[X]

5
Helpful
Votes

FBI Informative - FBI Warning: Don't Open DOJ Emails

Review by 23169 on 2007-06-30
Breaking from NewsMax.com
FBI: Don't Open DOJ Emails

According to an advisory issue this week by the FBI, the Department of Justice has recently become aware of fraudulent spam e-mail messages claiming to be from the Department of Justice, or DOJ.

Based upon complaints from the public, it is believed that the fraudulent messages are addressed "Dear Citizen," says the agency. The messages are believed to assert that the recipients or their businesses have been the subject of complaints filed with DOJ and also forwarded to the Internal Revenue Service.

In addition, such email messages may provide a case number, and state that the complaint was "filled [sic] by Mr. Henry Stewart." A DOJ logo may appear at the top of the email message or in an attached file, warned the FBI.

Finally, the message may include an attachment that supposedly contains a copy of the complaint and contact information for Mr. Stewart.

The Department of Justice did not send these unsolicited email messages-and would not send such messages to the public via email. Similar hoaxes have been recently perpetrated in the names of various governmental entities, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Federal Trade Commission, and the Internal Revenue Service.

Email users should be especially wary of unsolicited warning messages that purport to come from U.S. governmental agencies directing them to click on file attachments or to provide sensitive personal information.

These spam email messages are bogus and should be immediately deleted. Computers may be put at risk simply by an attempt to examine these messages for signs of fraud.

It is possible that by "double-clicking" on attachments to these messages, recipients will cause malicious software - e.g., viruses, keystroke loggers, or other Trojan horse programs - to be launched on their computers, concluded the warning.
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-07-02
Posted by MRM on 2007-06-30:
Thanks for the warning, Lidman! So far, I have not recieved any email from DOJ, but when I do, I will surely ignore it as I do with all my other emails that are not on my contact list.

**Heres another breaking news: gas price had just fallen, it is now $2.69 in Norfolk,VA. Gas might have fallen in your area.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Your welcome MRM and the gas here in Asheville NC is at $2.87 and falling.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-06-30:
Great post liddy! Phishers keep coming up with new ways to try and get those clicks. This is definitely one that people wouldn't suspect and need to be aware of.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Thank Slim!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Awesome, post, Liddy.

MRM, the gas prices are about the same here in VB.

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Thanks Emt_c and how is your evening?
Posted by Skye on 2007-06-30:
Great post Lidman, and very informative.

Gas prices here in Colorado Springs $3.11 for mid grade.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Thanks Skye! How are you tonight?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Skye is prob the bomb as always!!! Totally cool, that I can't hold a candle to it!

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-06-30:
Soon as one spammer/phisherman is caught onto...ten more come up! Thanks for the warning!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Why do you say that emt_c? You are the cool and a hottie!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
C'mon Liddy, you know I can't hold a candle to DB and Skye!

Posted by Skye on 2007-06-30:
Emt, you and DB are the original M3C hotties.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
NO! I'm not hot.

Well, Ok, maybe because I own an NCIS ball cap. That might get me in 'somewhere'.
ONLY GOD knows where.

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
emt_c, come here and I will show you how hot you are!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Oh, pumpkin(Liddy, darling), where am I going NOW?

NC????

Not too far, you know!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
It's not that far.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-06-30:
Liddy...better put on that asbestos suit first!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-30:
Way ahead of you DB!
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-07-02:
Thanks for the heads up Lid.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-02:
Any time Shawn...

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.