this post get redone? My first response doesn't make any sense now. Then on the other hand, did it ever? :)

MRM, did you have to pay the difference or did they just let it slide because of the pump malfunction?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Something's not adding up here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
You counting payroll again?
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-05-25:
If I put 5 bucks in my tank i'd probably make it 10 blocks.
Posted by MRM on 2007-05-25:
I let the pump go past 10.00 and drove off. I should have told the store clerk but I was in a rush.
Posted by MRM on 2007-05-25:
$3.01 for regular in Norfolk,VA...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
I like your style MRM.

Here we go again for pete's sake. Another helpful and educational review is scoffed at by some of the more cynical users.
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-25:
I think some aren't automatic....I know that once I was daydreaming and let it go past the amount I had prepaid, and went in to tell the owner (the owner was actually ALWAYS in, and the store was a block from us- he'd trusted me once before when I'd had problems with my debit card not scanning) that I'd bring him back the extra couple of dollars.

His response was, Sorry, I forgot to stop it.

Which tells me that he either literally was going to stop it from inside when I reached the amount, OR he meant that he forgot to set it to stop automatically- English was a second language for this guy and though he spoke it well, it wasn't always perfect.

So my point is (I ramble so) nope, not all of 'em are automatic.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Stewart: I beg your pardon?!! Whatever are you talking about kind sir? We are merely expressing our M3C, Mr. Tung.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Zzork, report to the loading dock, more office furniture has arrived!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Well start unloading it, "lumper".
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
Contact the nearest "Division of weights and Measurements" in your area. --->provided you are truely serious.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-25:
My fee for that information is $5.00.
Posted by Skye on 2007-05-25:
That post has to be a joke. If it's not, I guess the op has to file a complaint against themselves for not paying attention.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-05-26:
It's always someone else's fault
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-05-29:
By the way.....as for calling someone to bring you more money: Once I was only getting three dollars worth of gas, because three dollars was quite literally all I had at the moment. Not 'all I had on me' but literally ALL I had. (This was back when three dollars could get me to town and back. Thankfully I don't let myself get quite that strapped anymore.)

Anyway, for whatever reason, the pump wouldn't start. The cashier stormed out and did something to it, and it started- and she put the little thingamabob that holds it so it keeps going. And before I could get past her to grab it, it hit $4 and change. I told her all I had was the $3, and she said, well, just bring it by later. I explained that no, literally, the $3 was what I had, and she said, Oh well, the till would just be short a dollar (I scrounged enough change from the floor of my car that I was actually under a dollar short).

It was arguably not my fault, and no one demanded I pay the buck difference or go to jail or whatever.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.