6
Helpful
Votes

Lone Star Steakhouse Compliment - Great Service

Review by Principissa on 2007-09-09
EVANSVILLE, INDIANA -- Last night we were out and about doing our monthly shopping and decided on Olive Garden for dinner. My husband walks up to the door and sees they have about an hour long wait, two hungry kids, waiting for an hour equals extremely disappointing dining experience for restaurant patrons and us.

We saw Lone Star across the street and decided to try it. We've never eaten there before and I must say we were very impressed.

We got in the doors at 4:11 and were seated immediately. Our waitress Andrea greeted us right away and took our drink order. She was very polite and professional.

She had four other tables besides ours and our drinks were never empty and she was very quick in putting our orders in and getting our food. She offered us a free dessert at the end of our meal because my chicken got messed up in the kitchen and took longer to come out than the rest of our meals. I declined and said it was not her fault that they made a mistake but it got corrected.

Now that we are all full and ready to explode we asked for our check so that we could go walk around the mall so that all four of us would fit in the car again. What we didn't realize was that on Saturday's between 11 and 4 kid's eat free. And even though we came in at 4:11 they still gave us free kids' meals.

We were not expecting free food, we didn't even know about the promotion of the kids' eating free.
We were so impressed with our service from the manager and Andrea that I actually took it upon myself to write a letter to the district manager.

Please reward your employees for their excellent service! This was our first time eating at Lone Star but it will not be our last. Thank you for a good meal, and letting me enjoy my night off from the kitchen.
Comments:44 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-09-09
Posted by Starlord on 2007-09-09:
Very nice review. When I get back to Evansville again, I will have to try them out. Thanks.
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
\o/ \o/ \o/ Three cheers to Lone Star Steakhouse for providing Principissa and her family a great dining experience! HOORAH!!!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Thank you starlord.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
I agree with MRM! HOORAH, HOORAH, HOORAH!!!!!!

Very Good Review.... "VH"....
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
And BTW Good Morning Principissa!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Morning Lidman! Morning everyone else! I'm making banana pancakes and turkey sausage if anyone wants breakfast.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
I went to my nearby Lone Star a few times with friends. And I have to agree, they give excellent service. My friend decided he wanted desert before we left, it was somekind of Ice cream desert. The young waiter came back and said they were out of ice cream, but if we didn't mind waiting "a few minutes" he would run over to the store across the street and buy ice cream. My friend said No, it was OK and he'd order something else...the waiter insisted it would only be a few minutes...within ten mintues my friend had his ice cream desert served. Now that's going above and beyond to make your customer's happy. Too bad they closed down...or moved somewhere else now.
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
Banana pancakes... Mmmmmmmm!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
And turkey sausage.. I will be there in ten minutes * Running out the door *
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
LIDDY...I haven't taken the handcuffs of you from yesterday yet! COME BACK...I'VE GOT THE KEEEEEEEEEY!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Wow that is above and beyond DebtorBasher! Usually when we go out to eat we are a warm body in a cold seat. And more often than not when the server sees we have kids they automatically assume they are ill mannered heathens and that they are going to get stiffed when it comes to their tip. It was so refreshing to see a server that smiled at us and did a good job at the same time.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
It's home made turkey sausage with apples in it. I can send you the recipe if you'd like. Silly kids don't even know it's good for them. bwaahaaahaaa!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
Well...we did leave a nice tip for our waiter,for the service he gave us. That is what tips are for, I don't believe in places attaching tips to our bills...it should be based on the service and it should be our decision how much to give. If you get lousy service, what right do they have to just "take" a tip?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
Principissa, I made my own sausage a few weeks ago...I'd love to have the recipe if you'd share it with me.
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
Principissa and DebtorBasher, don't be shelfish... share your delicious recipe with all of us!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
Oh...and here is the key to Liddy's handcuffs...please remove them when he gets to your place, so he can have his hands free to feed himself...otherwise, you will have to feed him and I tell ya, I've been through that, and it's not a pleasant thing to go through. *Handing over the key*
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Sure I'll post it on my blog for everyone.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
Send it too me, Principissa!

DB, I agree about the tip thing and I will not pay when they attach it to the bill it is the right of the customer to tip what he/she feels it was worth.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
Liddy...stop it, you are scaring me...this is twice already this morning, that you've agreed with me. Come on, am I on Candid Camera?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
Thank you Principissa.
DB, you are not supposed to tell every one these thing's!!!

PS. SMILE....
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
MRM....... Jelly filed donuts ........
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
DebtorBasher and Lidman... We all now know your scandalous secrets!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
MRM -------- Peanut Butter and Jelly!

If you're a peanut butter and jelly sandwich fan, you will love this one. Our NEW Peanut Butter and Jelly Donut! Imagine a fresh, plump, raised round filled with strawberry or raspberry jelly, topped with a delicious layer of icing made with peanut butter. Sprinkled lightly with chopped peanuts, this new donut will have your taste buds begging for more. Stop in today and be one of the first to indulge. You'll surely be back for more!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
No No...It's nothing like that MRM...it was EmtC who had him handcuffed. I left her in charge of babysitting Liddy while I was out yesterday...I left the handcuffs and whip with her in case he got out of line...sure enough, he was handcuffed and whipped when I got home...and I thought it would be in eveyone's best interest if he stayed that way for the night...now he took off running for a free breakfast handout at Principissa's and he's still handcuffed...'Whew'...so you see, I am innocent..this time.
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
I agree, Lidman, peanut butter and jelly in donuts are deliciously good.
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
A love triangle... Lidman you better watch your back and your front! These women will make your head spin like crazy!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
Hey check out there web site!
http://www.lonestarsteakhouse.com/Default2.asp
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
I agree DB, I don't like when a place adds a gratuity to my check. If I think your service only warrants 10% that's all you will get. If your service goes above 15% you get that. Last night our server got a 30% tip, something we have never done before. But well earned.

By the way, the recipe is posted on my blog. Enjoy!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
MRM, too late!

Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
Lidman, hows the weather in your area. Is it a tropical storm or just a storm?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
MRM, I am up in the mountains and here it is sunny and 73. A perfect day to be outside which is where I am going in a few.

The storm is on the cost I have to call my Mom and see what it is really like cause weather people lie all the time.
Posted by MRM on 2007-09-09:
You're in the safe zone then. That is good to know. I hope the storm breaks up when it hits shore or turns away from the coast.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Which storm is that. My mom lives in Florida and I constantly worry when I hear about storms down there.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
Liddy is safe...Grace supplies all the goat cheese and goat milk for any emergencies.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
Principissa, Tropical storm Gabrielle. We are actually under a tropical storm warning here (Virginia Beach), but, I'll be long gone on a flight to Prague! Florida is safe from this one...

Great review!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Wow I used to live in VaBch. I was there when they had that hurricane in 2004. My hunny was stationed at Naval Station Norfolk. Emt, please bring me some chocolate, my step dad sends me some when he goes home to holland every year, that stuff is goooood!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
OK! Chocolate for everyone! Yummmmm....
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-09-09:
I had the most horrible chocolet yesterday. I had a Klondike ice cream...which I love...but somthing didn't look right..and as I took my first bite it was..ewwwww...this chocolet tastes funny...as I bit into the ice cream it was all gritty and not creamy at all...and I thought it tasted like old ice cream..you know the kind that's been in the freezer way too long...I couldn't even take another bite...I checked the date on the box and it was dated October 6, 2006! Ewwwwwww...it's going back to the store today...I always check the dates on everything before I buy it...but my Dad bought this and he didn't see any date on it because it was printed in black on brown.
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Yuck! That happened to me once with a pint of Ben and Jerry's. The expiration date was still good, it looked like it defrosted and they just put it back in the freezer. It was all gritty and freezer burnt. Hope they let you exchange it or at least get your money back.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-09-09:
Principissa, I envy your organization. A husband, two little ones, and you do a 'monthly shopping?' Heck--I live by myself and I'm running out twice, sometimes three times a week to pick up something I forgot. Bet your husband's being in the Navy had something to do with your ability to be ready at a moment's notice, right? My BIL was career military and I swear my Sis could have a four bedroom house packed up and ready to go with 48 hours' notice! Is your husband still Navy? Only place I can think of in Indiana is Crane and the last time I heard anything about them, they were on the verge of doing one of two things: 1) Expanding, or 2) Closing down. Don't know the outcome.

Good review on Lone Star. Haven't been there often, but when I was, both the service and food were good. The one nearest me is in a strategic location--far corner of the parking lot around a large shopping mall. Tired shoppers have a nearby place to unwind.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-09:
mmmm.steak.mmmmm

"VH"
Posted by kgale on 2007-09-09:
It is always great to hear about excellent customer service! Thanks for sharing! :)
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Thank you Ponie! My husband left the navy in 2005 and took a job with a local coal mine here in Madisonville. The only thing I don't get unfortunately when I do my monthly shopping is meat and produce. We have a really nice butcher shop and farmer's market so I go there every week to buy those kinds of things. I would buy from there but it is so fresh and you can taste the difference. And yes our house is run like a well oiled machine. Everyone has their chores to do!
Posted by Principissa on 2007-09-09:
Thank you kgale and steve!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.