9
Helpful
Votes

Fast Lane Oil Change Compliment - Excellent experience overall

Review by Crown Jules on 2007-10-02
TIGARD, OREGON -- On Saturday, Sept. 29th, I made my first visit to Fast Lane for a scheduled oil change. I usually dread having this service done to my car as the employees at other businesses I've used always try and get me to purchase other services like air filters or brake jobs. Also, being a woman, I often feel like they think they can take advantage of me because I don't know any better.

I left my car in line (there were three or four others in front of me) and went to the waiting room. Not only was the waiting room spacious and bright but there was a counter where you could buy pastries and gourmet coffees like mochas and espressos. They had current newspapers, a children's area and plenty of seating for their customers.

After only 20-30 minutes, my car was done and not once did anybody offer or pressure me to have anything done but the oil change. There was even a thank you note and a peppermint candy left on my dashboard.

Fast Lane Oil Change has a new loyal customer in me. I will be going there from now on whenever I reach that 3,000 mile mark.
Comments:69 Replies - Latest reply on 2007-10-03
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Most of today's cars don't need oil changes until at least 5k miles on it, but it's your money.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-02:
Who said it was a new car? I think this is a good review. If I lived near it, I would try them based on this write up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Regardless, I was pointing out an obvious fact to those who may not merely own ten year old trucks with no a/c.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Crown Jules, Excellent review and sounds like you made a great choice! Thanks for the information....I hope I can find one around these parts..

BTW every 3000 miles is the best way to do it unless your car manual tells you different you spent your money wisely. Good Job!
Posted by LarryDan on 2007-10-02:
Good review! I also agree with Pirate. Especially true if you use a go with a good synthetic.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Yep Larry, most of today's engines and lubricating systems are designed a bit differently than yesterday's vehicles. 20/20 did a study on NYC cabs a number of years ago and specifically on oil changes, etc. They found NO difference on engine wear in changing the oil at 7k or even 10k. I'd advise following manufacturers instructions, but especially with synthetic you are throwing your money out the widow if you change very 3k.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Unless you take into consideration today’s SMALL oil filters. But that really makes no difference because this review has absolutely nothing to do with what you are talking about anyway.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Thank you for the excellent post. I live in the NW, so I will look for one of these in my area. Always good to know where the service is best! Thanks, again.

PWP--My manual says to change the oil every 3,000 miles and I have a 2002--so I think the advice to follow the manufacturer's instructions is the best policy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
dianec, very good point and the best advice.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-02:
Have to agree with diane on that one.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Good review !
<;O)
Posted by old fart on 2007-10-02:
Good review... I wish we had these in Michigan.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Dianec, a 2k2 car isn't exactly new. Furthermore, check what your dealership says regarding the new synthetics, you'll see I'm right.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-02:
Pirate is right about what he's saying, I saw a report from a different source that said the same thing. 7000 miles is the real change point not 3000. Unless the car is brand new. However, warranty coverage can be denied if you don't follow their plan. Do what the manufacturer tells you to do! Once the warranty is over, save some money and go every 7000 miles, anything less is an absolute waste.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-02:
Dealerships and Oilchange shops want your repeat business, as often as they can get it. Ridiculous.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Cars are so expensive that I'm a little leery about waiting 7,000 miles--as that is something new to me. We keep our cars a while so as not to throw money away and they have always performed quite well, even over 100,000 miles. But, we have always changed the oil around 3,000 miles. We take care of the cars, so they remain looking and running great for the duration. Old habits die hard. But, nevertheless, I will check out the new synthetics. Could definitely save time and money. Thanks for the tips.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Even know this is not what the review is about and who care's if Pirate is right or not make's little difference and is off topic as usual but let's just go on with it anyway and say we are sorry to Crown Jules on this one.

Here’s what to do: Check your owner’s manual and follow the manufacturer’s recommendation. If it says change the oil every three months or 3,000 miles and you haven’t traveled 3,000 miles in that time, change it anyway. But, I think you’ll find that the recommendations are much longer than that. For instance, Acura suggests that I change the oil in my car every 7,500 miles or one year.

Tom and Ray, the hosts of Car Talk on National Public Radio, recommend an oil change every 5,000 miles, although they admit knowing when to change the oil is not an exact science. “It may be too soon for many people and too late for a few,” they say, “but for the vast majority, 5,000-mile oil changes will help your engine last to a ripe, old age.”

Here are a few reminders:

You should always change the filter when you change the oil. You don’t want to contaminate the new oil with the gunk that’s in the old filter.
Check the oil level every few hundred miles. “If you add oil, don’t overfill,” cautions Phil Reed, Consumer Advice Editor for Edmunds, “because that can cause serious engine problems.”
And it’s not a problem If you want to switch from one brand of oil to another, says John Ibbotson, an automotive expert at Consumer Reports. “Just make sure to stick with the manufacturer’s recommendations for engine oil weight,” Ibbotson says. You should also use a product with the API Certification Seal for gasoline engines, which means the oil meets the American Petroleum Institute’s latest requirements and that it is energy conserving.

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Thanks, Lidman, for the tips. Sometimes going off track can be pretty helpful for those of us who don't keep up with these things--especially synthetic vs regular oil. By using synthetic are we also being environmentally responsible? (I have no idea what the synthetics are made of.) Please, someone fill me in on this.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Thank you dianec,

From what I’ve read yes using synthetic oil is being environmentally responsible. Here are a couple of short articles to read that shed light on the subject.

· Synthetic Fuels: Toward More Sustainable Options...
into economical, environmentally responsible fuels. may help fill the oil gap. ... into synthetic oil, as an attractive technology because ...

www.solartoday.org/2007/may_june07/Oil_Addiction_MJ07


Synthetic Versus Conventional Oil
Viscosity, Temperature, And Horsepower

http://www.carcraft.com/techarticles/synthetic_vs_conventional_oil/

“Because a synthetic oil is chemically produced, there are no contaminants in the oil. By contrast, conventional oils contain small amounts of sulfur, wax, and asphaltic material that can promote detonation as well as varnish and sludge buildup. With no wax, synthetics will flow at much lower temperatures than conventional oils. In fact, synthetic oils are now available with viscosity ratings as low as 0W-30, as in Mobil 1's new Tri-Synthetic blend or Castrol Formula SLX. These oils flow more than seven times faster than a conventional 5W-30 motor oil during initial start-up, yet at normal operating temperatures act like a regular Grade 30 oil.”
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Isn't there an oil warning light that indicates when it's time to change the oil and even then if you add a couple of quarts the light goes off. Liddy, I think you're making a mountain out of a mole hill.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Liddy, I was merely pointing out some very valuable info that goes along with this thread. You're just being an argumentative twit as usual trying to get some attention. If you don't have anything positive or useful to offer, just stay off the pc and play with your reactors.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-03:
Stew, the oil light you are referring to, only comes on when the oil is low. It is more commonly called the "idiot light" because if you rely on this to add oil, your engine may be suffering damage by waiting that long. Also, you cannot just "add a couple of quarts", you need to add the amount that is needed to bring your dipstick level back to normal, whatever that may be.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Poor little Pirate always with the name calling. A bit of advice to you for free, GROW UP!

Stewart, I am simply anwsering a question and why are you talking about "mountain's and mole hill's" don't you think you are being a little silly here?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Dang, reactors! That could be fun. Lid's if you have an extra reactor I could play with for a couple weeks that would be great. I always wanted to find out if you could really melt one down and it burn thru the Earth to China.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Yes Lidman, I was being very silly.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
DC, although I believe you are 100% correct about what Stew is trying to say I must point out in all honesty that on new models there is a light that comes on that says, (no mine)"Enge Maintenance required". This light comes on every 3,000 miles and in the book it is referring to an oil change.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-03:
Liddy, Intelligent displays are now more informative, but stew was talking about the "oil light" referring to an older model car. Glad to see that light is gone now!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
OK Super, go here and see what I have :http://epi_guy.tripod.com/KEI/

But I must warn you, these don't melt down, they BLOW UP!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Stew was just kidding about the oil warning light. I thought that was obvious... it's an old (woman/blonde/texan/fill in the blank) type joke.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
DC, I agree and I always hated those "idiot lights" because by the time they came on it was to late anyway and then one always felt like an idiot! LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Lid, if you want to pay somebody to change your oil every 3k, then go ahead. You're only demonstrating that you have more dollars than "sense." Why don't you ask them to put "new air" in your tires while you're there too - after 3k, I'm sure the air in your tires is a bit worn. *tears*
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
I heard somewhere and I'm not sure where that a company by the name of "Fast Lane" is a descent place to get your oil changed.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Speaking of "idiot lights" PW you really should read what has been posted or at least check your idiot light...
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Stew, it's OK man I got it! LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Stew, I believe that is what this post was about, I could be wrong? But I heard the same thing....
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Thanks, Lidman, for answering my question with some good info. I have been enlightened. I'm going with synthetic oil from now on since I'm an environmentally conscious person. It just makes sense. It's funny how you were attacked for just answering my question, though. Sorry about that. Hopefully someone else learned something from this info.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
I get my oil changed with who ever has the best coupon running at the time. Got one yesterday, free deluxe car wash ($17.99) with any synthetic oil change.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2007-10-03:
woman/blonde/texan/fill in the blank..... sounds like a good porn movie to me!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
dianec - Actually there is very little difference in the impact to the environment between synthetic and conventional... if you include the pollutants created in the manufacturing process of synthetic oil. If you're really in it for mother earth than reducing the amount of miles you drive and increasing the time between oil changes does far more good for mother nature. Funny how this has all come full circle back to Pirates With Parrot's original comment. Indeed a very wise advisory.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
You're welcome Dianec, I was just pointing out some cost saving info for those out there who weren't in the know regarding the basics in oil-changes. Lidman is always on the attack, somehow it gives him a sense of self worth.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Thank you dianec, I am used to being attacked by PW and his one follower but then if he didn't have something to be silly about he couldn't post anything.

Have a great day!
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Thanks Dianc, if you follow the threads closely enough, you'll see that as always, liddy has to chime in when he doesn't even know what he's talking about, merely to dispute my sage advice. I'm used to it and just ignore him like the troll he is. Again, you're welcome.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
PS. I forgot to add * Slim Agrees with Lidman *
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
But really if you follow the thread you will see Pirate as usual starts off topic with a derogatory statement that has little to do with the topic by trying to make the op feel like she didn’t do good and could have done better instead of thanking her for the good information or that he was glad she had such a good experience, maybe because she was a woman? He is an admitted male chauvinist and the thought of a woman doing well bothers people like him.

Sad little man.....
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
No, you're reading what you want to into this Liddy, as always, because you don't comprehend much. I merely pointed out that with today's cars and improved lubricants, it's a to that little silly to change your oil every 3k. You took umbrage at that and tried to nit-pick and start trouble as you always do. Your claims that I'm a male "chauvinist" serve only as proof that you are out to attack me for some reason - likely because you reside in a rabbit hutch and have nothing better than to pester people on here all day and seek the attention of anonymous females. Well, that and play the victim. *skye agrees*
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
What you started with was what I said you started with and it is your natural way of trying to put people down (women mostly) so go back to you Thunderbird and have a good day, Willy. * AllyeS, Brenda and Slim agree *

PirateWithParrot (10/02/2007)
Most of today's cars don't need oil changes until at least 5k miles on it, but it's your money.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
PS. Were you trying to say something here? "improved lubricants, it's a to that little silly"
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-10-03:
I have to agree with Pirate (He's paying me).
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
DB, NO more check book, CC or cash for you! Bad Girl..
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-10-03:
But why Liddy?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Because you went under my head and agreed with a one stared questionable member. This is not the example we need to be setting here DB.

DebtorBasher (10/03/2007)
I have to agree with Pirate (He's paying me).
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2007-10-03:
There are times when a one star member SHOULD be a 3 or 4 starred member...and when a 4 star member should be at 1. But, I'm not mentioning names.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-03:
My new car tells me exactly how much percentage of oil life I have, and will even email me it (onstar). I also have an old Buick GN that if you don't change the oil after 3000 religiously, the turbo may very well be wrecked. Some cars a different than others. Bottom line and common sense. you follow the manufacturers recommendations unless using synthetic to be safe. Not much else can be debated and I do have to agree with Lidman that the poster was complimenting the service center, not looking for a lecture on when to change her oil on a car we know nothing about.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Thank you Slim.

Now DB, you should take lessons from Slim and I do agree he should be a four star member for the good advice he gives on here unlike the bad and irrelevant information the one stared member you are referring too.

Get with the program…. * even Stew agrees *
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
My new car came with synthetic installed and recommends using it exclusively - I don't need Onstar to phone or email me to let me know when to change it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Stew--I was wondering about the manufacturing causing pollutants. On a bright note though, we would be less reliant on oil if we use synthetics--and that is a good thing. I don't drive that much because I'm rarely home anyway. Thanks for the additional info.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
http://www.nordicgroup.us/oil.htm#Oil%20Change%20Intervals

decide for yourself
Posted by Crown Jules on 2007-10-03:
Great googly-moogly! I never expected my review to have this many posts!

For the record, my car is a 2000 Ford Taurus so it's not brand new but it's not ancient, either. I've never had any major mechanical problems with it. Also, I drive so little that I only have to get my oil changed, literally, about every 5 or 6 months based on changing it every 3000 miles. At $19.99 per change, I think I can afford $20/year or so.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Here's an idea... LOOK at your oil. I do that and once you know what you're looking for you can tell if it is breaking down and/or dirty. That tip, along with changing it per the manufacturer's suggestion while under warranty is the way to go. Also, small engines vs large engines plays a role, as does highway vs in-town driving. Let us not forget heat/climate. Better to err on the side of caution if you can't make the call yourself.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Or just listen to my advice.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Basically, everyone is right to some degree here. Since I drive older cars I actually inspect the oil and make my decision based on how it looks, along with the mileage thingie. Pirate is on to something too concerning the newer cars. Just be careful not to void your warranty.

I use Valvoline Instant Oil Change stores and have been very satisfied. I voted Jules very helpful.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-03:
You're right (about the inspecting part of course). You can see the condition of the oil right on the stick. Depending on the car, I also have used the oil gauge as a guide. I could see the oil pressure reduce in time as the oil became older and ready for change out.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
The Dark Oil Myth
Dark oil does not indicate the need for an oil change. The way modern detergent motor oil works is that minute particles of soot are suspended in the oil. These minute particles pose no danger to your engine, but they cause the oil to darken. A non-detergent oil would stay clearer than a detergent oil because all the soot would be left on the internal engine parts and would create sludge. If you never changed your oil, eventually the oil would no longer be able to suspend any more particles in the oil and sludge would form. Fortunately, by following the manufacturer's recommended oil change interval, you are changing your oil long before the oil has become saturated. Remember, a good oil should get dirty as it does it's work cleaning out the engine. The dispersant should stop all the gunk from depositing in the oil pan.

The only real way to determine whether oil is truly in need of changing is to have an oil analysis performed. Since most people don't want to bother with this, it's acceptable to err heavily on the safe side and simply follow the manufacturer's recommended change interval for severe service. There are still a few cars that specify 3K intervals for severe service, but not many. If you look at countries other than the U.S., the oil recommended change interval is much higher than even the normal interval specified by vehicle manufacturers in the U.S.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
Once again slim voices yet another old wives tale. Unless one has the equipment to do an oil analysis one cannot determine the condition of the oil by sight. Geeze, slim quit with the misinformation already.
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-03:
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-10-03:
Stew, I went to change what I said because I figured I'd read your post again and debate it more concisely, and in fact agreeing with points you made. Then I figured, why should I bother dealing with a geek who drives a Huffy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
I'll have to agree with Stew on this one, on so many levels.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-10-03:
I have a friend that changes his oil every 100 miles! It really sucks going on long trips with him.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-10-03:
LOL Sheriff! BTY, I suppose that black smoke coming from the exhaust pipe creates a problem for those cars behind him.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.