Sony Informative - Vaio restore process and external USB drive warning.
MIDWEST CITY, OKLAHOMA -- I've always been one to use the OEM system restore disks when my computer starts misbehaving. I don't install all that many programs and I keep my personal stuff well organized and regularly backed up. My girlfriend recently joined the 21st century by accepting her daughters old computer and having high speed internet installed. (Everybody give it up to Sue!). The computer is a Sony Vaio desktop something or another. It ran really slow, had tons of spyware and was not performing very sexy at all. Being the good child she is the daughter had all the original OEM disks. I plugged in an old USB hard drive in order to back up a few things the kiddo wanted saved. Put in the OEM disks and rebooted. The Sony restore program asked if I wanted to return the unit to factory preset condition which I said yes. It warned that the C & D drive partitions would be deleted and all data lost...Okay, that's fine. It did it's little thing then rebooted although nothing had changed. It was still the previous install. Long story short (too late) it confused my USB external hard drive with the C drive. It re-partitioned my external drive which resulted in all data being loss. Fortunately there was nothing lost of significance to me BUT if it would have been my other external hard drive I'd probably be stomping my feet and throwing a temper tantrum.
Anyway, here's a tip - when doing an OEM system restore be sure to unplug any external hard drives.
(I'd be interested in hearing from our resident M3C techies (MRM, Superbowl and HappyJoyBear) on how and why the OEM restore process confused my ext USB HD with the internal IDE drive. Thanks!)