[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Broadway Toyota, Portland, OR Complaint - Broadway Toyota - 4Runner

Review by superbert on 2007-08-25
PORTLAND, OREGON -- Recently, we have arranged to buy a used 2007 4Runner from this dealership, as we have checked out the car through Carfax. Since we live about 300 miles from Portland, we have asked them if we can put deposit down on this car, since we couldn't come down before weekend. They said that they couldn't, because Oregon laws are "First come first served". Yes, I also wonder now why the bells didn't ring. So, we took off from work as the sales person we dealt with said that they would wait for us if we're going to buy this car that day. After having driven for about 200 miles, we got a phone call from the sales person, asking us if we can guarantee that we'll be there before they close. We said that we couldn't guarantee that, as the traffic can be unpredictable and is beyond our control. We reminded her that we were making a special trip to that dealership to buy the car and that she promised to wait for us if we're running a bit late. She started backpaddling and giving us all sorts of nonsense. She even said that if we wanted to look at the car if the dealership is closed, we could because it's parked close to the gate. Why do I need to look at it, I know what a 4Runner looks like! Anyway, we had bad feeling about her and the car, and decided to turn around and look elsewhere. She never apologized or gave us the reason why she obviously changed her mind. We love Toyota cars, but a few dealerships we went to made me wonder what kind of business they were running. You'd expect a car manufacturer of Toyota's caliber to have a bit tighter control over the services their dealerships provide.
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-06-26
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-25:
A few years ago I was going to buy a Toyota, but I was unhappy with their customer service at Broadway Toyota and also at the Vancouver Toyota dealership. I decided to hold off and a year later I bought a Nissan which I love. The dealership in Gresham was great, gave me the best price and didn't try to pull any of those last minute tactics where you end up paying for things you don't need. You may want to change brands or find a used Toyota that is to your specs on another brands lot. I know Toyota makes great cars, but I won't do business with them again.
Posted by Aerocave on 2007-08-25:
I have never heard of any law/state that operates under a "first come, first serve" philosphy. My guess is that they did not feel that you were serious and/or that you would actually make the drive. Therefore the dealership did not want to take the car off of the lot...there has to be more to this story; It simply makes no sense.

Although I realize that the salesperson acknowledged that she would wait for you, I can tell you that as a salesperson, I lost count of how many times I would "wait around" or come in on my day off to meet a customer--only to have them no show and not even have the courtesy to give me a call--even when they knew that I had made special arrangements. I am not saying what they did was acceptable...but I still say something does not make sense.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-25:
The fact that Superbert offered to leave a deposit, makes me feel he had made it clear he wanted the car. Sometimes the dealers are in the wrong--and I've heard plenty complaints about them through the years to believe the consumer. After all, why does everyone try to avoid them like the plague? There is a reason.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-26:
Just out of curiosity I wonder how many people that post here would have stayed an extra 1,2 or possibly 3 EXTRA hours after closing at work because someone called and said they were on their way in (not to mention asking your fellow co workers to also stay because they might be needed). Oh yeah, I already know that answer!!! P.S. I really don't think a dealer is going to have a problem selling an '07 4Runner.
Posted by Aerocave on 2007-08-27:
Dianec:
I am not necessarily saying the dealer did not do anything wrong, I just have a hard time believing that they would not take the customer's deposit...thats why I say there has to be more to the story...

I disagree with your remark that "...everyone avoids them like the plague." Maybe you do, and yes there are some bad dealerships out there, but generalizing all like that is simply not fair. You would not appreciate that either if I said that about your livelihood.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-27:
Aerocave--read my first post. I would go back to that dealer in Gresham. You, too, may be an exception. For the most part, though, I don't know anyone who looks forward to buying a new car through the dealerships. I would not choose a livelihood wherein my sole purpose is to squeeze as much money out of people as possible, no matter what it is. I have my personal standards. Sorry to disagree, but that's my opinion. And you know what they say about opinions--everyone has one (to keep it clean). I find it odd that two out of the three people posting are dealers, defending the dealer in question. What a coincidence.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-27:
2/3 are dealers??? and yet with your infinite wisdom you are WRONG again. LMAO *shaking head* You just don't get it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-27:
No, I guess I don't. But, I no longer care either. I don't think you get it either---I am entitled to my opinion and you yours. BTW--I never said I had infinite wisdom, but thanks for the compliment.
Posted by Aerocave on 2007-08-27:
Read my second post...I will defend the customer or the dealer...it just depends on the situation. I just feel that so many consumers find it convienent to "blame the dealer" which sometimes is accurate--but yet on the other hand we get lied to about "the deal they got somewhere else," (I have personally had many situations where the truth later came out) we get stuck with these "perfect trade-ins" that major issues "were convienenty forgotten" and not disclosed, and to top it off, we are supposed to give the car away and then cover everything under warranty, regardless if it is covered or not. Accountability goes both ways.

You are entitled to your opinion but there is more to my job than "squeezing as much money out of people as possible." I am very proud of the dealership I am a part of. We take care of the customer. We go out of our way to make things right, especially if it was our mistake. Are we profitable? Absolutely! Last time I checked, the automotive business was not listed as a "non-profit organization."
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-27:
Aerocave--Yes, you will defend the customer or the dealer because you are a reputable salesperson. No one is talking about you personally. However, the bad press given to car dealerships did not happen overnight--not even in my lifetime. Peace.
Posted by Aerocave on 2007-08-28:
I do not take postings personally, I guess I just want consumers out there to know that there are many dealers, managers, and salespeople out there who like to sleep soundly at night, if you know what I mean. It is those sellfish jerks in our business who make everyone look bad.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-28:
Aerocave--The point exactly. I am asking everyone to please post the good experiences they have at car dealerships so we know where to shop for cars. Maybe we'll get a good sampling nationwide of where the "good guys" are. I found one through trial and error in Gresham, OR--Gresham Nissan. They were awesome and I would definitely go back. Sorry you have to take bashings intended for others. Keep up the good work!!!
Posted by Kajaan on 2009-06-26:
I walked in to this dealership, 10.40 am, unsolicited and agreed to purchase 2 brand new cars.
1 car was at their lot and the other according to three personnel at the dealer was at another location and had just been shipped in.
from around 11.30 I was continuously told that it would arrive any moment ..someone was on the way with it.
I sat around kept waiting till while being repeatedly asked to sign the paperwork,
I refused and finally a sales associate left to get the car 2 hours later I was told he was driving back from another local dealer in peak hour traffic. I understand the dealer transfers, I was waiting...finally it arrived at 6.00 pm and since we had passed all time limits and options I had in taking both cars with me, I pressured them to have someone deliver them. they did.
2 days later the financial manager called and asked for extra information about my business, under which the cars were to be registered.
I provided him the information and was told that he will be calling me first thing in the morning.
next day when he did not call I called back around him several times and finally got him on his cell phone.
he was not at work...
being Friday he said he will call me first thing Monday morning....again Monday after several calls I got him on hoes cell phone only to be told that the people he had to talk to were on east cost and gone home already.
this kept happening for several days...
I have called Broadway Toyota 17 times over this issue...spoke to 3 different people..( I have cell phone records to prove it)
I received 2 calls from them by 2 different people...promising the same “will call you first thing in the morning"
this matter got resolved.
after 2 weeks the temporary permit expired, my wife got pulled over by a Washington State trooper....he could not find any record of the vehicle being licensed or under process, we went to the local licensing office.....they could not find any records as well.
it costs $29.00 for a 3 day trip permit.
I was out of town and called Toyota first at 4.18 pm Monday.
I called several times (7) no one could tell me what was going on....all of a sudden everyone was in a meeting....finally I got someone at 5.09 pm she told me the licensing lady had gone home at 5.00 pm and she will call me tomorrow...again no one called so I called and was told at 10.40 am that they are working on it and someone will personally take it to the dmv.
they did finally at 4.00 pm
they also got the tax calculation off by $222.00
and I was charged $20 trip permit for each vehicle and $50 license documentation per vehicle...I still had to pay $178.00 at the licensing office to register the vehicles.
what I don’t understand is why was the title paperwork not sent for processing since I bought the vehicles on June 3rd and it is June 24th today.
this problem , from the start has put a huge strain on the relation between me and my wife.
since yesterday she has refused to speak to me,,,i am away out of state on a business trip and she is stuck there with an unlicensed and with expired tags. she tried calling Broadway Toyota and no one there seemed to have an answer,
She works at the hospital and her shift starts at 4.30 in the morning...she had to beg a friend to take her to work and had my son pick her up in another friends car.
all the personal stress and pain that I have put up with is an unreasonable show of gratitude from this dealership that boasts itself to be hassle free car buying experience.
I have so far not received any form of explanation or reason for this lunatic business practice.
I have even gone to the extent of asking them via e mail to call me collect so it would save them money if that was the issue.
I have all cell phone records of calls to them and calls I received from them . I would be very happy to provide them to back these claims.

I am sure I am not the only person having this bad experience with this dealership
I will try and contact the Oregon State attorney general’s office to file a bad business practice complain and see what options I have to sue them for breach of contract and causing personal stress and suffering.


Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Broadway Toyota, Portland, OR: