6
Helpful
Votes

Heidi's Deli. Informative - Good Portion But Very Bland.

Review by 15910 on 2007-07-19
DOWNTOWN DENVER, COLORADO -- Now as we all know Denver is no Mecca for delis by no means. We have a place called "New York Deli News" that is pretty good but the choices are pretty slim after that. We have the Subways, Quizno's and other chains but nothing that stacks up to a good ethnic east coast style deli in my opinion and other east coast transplants.
My "beef" with Heidi's is the blandness of the sandwich. I mean the meat piled on the sandwich was huge but I could barely taste it or the weak spicy mustard they put on it. I passed on any side orders so I can't speak on them but to make a long story short. If you are hungry go to Heidi's. It took me two days to eat the whole sandwich ($7.99) but if you are a self proclaimed food expert like me then make your own or steer me to the right place besides NYDN.
.
Comments:24 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-07-19
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Great Review ZZ,
I love the deli sandwiches,Pastrami being my favorite.
We have no place here in NorCal that has a good pastrami sandwich.
So when I visit my friends,and family in SoCal,I get to go to one of my favorite places for pastrami.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Thanks Steve, I love a good Pastrami sandwich is well. I figured that you had a few decent delis in Norcal. Oh, did I mention that I got gravely ill behind some bad mayo' at a now closed deli out here?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
There is a place right down the way from where i work,Its a Bar/Deli,the girls in there are nice to flirt with,and the sandwiches are huge,but the pastrami is lacking.

Back home there is a place called "Star Burger",and the pastrami is sooooo good.

No mayo for me....EVER!!!!
I do load up on the mustard
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
That was amout two years ago and that was it for me.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2007-07-19:
Good review! Thanks!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Steve, there is a good place in San Jose but I can't remember the name, I will get it for you they are all over out there and they have a very good Hot Pastrami sandwich. I just had one the last time I was there.

Zzrokk, Good review and I will steer clear of NYDN next time I am out that way. This is two for you this week, WOW! Maybe you should become a food critic?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
There was a place in Sacramento,called "the hot pastrami"
but one day we went there,and the whole building was gone.

I do go to San Jose every now and then,to go to Great America,and the San Jose skatepark.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Brenda, Lids, I thank you both. I mean this review is nowhere near that hardhittng informative about BEEF JERKY that a "trusted member" did a while back but I posted it anyway.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-07-19:
Thanks to you zz, I know all the good places to eat if I am ever in Denver. Another home run (and a very helpful vote)!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Ditto
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
"good places?" Seems he's only complained about stuff?
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-07-19:
No pirate, zz has given use both positive and negative reviews on different establishments. Do you ever get tired of being wrong?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Slim, he doesn’t know wrong from right that’s why he’s PeebrainWitlessPumkin, * Stew Agrees *
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Not about you, slim. I don't recall any positive reviews, particularly any of consequence regarding Denver eateries.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Thanks for the votes and all....Pirate, do you not remember my Famous Dave's BBQ complimentary review that you and Stewart Googled up a review from years ago about the place? I bet everyone else does.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
no.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Selective memory there, Pops or early signs of Alzheimers?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Flipper!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
No, your informatives just aren't very compelling or memorable.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
zzrokk don't tell stories about me. Despite that though you do know your food... I voted this review very helpful and "Add to Del.icio.us"... but I didn't "post to dig" cause you're dragging my good name through the mud. That's not very nice.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Stewart, you have more "stuffing and brown gravy" on you than a Christmas Goose!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
Looks like a decent place, maybe you just ordered wrong.


http://heidisbrooklyndeli.com/photospage.html
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-07-19:
Gee, I think I'll go with the opinion of the one speaking "from real world experience, not just google"!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-19:
How's the AC?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.