[X]
Feedburner count

3
Helpful
Votes

Papa Dans Pizza Informative - Poor, dangerous food service

Review by bj9030 on 2007-08-31
LA QUINTA, CALIFORNIA -- We had reservations for 6:00 PM We arrived at 5:30 and waited 1 1/2 hours past our reservation time, without being seated. We decided to order our food "Take-out" due to the delay. While waiting, we observed the following:

Type of Complaint: Food Complaint
Business Name if Applicable: Papa Dans Pizza
Address and/or Location: 79410 Hwy 111
City/Community: La Quinta
Time and Date of Occurrence: 8-31-07 19:00

Complaint Details: Food workers were wearing plastic gloves, while preparing food, but were dripping sweat from their heads and arms, all over the pizza dough they were rolling out. I witnessed a worker drop pizza pans on the soiled floor behind the counter, only to pick them up from the floor and use them to make pizzas. Then another employee who was preparing pizza dough, wearing gloves while handling the food, picked up a ringing phone with his gloved hands, took an order, then hung up the phone after taking the order. He then grabbed a napkin from the counter, wiped the sweat from his forehead with his still gloved hand, and proceeded to go back to rolling/tossing pizzas with the same gloved hands.

This is going to make someone sick and is unsanitary. We walked out without ordering.The entire time, the manager was standing at the counter, and said nothing to the employees.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-09-01
Posted by bj9030 on 2007-08-31:
Posted by ThinLazyAmerican on 2007-08-31:
When going out to eat, I look for things I don't like. I walk out the minute I see something that I don't like.

If you go out to eat you can expect something special, otherwise you are wasting money while you could make anything at home with a cookbook!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-09-01:
no way would I have waited for 1-1/2hrs after my reservation time.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-01:
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-01:
Is Papa Dans the son of Papa John’s?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-01:
You were close enough to see sweat dropping of their arms and heads into the food?

Oh, and did you say something to the manager about this? What did h/she say?
Posted by bj9030 on 2007-09-01:
Yes, I was close enough to see the sweat driping off of them. They were behind a glass partition, at the counter, and came around the partition to answer the phone, leaving a pool of sweat on the counter. He grabbed a napkin, wiped up the sweat fro his forehead, then went back to making pizzas, with the same gloved, unwashed hands. I tried complaining to the manager, who challenged me to fight. We left without food. I filed a complaint with the Riverside county Dept of Health.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-01:
Not a very nice place to say the least!
Posted by Ponie on 2007-09-01:
Reservations at a pizza joint?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-01:
bj9030, glad to hear you took the appropriate steps, now hopefully something gets done about it!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.