[X]

9
Helpful
Votes

Mr. Spriggs BBQ Compliment - Smoked pig and the American dream.

Review by 14600 on 2007-06-21
MIDWEST CITY, OK -- The sign out front says "We're not fast food – We're good food". This is not a marketing slogan but rather a very honest warning. They have awesome food but you'd be well advised to bring a magazine cause it might be awhile.

Mr. Spriggs is a family owned BBQ joint in Midwest City Oklahoma. A favorite of the service men and woman of Tinker AFB. The epitome of the American dream. A retired fireman sinking his entire retirement into what has become a very successful business. A few years ago the Midwest City council used the powers of eminent domain to forcibly remove Spriggs from his primo location outside the gates of the AFB to an old vacant Burger King in order to make way for a Semi-Super Target and Lowes. Great commentary on the state of the American dream but why digress.

The service at Spriggs is legendarily bad. If you have a complaint you'll probably be asked to leave. The hours posted on the door are 11 to 9 but this place will close at the drop of a hat; snow, rain, humidity or heck if they just feel like it. Many a time I've stopped by at around 7PM only to find locked doors. The entire staff is mostly family and friends. Although attitude isn't on the menu it is served up daily. They're the best and they know it. You may not find smiley faces or a thank you at Spriggs but you will find absolutely the best BBQ in the world.

I am BBQ lover. I've eaten at all the great legends of BBQ. Author Bryants in Kansas City, the rendezvous in Memphis, Sonny Bryants in Texas and the so called BBQ in the Carolinas. I must say Spriggers is absolutely the best! The ribs are good beyond description. The pulled pork is to die for. The BBQ beans are very unique and de-lish. As with all great BBQ the secret is in the sauce and Spriggs sauces never disappoint. Mild, hot and the uneatable 9-11 which has become a right to passage for the blow hard braggarts who think there's nothing in the world too hot to eat - they quickly learn they were wrong!

I always get the same thing – A slab of ribs, a pound of pulled pork, BBQ beans and fried Okra which comes in at around 25 bucks which is pretty reasonable. So if you ever find your self in the slums of Midwest City Oklahoma lock the doors, hide your valuables and keep you mouth shut but also stop by Mr. Spriggs - you'll be glad you did!

In the modern day corporate world of plastic food and dispensable people it's nice to see the American dream in full bloom.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-11-02
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-21:
I will have to say this is a long review but a good one Stew, I know emt_c will like it as well.

I will have to try this place next time I am there.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-21:
How's the brisket? Nice review but did you do it all by yourself? Being the weight watcher that you are my friend, you should be giving us your take on the COLE SLAW with a small side of the BBQ'd CHICKEN! Thanks....
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-21:
LOL! Zzrokk, I must agree, good post!
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-06-21:
Good review Stewart. We cant get barbecue like that in Philly. But then again you cant get a cheesesteak in Oklahoma. "Very helpful"
Posted by rnick821 on 2007-06-21:
Good review...I have to disagree with one thing, though...Arthur Bryants in KC is really horrible. Way too salty. Almost any BBQ I have had is better than A.B.

I will try this place next time I'm in the neighborhood.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-21:
Lids, I am just doing my part to help get Stewart out of those hideous elastic waistband pants and into "regular clothing" like the rest of us. *Richard Simmons agrees*
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-06-21:
Good review Stewie...They really don't close when they feel like it...they close whenever they see you coming...all the customers hide under tables and they lock the door....make a U-Turn the next time and you will find the place packed once they think it's safe and Stew-Proof.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-06-21:
Stew, great post. In Memphis and the area, there are BQ places that cook enough for the day and shut the doors when they run out (not that many though just a couple)this may be the reason for the odd hours.
I'm gonna get slammed for this next statement:
ZZ, I really like a good brisket,no I love it!, and it took me 2yrs to really learn how to cook a good one. That being said notice I did not say BQ one. You can roast a cow, grill a cow, boil a cow, baste it, cook it anyway you want to.
BUT: Barbecue is a DEAD PIG.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-22:
jktshff1 - I was gonna say the same thing. You is SO RIGHT!
Posted by Starlord on 2007-06-22:
There is a BBQ place now in Coolidge that, due to limited space, can only prepare so much of all the items on their menu. When they run out of food, they close. Usually they close arouned 4 to 5 PM. the food is fantastic, and they have the best sweet potato pie I ever ate. fantastic place.

Remember, a pig has no other purpose in life than to taste good.
Posted by Josh n MWC on 2012-11-02:
First off I don t think they even deserve 1 star!!!! I ordered a turkey sandwich for lunch today. I think DOG FOOD WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER TO EAT!!! It came Sliced and then fried on the Grill. I think the meat was pre sliced prior to smoking. Processed The meat was not even real turkey. Some wierd processed meat. It was so greasy that the meat was sliding out of the bun. Worst BBQ EVER!!! THEY WERE OUT OF EVERYTHING EXCEPT TURKEY!!!! HOW DO YOU EXPECT TO STAY IN BUSINESS WHEN YOU ONLY HAVE ONE KIND OF MEAT ON A LUNCH RUSH? MY WARNING TO MY FELLOW MAN IS DO NOT EVER....AND I MEAN EVER....EAT AT MR SPRIGGS BBQ IN MWC Sincerely Joshua Fischer

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.