[X]

Walmart - in Kalamazoo, MI Complaint - Seating at the entrance

Review by alpine on 2007-06-03
KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- You have built a brand new SUPER CENTER just off m43 in Kalamazoo. Its beautiful BUT if you are waiting for someone else to be done shopping there is no place to sit at the entrance either inside or out. I sat on a handicap riding shopping cart that was being charged for over 45 minutes waiting for my daughter to be done spending money in your store. For being a customer friendly store IT IS NOT. I wonder how long Sam Walton would have stood around without complaining. What would it cost to have a few benches around for older people at the entrance to sit on. They sure are not going to sleep on them over night. At least the older WalMart stores had seating.

Thank You
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-06-05
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-06-03:
Ummm....why didn't you walk with your daughter? Every superwalmart I have seen has some sort of restaurant in there. What was wrong there?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-06-03:
I believe that in the early days, Sam Walton would follow you around until you purchased something.
Actually, the handicap carts are much better than hard benches.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-03:
I'll probably take a lashing for this, but I have to ask. ejack, do you ever have anything nice to say or do you only think of sarcastic comments?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-03:
You just noticed that ejack is rude to people now justcuz.
Posted by tickytack on 2007-06-04:
I didn't realize stores were required to provide lounges.

Bottom line - you should have either shopped with your daughter or not gone at all. Walmart is not required to provide you with creature comforts. YOU were not the one spending money there; your daughter was.
Posted by alpine on 2007-06-04:
I am the one who posted the complaint. I had already done my $50.00 worth of shopping in walmart and I was waiting for her to get done. There is not a restaurant in site by the entrance to the store. It is still not customer friendly like the older stores are. Even the greeter said there have been numerous complaints about this same thing.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-06-04:
When I get tired of shopping with my wife, I just go to my car and wait.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-06-04:
alpine, I believe it's a case of poor planning on your part. Whenever a friend and I part ways while shopping together, we agree on a time and place to meet--even if there 'is not a restaurant in site by the entrance...' It's not the cost of the benches that's annoying, it's the groups that congregate around such a setting. Go back to read the 'complaint' about the Lexington TN store where some hangers-on decided to use the riding carts at 1:00am with none of them being handicapped. Physically, that is. Mentally, perhaps.

jktshff1, I see you read Sam's book too, right? Seems he really wasn't the warm, fuzzy guy all the Wal*Mart haters purport him to be. Since the words came from his mouth to the pen on paper, I guess it must be so. But I'll certainly give credit where credit is due. He was a good salesman and laid a very good foundation for the company.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-06-04:
Ponie, If you don't have knowledge about something, at least a little bit, it's hard to have an intelligent discussion. I love debate and have read the Bible, Koran (yea old spelling), Torah, writings of Budda etc...just so I can discuss them with someone. Keeps your mind active.
Posted by alpine on 2007-06-04:
I do hope all you customer bashers will find a place to sit and wait for a family member when you are 85 years old and the temerature is 89 degree outside. Who would want to sit in a car??? Have a good day..........
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-06-04:
Alpine,
I am old, have handicap tags, and said I went to my car, not necessarily sit in it. I "people watch". I don't care how hot or cold it is, it still beats following the Mrs around with her asking questions like "does this make me look fat?, I don't look good in this, do I?". Now you all know there is no way to answer those questions without getting in trouble.
Plus, you never know what you are going to see.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2007-06-04:
Alpine, I agree, they need some sort of seats for people to wait, some folks are not physically able to stand more than a few minutes, walking can be stressful if you hurt with every step. It was 109 at 10:30 this morning, I for one am NOT going to wait outside in the heat, and I don't expect my hubby to either. He can't load his scooter in the van until I load mine. That's how they fit and there isn't doing it another way. Our walmart stores have park bench type seats at the entrance and throughout the stores, its nice to take a little break, especially if you are waiting for someone. My grandma used to go with us and she'd always be done first, and she'd patiently wait at a bench where she could watch for one of us, she was 91, refused the scooters at the store, but she was limited on the distance she could go at a time....sure do miss her!
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-06-04:
justcuz...how was I not nice? Please explain!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-04:
your comments are generally sarcastic and don't seem to make the posters feel welcome to post their concerns or complaints. Just my opinion of course, I could be way off base.
Posted by firstrateconsumer on 2007-06-05:
Find a better place to shop than Wal-mart. Nasty, evil place - your nice new pretty store won't be that way for long so enjoy it while you can - it will soon enough be old and dirty looking. Typical walmart
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-06-05:
justcuz...go take a flying leap off the tallest bridge! You know squat about me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-05:
Apparently I wasn't way off base, thank you for clarifying for me, ejack.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.