[X]

4
Helpful
Votes

Florida Solar Complaint - No goods/services provided after $2000 deposit

Review by Gillian on 2007-05-31
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- We had a contract with Florida Solar {691 Progress Way, Sanford, FL 32771, Phone: (407) 323-2070 , Toll Free: 1-800-647-6527 , Fax: (407) 323-2072} to install 6 solar panels on our roof to heat our pool. The contract was signed on April 28, 2007 and they did not install the panels within the 7-10 days promised in the contract. We paid them a check of $2000 deposit and they cashed it right away before the right to recind date on the contract. We have been lied to and the people at Florida Solar have avoided our calls and not returned messages. When we finally got in touch with them after the 7-10 day window, we said we wanted a firm date when the panels would be installed, or we wanted our money back. On Friday, May 11th, the sales person told us that the owner himself committed to make sure the panels are installed no later than Tuesday May 15th, 2007. The owner left my husband a message stating that he wanted to make sure that the sales person relayed his message to us that they panels would be installed by Tuesday. Tuesday May 15th rolled around and the panels did not get installed. The Florida Solar scheduler called and left a message on our answering maching but said nothing about why they weren't installing the panels that day. She just said that the panels would be installed sometime in the next few days and they'd call us back to let us know when. At that point, my husband and I both left messages yet again with the sales person, the customer service rep, and the owner. The person that finally called us back was Jack, the Sales Manager. He argued on the phone with me for a half hour while I demanded my money back. He had no good explanation as to why the panels were not installed by the Tuesday that the owner promised. He refused to give the money back and said he would talk to the owner and call back the next morning with a final answer. The next morning Jack and the customer service rep, Jennifer, called my husband and argued with him for a half hour. They had not indicated that they had ever spoken to the owner about our issue, and they continued to refuse to give our money back. It is now May 31, 2007 and we still have not heard back from them. I left a message last week with the owner and he did not return my call. Over the period of the last month since we signed the contract, my husband and I have left countless messages on the voicemails of the scheduler, the sales person, the customer service representative and the owner. We only had our calls returned twice. On May 16, 2007 we sent Florida Solar a certified letter stating that the terms of our contract were not met by them and we wanted our $2000 back. We stated we would take further action, including formal complaints and legal action if we did not hear back from them. We have not heard back from them since they received our letter.

I will not go into great detail of what they have said on the phone and what their conduct has been, except to say that they have been rude, have tried to avoid talking to us, have outright lied to us, have treated us as if we do not matter as customers and have been unethical. I have never had such a bad experience with another company before. I am so disappointed not only that I can't get my money back, but to see that there is such a dishonest company out there potentially preying on other consumers. They owe me my $2000 back because they did not live up to their contract and have not provided their goods/service. At this point, I am left to pursue this in court.

Note, I know I am not the only customer of Florida Solar that has been going through this. There is even proof on the Complaints.com webiste that there is at least one other consumer that has given money to Florida Solar and has not received any goods/service. I have also heard through other channels that there have been customers fighting to get their deposit back from Florida Solar. This is just a warning to anyone thinking of doing business with this company.
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-05-04
Posted by Dirtydave on 2007-05-31:
I would contact one of the local consumer advocate reporters. Fox 35 and the like, this is the kind of story they love to get on the air. It might not help in getting your deposit back but it will expose these people for the creeps they are, before even more people get ripped off.

CENTRAL FLORIDA NEWS 13

20 N Orange Ave
(407) 513-1300
Orlando, FL 32801-2414

Channel 13

Newsroom (407) 513-1313


Channel 13 News

20 N Orange Ave
(407) 650-8276
Orlando, FL 32801-2414

Channel 2 WESH-TV

1021 N Wymore Rd
(407) 645-2222
Eatonville

FOX 35

Lake Mary (407) 644-3535


Posted by chemman on 2007-05-31:
You can also use the following site to send out your complaint to all your local tv stations for free. I found it the other day and seems like it would be a good way to send it out to all of them at once, it will save you time and effort;

http://www.complaint.tv/
Posted by Dirtydave on 2007-05-31:
You Rock Chemman! Awsome link!
Posted by Gillian on 2007-06-02:
Thanks for the ideas. I will definitely go that route of contacting the news agencies!
Posted by donna2011 on 2011-05-04:
This company is out of business. Their name was Florida Solar Tech.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.