[X]

4
Helpful
Votes

El rancho Grande Compliment - Food quality - mexican restaurant

Review by old fart on 2007-07-26
SAGINAW, MICHIGAN -- El Rancho grande is probably the only authentic Mexican restaurant in this part of Michigan whose food is authentic. Virtually all the others in the Saginaw area cater to Northern Gringos. All the sauces and guacamole are made from scratch every day and the prices are extremely reasonable considering the quality and quantity of the meals. It isn't in the best part of town ( N. Michigan avenue) But it's well worth the visit. The service might be a little slow compared to other places but it is well worth the wait.
Comments:20 Replies - Latest reply on 2008-05-15
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-26:
Thanks for your helpful review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-26:
Great post Old Fart!
I Love the "Authentic" stuff myself!
I found a little Mexican bakery,that happens to serve up some of the best Carne Asada ive ever had,And its super close!

"very helpful" as well
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-07-26:
Great review old fart. Very helpful.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-07-26:
My boss took us to an El Rancho for lunch a few weeks ago and it was pretty good for Mexican food. I'd go there again.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-26:
Mmmmmmmm....carne asada **drooling**

Great review, authentic is always good!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-26:
old fart, this is a good review! thanks old timer
Very helpful
Posted by old fart on 2007-07-26:
This place is family operated. To give you an idea of how real, when they turn on the TV it's tuned into to univision. Grandma rolls the tamales, and the kids crush the chili peppers for the hot sauce, which incidentally is properly incindiary, if you like serious hot!
Posted by ejack053824 on 2007-07-26:
Ahhhh Mexican food! After I eat that food I will need a new toilet brush the next day. LOL!
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-07-27:
This review goes a long way to explaining your moniker!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
Hugh it took me a second to get that but too funny.
Posted by old fart on 2007-07-27:
I just noticed that one of the google ads that are attached to my page is for a colon cleanser. How ironic!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
Old fart, maybe they are trying to tell you something?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
All this talk about old fart and mexican food is making me hungry for jimmy chongas.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
The guy I had working for me in California was Mexican and he took me to places that he said had real Mexican food. The best one was called "Chimmy Chongas" the best part was the chips and salsa, HOT!! But GOOD!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
Jimmy Chongas is pretty hot too. That boy has abs from heaven.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-07-27:
I get to Saginaw often but haven't stopped in at this restaurant. I'll make it a point to try it on my next trip. Is it any where near St. Luke's? If I remember correctly, that's on Michigan. Will I get a discount if I mention your name? :)
Posted by old fart on 2007-07-27:
Ponie... if you go north from st. lukes, (covenant) and continue on N. Michigan avenue for about 6 blocks, It's just past the Office lounge and it will be on your left.
The address is 2403 N. Michigan. don't forget to use the hot sauce, (bright red bottle!)
I'm partial to the chorizo and egg breakfast.
Posted by old fart on 2007-07-30:
you can tell Cholly, the owner, and maybe she will give you a refill on your coffee!
Posted by Octslavia on 2008-05-15:
I love El Rancho Grande! They are my favorite mexican restaurant they have amazing food for reasonable prices. The one that we have here has your food out in like 10 minutes they are great

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.