[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Super 8 Motel, Hartford, Ct - Travelocity Complaint - Reservations via Travelocity/Reservationz Ctr

Review by sunshyne10 on 2007-07-27
HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT -- I reserved a room for (3) days in Hartford, CT at the Super 8 Motel. The online reviews appeared positive; however, when I arrived at the motel with my daughter, the desk clerk was behind a bullet-proof window. He issued the key for me to see the room; the bed was sagging to the floor and the motel smelt like raw sewage. The room had a moldy smell and there was no security lock. The online description indicated a business center with internet; there was none. I refused the room, and the desk clerk, said I would need to cancel through Travelocity. I tried several times to contact Travelocity via cell phone while searching for another place to stay. Three times my calls were dropped due to holding for more than 20 minutes for an operator.
I finally got through and the customer service rep said there was no record of my reservation. I emailed the Reservationz Center; I received an error that their server was down. I continued to call for (3) days with no luck getting through to the customer service. I did however, send a email cancelling and complaining.

When I arrived home after (3) days, I finally got through and spoke with a person. I waited on the phone for 54 minutes!! He told me to contact the motel; the motel and my credit card company. I did that and called the motel; they said again to go through Travelocity.

The motel general manager called me on July 23, 2007 and complained about the Travelocity. She also could not get a response in a timely manner. Two days later, I receive an email from Travelocity and a letter from the motel general manager. The manager was disputing everything.

Beware of internet reservations and Travelocity. You have too much trouble trying to cancel; their customer satisfaction is lacking in my opinion.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-10-05
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-27:
According to a site that reviews lodgings that Super 8 is considered a dive is a very bad part of town.
Posted by yoke on 2007-07-27:
Alley, I think this is the one off 91 near Jennings Road.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-07-27:
Apparently, if you were booking for 3 days your were visiting someone in the area or were there for something in particular.
You should
1. book direct with the hotel
2. ask whoever you are visiting their recommendations for hotels.
3. also ask if the hotel is in a suitable part of town.
Posted by FoggyOne on 2007-07-30:
Can't believe somebody would use an agency to book at a Super 8.
Posted by Mystical on 2007-10-21:
I would strongly suggest that no one books through travelocity or orbitz or expedia. They charge you more than what rack rate is.
Posted by susan lawton on 2012-10-05:
I have just returned from an almost months stay in Super 8 Motel, Livingston, Texas. I had some major issues that i wanted to talk to the manager about before i left, but he avoided me completely, i have since spoken to 2 Customer Service reps for the company who have laughed at me, and i heard 1 telling her colleague that i was still just going on, I find this totally disgusting as my main complaint was about a woman called Sara, who is meant to be Reception Manager pestering me all the time for some of my Prescription Drugs i had with me for life threatening illness i have. I would like to think a company of this size would be interested to know what staff members representing their company worldwide are up to, I wonder if anyone has any idea of who else i can contact about the many problems i had with this person. I travel a lot and never normally complain about anything, but to me anything to do with Drugs of any kind i do not find funny, and to have to count my medication and realise i had some missing is also not to be laughed at or taken lightly. I would really appreciate anyones help. Thanks for taking the time to read this. Susan Lawton, London, England.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.