[X]
Feedburner count

Auto Complaint - Lemons are not just fruit

Review by mamaduksb on 2007-06-05
BROOKLAWN, NEW JERSEY -- I know I should have known better than to go to a friend to buy a car. I'm learning a very good lesson. To make a long story short. He's a buy here pay here. I first gave more than half down on a Pontiac. I was told I had in house warranty. Well, the very next day I started calling. The gas tank didn't work. The stearing was pulling to the right. The petal had to be pushed down to the floor with a squeal. No horn, no air, also as it was turned on it made a high squealing sound. Ok this went on for over 5 months. He wasn't in or he had another car his mechanic was working on. Or I had to take my daughter to the doctors. Always, something. Finaly I had enough. I really gotten scared when I was on the highway with my daughter by myself and the car staled. So I had it towed there. He agreed it was a hazzard and wasn't safe. Mind you I hadn't missed one payment. He gave me another one. Not as nice a Taurus and charged an extra thousand dollars. Again, the sticker said no Warranty and he told me again I had in house. Here's the kicker I only had this one for a week, paper tag still in it. He called to say theres no tax and the I can come get my old tags. I told him theres a problem with the fuel tank it keeps saying empty and dinging and the passanger window won't go up. When I got there for the old tags back. He said he had to take it to get it inspected. Well it FAILED. Now I'm supposedly liable for another hundred dollars to fix the inspection. Now, is this right? Do I have any rights? Even with no warranty shouldn't he at least be liable for a safe car?
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-06-10
Posted by SAJ on 2007-06-05:
Unfortunately, in most states you have no rights with a used vehicle once you drive it off the lot. You should have had it inspected prior to purchase by another mechanic, but it's too late now. Hopefully, your "friend" will make it right with you, but I won't be holding my breath. Also, use spellcheck or a dictionary next time you post something.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-06-05:
Did you check the muffler bearings to?
Posted by eelyak on 2007-06-05:
What a great friend you have.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-05:
Yikes!!!! I did a little research on NJ law and cannot find where used auto dealers are required to do ANY type of inspection to the car prior to sale. Not even a simple saftey or emissions inspection!!! What happened to you would be illegal in most states in this country. From what you posted there is not even an FTC (Federal Trade Commission) violation. The only long shot you have legally is if the state inspection expired prior to your purchase. Try contacting your states attorney, they should be able to advise you on your rights (if you have any) and maybe even mediate a compromise. Sorry, not much help on this one but NJ law sucks. Good Luck
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-05:
"Buy here, Pay here" is red flag number one. Still, why does anybody buy a car from anybody without checking it out first? Things go wrong with cars and that's not always the fault of the seller. Things break, you pay to get them fixed. That's how it works where I live. Pay someone a few dollars to check out your car before you purchase it. Most of the small lots that do financing are notorious for selling junk, selling at high-interest, and they know they will probably get the car back to sell again!
Posted by Starlord on 2007-06-06:
Apparently, in-house warranty means it is good as long as you don't take it out of the house (lot.) I used to make extra money doing repos for a couple of buy here, pay here lots, and I assure you, I would never have bought a car from any of them. Judge Maria notwithstanding, when you buy from a buy here- pay here lot, your car is "AS IS," which means you take the car as it sits, no warranty. The salesmen will give you a great song and dance about what they will do, but if it ain't on the contract, it don't exist. you cannot sue over a promise made by any salesman, manager, boss, whatever.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-06-06:
Ewww, I hate Judge Maria, she's so fake! Anyway, yeah, what everyone else said.
Posted by adzidek on 2007-06-06:
Gas tanks aren't supposed to "work". You either have one or you don't. And I'd be interested to see if you can find someone to repair a "petal" or the "stearing". And there's nothing worse than a car that "stales".
Posted by imjustasteph on 2007-06-06:
Sheriff- My father in law just bought a new (used) car. He walked up here to tell us about the buying experience. He told his son, "They asked me didn't I want to test drive it. I said why am I gonna try it if I'm gonna buy it!!"

I figured if that was his logic I wouldn't even TRY to open a dialogue about it.
Posted by runaway on 2007-06-06:
Any car on a used lot is AS-IS, no warranty, UNLESS it specifically states in the contract that the seller is responsible for certain repairs, or is offering a warranty (with terms spelled out). Friend or no friend, get it in writing.
Posted by mamaduksb on 2007-06-07:
I'd like to thank everyone for there words of encouragement. LOL So what your saying is I should of at least slept with him because I kind of already got ****ed! Story of my life. Thankx I'll keep ya's posted
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-07:
You should rethink the whole thing.
Posted by zonibrat on 2007-06-10:
try contacting the Dealer Association (each state has 1 - try Trenton area. Also, contact BBB and Consumer Affairs - they actually represented me years ago with a dealer/repair place at no cost & were great help. Good Luck

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.